09/11 Furball, AMPS=249, PMPS=329 Dose Before Dental?

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=78809#unread

Tomorrow morning is Furball's dental. Today is the last day of her AB, unless they give me something for afterwards. Once Furball realizes I'm not going to be giving her any more medicine, she should stop ducking when I come near her.

Thanks Roni for the advice in yesterday’s condo to check Furball’s BG as soon as I bring her home from her dental. I was planning to. My vet told me they do not normally check a cat’s BG after a dental. I am planning to ask them if they will and I am going to ask to pick her up as early as I can. The good news is I am off work Thursday, so if I need to get up during the night to check on Furball I won’t have to worry about going to work tired.
 
Re: 09/11 Furball, AMPS=249

Morning Carla - a sunny yellow start for Furball. nice! Good luck with her dental, I am sure it will go well. I think Roni is right, nice to read that you plan on getting that BG when you get home. I did the same with Mannie - good thing, as he tested at 58. :shock: My vet too didn't check him. One would think they would with diabetics. Wonderful that you are off work on TH, and can care for Furball if need be.

Enjoy your day today!
 
Re: 09/11 Furball, AMPS=249

Carla, good luck to Furball and you on the dental tomorrow. Post today if you have any questions. Just add a ? mark in the subject line and add "Dental." It looks like you've already gotten some good help. Ditto on checking the bg when you get home. I remember my Vet didn't check Maggie's bg either. Have a nice day you two.
 
Re: 09/11 Furball, AMPS=249

Hi guys .. nice sunny yellow for furball! Good luck on the dental tomorrow, will be keeping you guys in my thoughts .. and good idea to get that in the door bg test too .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 09/11 Furball, AMPS=249 Dose before Dental Question

Thanks for the well wishes everyone. I am wondering how low is too low of a BG to shoot 0.5 units tomorrow morning since she will be fasting and won't get to eat until after the dental. Does anyone have any suggestions or advice in advance? I know it is hard because it will be a guess as to what her BG will be. It looks like it will be yellow since it has been the last couple of days. I would like some ideas if I can get them so I won't have to ask at the last minute tomorrow morning. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
 
Re: 09/11 Furball, AMPS=249

Carla

Have you seen this great post on dental procedures.

Did you ask your vet how much insulin she wants you to give? I believe we usually recommend half your normal dose...unless she is really low. Also...I'd ask my vet to check her BG while under anesthesia and monitor it since the anesthesia can drop it.
 
Re: 09/11 Furball, AMPS=249, PMPS=329

Marge, thanks for the link. I have not read that before.

My vet told me to give Furball half of her usual insulin dose tomorrow morning. I dread tomorrow morning after having to fast Furball and the other cats. They will be begging for food and won't understand why they can't eat. The other cats will have to wait until I get back from dropping Furball off to eat. That will be about 2 and a half hours after they usually eat breakfast.
 
Re: 09/11 Furball, AMPS=249, PMPS=329

Carla, Good idea to plan your morning dosing what if's ahead of time. When we have a cat that has to fast, we put that one in the car when ready to go, then quick feed the others before we got to the vet to avoid famine rioting while we are out. We have not had to do that since switching to wet food, I geuss the prefilled food bowls can go in the fridge until the fasting cat is in the car. Good luck with Furball's dental tomorrow, hope all goes well!
 
Re: 09/11 Furball, AMPS=249, PMPS=329

Leslie that's a good idea. Thanks. I will get the other cats' food ready and put it out for them after I put Furball in the car. That way they will be finished eating by the time I get back from dropping Furball off at the vet.

I'm not real clear on what numbers are too low to shoot before her dental since she won't be eating and the anesthesia can lower BG. I know ECID, but does anyone have a range? Thanks.
 
Paws and Fingers Crossed for an easy fast dental for Furball!! Yes I would put her in the car & quick feed the others..She may come home & be hungry!! Moonie ate & drank after her both dentals..the pain meds dont wear off that quickly....also you know NOT to let them use metacam(for pain) & covenia (for abs)-as both are dangerous meds for our babies...Ask for buprenex for pain if needed, and Clavamox for abs..these are good meds for them..Thinking of you both--It's worse for us than it is for them..we are awake!!!
Hugs & Love from us!
 
Hi Carla, I can't give dosing advice, here are suggestions for things to think about
What kind of dental is this, how soon after will Furball be able to eat? A factor in raising her bg gently if needed.
How soon afterward could you get syrup into her if you needed to raise her bg fast?
How does she do with anesthesia, does she get nauseous or other aftereffects that impede using food to influence her bg?
You have been at this dose for a while, her shed is probalbly set for this dose. How soon after dose change does she show the effects? Will AM 1/2 dose (or no shot) affect her before you get her home?
What is your no shoot limit now?
Sorry I dont have any specific dosing advice just hope this helps you sort things out so you can plan ahead.
 
Generally, my vet tells me to not give insulin the morning of a dental. Anesthesia lowers BG. If you're not feeding and giving insulin, and then Furball is going to be anesthetized, his numbers could easily drop.
 
Hi Carla - It's hard to give dosing advice.... If she's in her normal range I'd do half, Much lower than that, maybe even less than half. it's a difficult call. One thing I did with Mannie when he had his dental a couple of weeks ago was to delay his shot two hours, so that it was closer to his procedure time, less time to be without food with insulin on board. I also asked them to put him first on the dental cleaning list, so he was done sooner, recovery was sooner etc. Leslie also has some good points to think about. I would also suggest taking Furballs BG when you get her home - Mannie's had dropped to 58 by the time I got him home - I was lucky in that he could, and did eat what I needed to get in him to get the BG up.. You may need to consider a reduced shot in the PM cycle, depending how how Furball is, is eating an issue, etc. I wish you much luck!
 
Thanks for the questions to think about Leslie. Unfortunately I don't know the answer to most of them. Furball is going to have her teeth cleaned and possibly have a tooth removed. The vet won't know until she looks at it. I won't know when she can eat until I talk to the vet. I don't even know how early I can pick her up yet. I don't know how anesthesia affects her. When I first took her in, my mom took her to the vet to get her fixed because I was at work. I don't remember her having any problems, but my mom dealt with it. It usually takes Furball a couple of days to adjust to a dose change, but she usually shoots up first. I have not reached a no shoot limit yet. She hasn't had that many low numbers and I have shot them all except the first day I gave insulin and I didn't know what I was doing. There are a lot of unknowns as this is new territory for me. I guess I will have to make a decision in the morning based on what her AMPS is.
 
I realize it's hard for anyone to tell me what to do tomorrow morning because ECID, but I appreciate all of the suggestions. It helps to know what others have done. The first time is always the hardest due to all of the unknowns. I'm sure everything will work out fine.
 
I'm going to quit freaking out now and try to get some sleep. Good night everyone.
 

Attachments

  • it's behind me.jpg
    it's behind me.jpg
    53.9 KB · Views: 374
Night Carla! try not to worry - it will all be fine. If there any concerns in the morning, or even when you get her home - just ask. You are right - the first time is always the hardest. Wishing you both the best!
 
Carla

I know you have gone to bed but if you see this....it's ok to skip the shot! If you are the least bit worried about it, then skip. She'll get back on track.

Good luck...sending great dental vetty vines for your girl!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top