? 09/08 Kai AMPS 209 +2.5 95 +3 58 +3.5 67 +4 71 +4.5 73 +5 81 +6 102 +7 130 PMPS 268

Maddie & Kai

Active Member
09/07 Thread
09/06 Thread
09/05 Thread

Friday 09/05 we were gearing up to increase to 2.25 units and now we are down to 1.25 units.
Someone make it make sense lol

If he hits below 90 i'm going to have to reduce to 1 unit. Not sure how I feel about that.

A couple notes:
No diarrhea last night or this morning.
He didn't finish all of his breakfast this morning (ate about 1/4 of a 5.5oz can)
I did give him a little bit more of his breakfast after his +2.5 because he wanted it.

Going to check him again in 8 minutes for his +3.
 
He isn't interest in food at the moment. So I put some syrup on his tongue and gums.
No signs of hypo but the 58 reading on the alphatrak is very concerning.
Wow, Kai is really responding to the dosing this week.
Let’s get some advice on how to handle dosing.
You may want to put a question mark and question in your title to get advice if needed. (It’s up to you)
Be safe, Kai. Come up a bit, please :bighug:
@tiffmaxee @Angela & Cleo @Wendy&Neko
 
I'm not really sure how long it will keep him up. I've never really had to test it until today and last Friday. My plan was to continue administering it until he is atl east back above 90.
I do have other high carb options on hand, pretty much everything under the sun including a little bit of dry :nailbiting:(which is a do or die last resort). He just wont eat anything. But he isn't showing any signs of hypo, just mostly irritated with me.
 
I'm not really sure how long it will keep him up. I've never really had to test it until today and last Friday. My plan was to continue administering it until he is atl east back above 90.
I do have other high carb options on hand, pretty much everything under the sun including a little bit of dry :nailbiting:(which is a do or die last resort). He just wont eat anything. But he isn't showing any signs of hypo, just mostly irritated with me.
Can you syringe feed him if necessary? Just a thought. You only need small amount of food each time. Like a teaspoon at a time.
You will want to keep him hungry and not get full.
 
I just tested at +4.5 @ 73
I got out the syringe and used a tsp of Fancy Feast to feed him a snack. He is not happy about lol
I can't say for sure that he got the full tsp. I think I'll also give him another drop of syrup.
 
Last edited:
Yes I did that after his +5.
I just checked him at +5.5 and he has risen to 88.
Should i hold on any more food and see if he rise with out it at the +6?
 
You don't need to give him extra carbs with an 88. You just don't want him to drop and regular LC should help with that. You can give him a tsp of regular low carb, if he wants it. The syrup at +3.5 will have worn off. Try not to give him syrup again unless he drops below 68. It's getting later in the cycle and the insulin should start to wear off.
 
I offered him just some of his LC food after the +5 check but he wasn't interested.
Now he is at 102 @ +5.5 :woot:
I think i'm going to wait and check him again in an hour at +6.5.
 
PMPS is 268(AT) / 255(RO)
The plan was to reduce to 1 unit tonight but he still isn't eating.

I can tell he is feeling a little bit better now, he even came and found me like he normally does right before dinner, to let me know it was his dinner time. However, when I put the food down he licked at it a few time and then lost interest. He tried to "burry" it for later... anyone else's cat's do that lol?

I'm going to skip tonight's shot. If he were to drop low tonight like he did this morning, then his decreased appetite will make it hard to get his numbers back up and it will just be a stressful repeat of this morning.

I'm also going to take him to the vet tomorrow and get him checked out. There has to be something else going on thats got his numbers so weird.

The good news today is that there hasn't been any soft stool, but the bad news is that there hasn't been any stool at all. He has peed his regular 2 times today so that was normal. But I don't think he has eaten enough for a bowel movement today.

Opinions and advice welcomed :)
 
PMPS is 268(AT) / 255(RO)
The plan was to reduce to 1 unit tonight but he still isn't eating.

I can tell he is feeling a little bit better now, he even came and found me like he normally does right before dinner, to let me know it was his dinner time. However, when I put the food down he licked at it a few time and then lost interest. He tried to "burry" it for later... anyone else's cat's do that lol?

I'm going to skip tonight's shot. If he were to drop low tonight like he did this morning, then his decreased appetite will make it hard to get his numbers back up and it will just be a stressful repeat of this morning.

I'm also going to take him to the vet tomorrow and get him checked out. There has to be something else going on thats got his numbers so weird.

The good news today is that there hasn't been any soft stool, but the bad news is that there hasn't been any stool at all. He has peed his regular 2 times today so that was normal. But I don't think he has eaten enough for a bowel movement today.

Opinions and advice welcomed :)
Poor baby. He’s had a rough few days. I hope he feels much better!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
By the way, you’re doing great, Maddie :bighug:
 
Thank you, Staci! I really appreciate your guidance this morning with the syringe feeding. That was buried in his little hypo kit and I completely forgot that was an option.
It looks like Ms. Ivy is doing better today, I hope her numbers are good tomorrow too!
 
I hope the vet can figure out why he's off his food. :bighug: Maybe ask the vet to check for pancreatitis, not uncommon for diabetics.

Side note, you probably would have been OK with a half dose - kitties getting anaesthesia who cannot eat still get a half dose.
 
Back
Top