09/05 Blue AMPS 272 +2.25 250 +4 184 +6.25 175 +8 151 PMPS 160 +2 187 +3 232

It is truly amazing how Blue just keeps getting "Bluer", gone are the blacks and reds from when he first began this journey here. You have done such a great job of managing two diabetics, plus I read you had trouble with poor Max to contend with. Your furbabies are so blessed to be under your good care!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: I get that you are going to take Blue for more testing this week? Safe travels!
 
It is truly amazing how Blue just keeps getting "Bluer", gone are the blacks and reds from when he first began this journey here. You have done such a great job of managing two diabetics, plus I read you had trouble with poor Max to contend with. Your furbabies are so blessed to be under your good care!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: I get that you are going to take Blue for more testing this week? Safe travels!
The last 2.5 months have really tested me, for sure. I'm so relieved to see Blue's blues! Eddie is more of a challenge at the moment but he did finally get some yellow today! And, Max is on the mend.

Blue and I are headed to the coast (4.5 hours away) for a dental specialist and I'm hopeful that having his dental problems resolved with allow him to live his best life. He's such a good boy!
 
Best of luck with the journey tomorrow. I hope for good things at the specialist. There is a great Italian food store and deli at Bosa's just across the street from the dental office.

Blue looks like he's on a good travelling dose.
 
Best of luck with the journey tomorrow. I hope for good things at the specialist. There is a great Italian food store and deli at Bosa's just across the street from the dental office.

Blue looks like he's on a good travelling dose.

Thanks, Wendy!! Blue and I will be staying tomorrow night at the Sylvia (I love that place. I always get a room with kitchenette so I can make my own coffee in the morning. It will be great for Blue, too, for the evening.

I posted this in Eddie's thread but it belongs here:

"I'll probably post Blue's info as I'll test him tomorrow night and Wednesday when I take him to dental appointment. I'm told not to give him insulin or anything but DDAVP the morning of the procedure. I'll be driving back with him Wednesday evening and hopefully he'll want a little food. The IM vet sent this advice:

If Blue does not eat after his dental (and why should he? Probably not feeling great at that time), then you can give him 1 Unit of Glargine for your trip back. This will not make him hypoglycemic but will decrease his chances of ketone formation. Obviously bring some soft food, water, and liquid cat food with you to try in case he does like a snack. Also bring some sweet syrup in the unlikely event of hypoglycemia, to be rubbed on his gums.

If Blue eats, then it is much easier as you will dose him based on his food intake. e.g., 50% food intake of normal then give him 50% of insulin dose.

I hope all will go well for both Blue and yourself and let me know if medicine questions pop up that I may be able to answer.

Rule of thumb: HYPERglycemia is better than HYPOglycemia if a choice has to be made.

So, let us keep our fingers crossed, prayers up and all manner of things shall be well.
 
I'm told not to give him insulin or anything but DDAVP the morning of the procedure.
Did you remind the dental clinic that he's a diabetic and to confirm instructions with the vet? Sounds like you got the standard front desk response. I was always told I could feed 1/3 of breakfast before 6AM, and do half a dose of insulin. That is, once I'd told them to consult with the vet.

50% food intake of normal then give him 50% of insulin dose.
Why do you listen to the IM vet? :banghead: He does not seem to understand Lantus dosing. Has Blue ever had ketones? One skipped shot should not make a difference. It took a few days before you started insulin and he survived that. I would not give any extra insulin before your usual PMPS time, hopefully that'll be back home. You don't want to deal with multiple nadirs. The dental vet will give you instructions about feeding - listen to what they say instead. With no dose, or even half dose in the AM, he likely won't go hypo since he hasn't even seen green on this dose. But I'd still bring an assortment of foods, including HC. Ideally you should take a break half way through the trip home, test him, and see if he'll eat anything. When you do the PMPS test, you'll know if he's going up or going down. You can also ask the vet whether the effects of anaesthesia will change his BG. Likely not.

As a FYI, the times Neko had a dental, she ate like a champ afterwards. Even the surgery that required removing a bump from her jaw bone. Blue will come out well medicated. The question is whether he'll eat in the car. You can test that on the way down. Neko preferred the car not to be moving. Maybe at a gas fill up.
 
Did you remind the dental clinic that he's a diabetic and to confirm instructions with the vet? Sounds like you got the standard front desk response. I was always told I could feed 1/3 of breakfast before 6AM, and do half a dose of insulin. That is, once I'd told them to consult with the vet.


Why do you listen to the IM vet? :banghead: He does not seem to understand Lantus dosing. Has Blue ever had ketones? One skipped shot should not make a difference. It took a few days before you started insulin and he survived that. I would not give any extra insulin before your usual PMPS time, hopefully that'll be back home. You don't want to deal with multiple nadirs. The dental vet will give you instructions about feeding - listen to what they say instead. With no dose, or even half dose in the AM, he likely won't go hypo since he hasn't even seen green on this dose. But I'd still bring an assortment of foods, including HC. Ideally you should take a break half way through the trip home, test him, and see if he'll eat anything. When you do the PMPS test, you'll know if he's going up or going down. You can also ask the vet whether the effects of anaesthesia will change his BG. Likely not.

As a FYI, the times Neko had a dental, she ate like a champ afterwards. Even the surgery that required removing a bump from her jaw bone. Blue will come out well medicated. The question is whether he'll eat in the car. You can test that on the way down. Neko preferred the car not to be moving. Maybe at a gas fill up.

Yes, of course, I told the clinic he was diabetic and acromegalic and I sent them his most recent lab results with the question of what medications to give. The answer was from the vet/anesthesiologist.

Also, I included what the IM vet said just to keep a record here. I thought, besides being a bit of an old-school guy, it was kind of sweet for him to wish us well even if so much of what he was advising me to do (bring syrup and soft food) is stating the obvious. He knows I use TR with Eddie and Blue and he can't get his head around it. I wasn't gong to give any extra insulin at all.

Of course Blue is having a bit of a bouncy night, just for fun.
 
Back
Top