? 09/06 Baby G PMPS 251 +4.8 80 +5 78 +5.5 76 +6 80 +6.5 78 +7 83

at what point do I take her to a hospital? we are over an hour away from anywhere
 
all the er vets are about an hour or more away. I called the one and they said if she's 60 or less to administer kayro or sugar water but if still dropping to bring her in. I'm just concerned about even letting her get to that point. What i worry about is do I 1) keep monitoring and managing at home, but at what point will my efforts not be enough and then it's too late? or 2) start to head out to the ER but that means for a whole hour she's sitting in the backseat with no intervention from anyone
 
She is still in normal numbers. There is no need to panic. The normal range for blood sugar is 50-100 with a human meter so she is at the higher end of normal. There is no need to rush to the ER vet. How is she doing? It's also later in the cycle so she should slow down.
 
She is still in normal numbers. There is no need to panic. The normal range for blood sugar is 50-100 with a human meter so she is at the higher end of normal. There is no need to rush to the ER vet. How is she doing? It's also later in the cycle so she should slow down.
Thanks, Bhooma. I'm freaking out, I think you know how I am...shes acting ok but I think I need to slow down on treats because she might be getting full. Going to do a check now
 
78. And that's after treats. I'm hoping she's leveling out since 78 should be practically the same as 80/89? She's never been this low before. I'll take off the 911 since you guys are with me and you're saying it's not emergency. I just hope it doesn't become one :arghh:
 
What treats are you feeding her? And what food? Don't fill her up. It's not the quantity of food but the carb% that affects numbers.
 
Now 76. So she went down yet essentially stayed the same since not by much.
I think I need to reread the sticky on hypo situations. I really hate living so far from an emergency vet because the distance alone makes me panic.
 
Good thing you did that before bed test tonight. :) Don't forget to update the spreadsheet with that glorious green. 78 and 76 are the same number within meter variance.

With a human meter and for most cats, below 50 is when we bring out the high carb. Your signature says custom SLGS. What are you using for a reduction point?
 
Purina DM dry is high carb but at the lower end of the range. I think it's around 16%. Sometimes you need 20-25% carbs to make a dent. You could either feed higher carb wet or add honey/ karo to get food to increase carb%

She's actually in lovely normal numbers.
 
With a human meter and for most cats, below 50 is when we bring out the high carb. Your signature says custom SLGS. What are you using for a reduction point?
Unless I'm missing it since I'm super tired, but the hypo sticky doesn't really give a number cut-off when to seek emergency vet assistance but to go if there are symptoms. I know every cat is different so there's no way to truly say, but I wish there was a number to where it's like ok, if it's this point or beyond, run!

The vet and I agreed on 150 as a reduction point we feel comfortable with. But I'm trying not to get super anal so I'm learning to accept a 145, for instance, but basically nothing less than that. I like and agree with SLGS but I have to give us a little more leeway for the nadir. This kind of thing gives me palpitations sometimes. I really don't know how you guys do it.
 
Purina DM dry is high carb but at the lower end of the range. I think it's around 16%. Sometimes you need 20-25% carbs to make a dent. You could either feed higher carb wet or add honey/ karo to get food to increase carb%
Never gave her honey before so thought I'd see what she thinks and she's not a fan lol. I'm surprised.
 
145 is a really high reduction point, especially with the Relion Prime. But it does explain what I'm seeing on the spreadsheet. We have a lot of kitties following TR and don't get reductions until below 50, if newly diagnosed. The way we "do it", is learning our cats patterns on insulin and how they react to food/carbs. Anyway, if 145 is your reduction point, you might want to list that either in the signature or spreadsheet, so that'll help us guide you for dosing. She's definitely earned a reduction by your dosing method.

The hypo sticky doesn't list numbers because there is some variation on what numbers are hypo. The variation is based on the cat and meter being used. Any hypo symptoms you are seeing are a good indicator. My Neko was pretty carb sensitive - I knew how to bump her up pretty quickly if I saw a low number. So I never even considered taking her to the vet for low numbers.
 
Stable at 80. I feel better but I'm not going to let my guard down. I'll keep checking and offering food until she's at least in the triple digits again.
 
Unfortunately I'm not the best at reading and predicting patterns. :( Never have been, probably never will be, though I keep trying. Not sure how much of that is really because I just suck at it or because she throws a curveball here or there due to any pancreatitis flare-ups. I was surprised at tonight's results, for instance. Didn't see that coming and maybe I should have, I don't know. She ate good during the day while I was at work.
 
I think the "crisis" has passed. She's definitely lower than I'm comfortable with but she appears to be surfing. She's napping now; it probably has been an awesome night in her perspective, getting a belly full of goodies her diet would normally prohibit. :cat::oops:
I truly truly appreciate you guys being with us! I'm so thankful for this forum; it's a Godsend.
 
Just wanted to say I think I goofed a smidge on the test times because I had one test in the wrong spot. Her latest test was 83 at +7. I think I finally fixed it on the spreadsheet.
 
Shot time in a bit. I'll see where her BG is. Obviously I'm lowering her dose. Normally I do a quarter decrease but not sure if that'll be enough this time. Hoping 4.25 or 4 should be ok....
 
Sending support your way. That was a stressful night for you! Hoping today is much smoother. Good luck with the reduction! :bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top