09/11--Phoebe--amps--454, +4-238, pmps-388, +3-310.

You should have given her 2.0 units of insulin this morning because she dropped under 90 when following SLGS you can do it tonight
The reason why she is high this morning because she is what's called bouncing I'll explain later, it's because she is not used to the lower numbers

Bounces happen when 1. they drop too low, 2. they drop too fast, 3. they drop into numbers their body isn't used to anymore (or any combination of all 3). The liver releases stored sugars and hormones to bring the blood glucose back up. They "bounce" high. It can take up to 6 cycles (3 days) for those hormones to clear out of the body but usually, as the body gets more used to being in "good" numbers, the bounces won't last as long and they won't bounce as high. We call it "liver training school"
 
Last edited:
Does anyone warm their kitt's ear prior to poking? How do you do it?
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
 
on your Spreadsheet go back to the +4 cell (square) and under the 63 put +4.5 57
And in the 5 cell under the 73. put +5.5 99

When you test in 30 minutes we put .5
If you were to test 15 minutes we put .25
45 minutes would be .75

When Bhooma sees the tag she will change the color codes up top for you
Do you see up top of the SS where all the color code numbers are the only thing Bhooma will have to change is the dark green and the neon green
For human meters the dark green would be 50-99
And the neon green would change to BG <50
Just wanted to explain that to you

If you can find these puck some up
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
and honey

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

The actual carbs are in the gravy so if you had to use it and Phoebe wouldn't eat it you can just squeeze out the gravy and she could lick that, but most likely she would like them
 
Last edited:
@eva eva
You will give 2 units for 7 days unless Phoebe drops under 90 again you would reduce again by 0.25 units

If you would get a AMPS or PMPS number under 90 you put in your title STALLING NEED HELP and the BG number whether it's the AM or PM number
Stalling means you wouldn't feed yet wait 20 minutes and test again to see if she is coming up on her own
You are new to this if it was below 90 at AMPS or PMPS we may tell you to skip the shot, let's see what happens
You shot last night with a PMPS of 188 which was ok
Usually we tell new members to ask for help if the BG is under 200 in the beginning until you get used to shooting lower numbers , have plenty of test strips and med and high carb food and honey. Let's worry about that later
 
ok---will do.
2 units for 7 days.
If she drops under 90 again, what should I do? Especially if it is her amps or pmps?
 
I looked at your post on the sweet spot. I am poking the right area. the edge of the ear closer to the top of her head.

post #3 above
 
Last edited:
on your Spreadsheet go back to the +4 cell (square) and under the 63 put +4.5 57
And in the 5 cell under the 73. put +5.5 99

When you test in 30 minutes we put .5
If you were to test 15 minutes we put .25
45 minutes would be .75

When Bhooma sees the tag she will change the color codes up top for you
Do you see up top of the SS where all the color code numbers are the only thing Bhooma will have to change is the dark green and the neon green
For human meters the dark green would be 50-99
And the neon green would change to BG <50
Just wanted to explain that to you

If you can find these puck some up
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
and honey

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

The actual carbs are in the gravy so if you had to use it and Phoebe wouldn't eat it you can just squeeze out the gravy and she could lick that, but most likely she would like them
I had the Friskies turkey and cheese with gravy--while I was sitting i looked on the food chart and I believe it was 14% that I gave her.


I will find them and have them on hand for her. and mark them with black marker -the carbs
 
Last edited:
I had the Friskies turkey and cheese with gravy--while I was sitting i looked on the food chart and I believe it was 14% that I gave her.
It's also good if you write in the remarks section on your spreadsheet how many carbs you had to give last night to bring her BG up for future reference
 
You should have given her 2.0 units of insulin this morning because she dropped under 90 when following SLGS you can do it tonight
The reason why she is high this morning because she is what's called bouncing I'll explain later, it's because she is not used to the lower numbers

Bounces happen when 1. they drop too low, 2. they drop too fast, 3. they drop into numbers their body isn't used to anymore (or any combination of all 3). The liver releases stored sugars and hormones to bring the blood glucose back up. They "bounce" high. It can take up to 6 cycles (3 days) for those hormones to clear out of the body but usually, as the body gets more used to being in "good" numbers, the bounces won't last as long and they won't bounce as high. We call it "liver training school"


thank you --better understood.
ref: post #2
 
@eva eva
You will give 2 units for 7 days unless Phoebe drops under 90 again you would reduce again by 0.25 units

If you would get a AMPS or PMPS number under 90 you put in your title STALLING NEED HELP and the BG number whether it's the AM or PM number
Stalling means you wouldn't feed yet wait 20 minutes and test again to see if she is coming up on her own
You are new to this if it was below 90 at AMPS or PMPS we may tell you to skip the shot, let's see what happens
You shot last night with a PMPS of 188 which was ok
Usually we tell new members to ask for help if the BG is under 200 in the beginning until you get used to shooting lower numbers , have plenty of test strips and med and high carb food and honey. Let's worry about that later


is this called a bump? it is nice to pull it down to keep it available.
 
@eva eva
Just a heads up if you ever have a question about any type of food can you please post your question on the main health board
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/feline-health-welcome-main-forum.28/
Only because the moderators would prefer it that way rather than private messaging more members will be able to see it and help :cat:
And questions about doses please post them on your threads on the lantus board where you have been posting
@eva eva
 
Last edited:
Back
Top