? 09/04- Has Freya finally tickled her sweet spot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SwedishLiz

Member Since 2023
Just once, earlier today, Freya achieved a Blue banner in her spreadsheet! I was so proud; we’ve been struggling for months to stabilise Freya’s diabetes, but finally a short-lived ‘hoorah’ moment! Because her BG has crept into the naughty zone again, we’ve elected to maintain her current dose (we have other cats with other dietary issues) so keeping various foods available overnight is imperative & although we’re trying our best, this is not a ‘pick-a-mix’ of our favourite cats so we’re just hoping that Freya can improve, yet repeat her BG lowerings tomorrow! Advice on lowering insulin is now requested, just in case…! How many nadirs & over what timeframe? On the TR regime, do I still have to maintain a dose for a minimum of 6 doses? How often can I reduce the dose to lessen the chance of a hypo?
Reminder - I’m registered blind so Freya’s insulin needs to be drawn up in advance, usually approx 3 days in advance so any dosage adjustment will have to wait…
 
Hi Liz,
I would not reduce the dose. Freya is still getting high BGs most of the time. The blue BG (10.5) 189 is still high.
If you are worried about overnight BGs, you might give her a bit of higher carb food before you go to bed.
With TR you can reduce anytime the BG drops under 50 (2.8) I know that is too low for you with your sight issues.
But I think the current dose could even be increased to 3 units after 6 cycles and she would not drop too low.
But ultimately it is your decision and you need to be comfortable with it.:)
 
Hi Liz,
I would not reduce the dose. Freya is still getting high BGs most of the time. The blue BG (10.5) 189 is still high.
If you are worried about overnight BGs, you might give her a bit of higher carb food before you go to bed.
With TR you can reduce anytime the BG drops under 50 (2.8) I know that is too low for you with your sight issues.
But I think the current dose could even be increased to 3 units after 6 cycles and she would not drop too low.
But ultimately it is your decision and you need to be comfortable with it.:)
Thank you! Freya’s current dose is 4.75 units - should we increase to 5 units? If Freya ever reaches the 2.8/50 BG reading, should we reduce her dose immediately & if so, by how much?

I know I’m being premature in asking this, but I’m so excited that finally things seem to be heading in the right direction so I just wanted to have all the info I need when the time comes!
Once again, thank you!
 
You can increase the dose.
You need to increase by only 0.25 units now because Freya is dropping into yellow and blue BGs. So next dose is 5 units.
When you do a test at +3 in the PM cycle, (or any cycle)… if that BG is much lower than the preshot like it was on 4/4, I would get another test done a couple of hours later as Freya is probably going to drop lower.

If Freya drops under 2.8 (50) you need to feed her some high carb food and test again in 20 minutes to make sure she is not dropping lower. And keep testing until she is up around 100 and staying there.
Yes, you reduce the dose immediately if she drops under 50.
You are not being premature in asking theses questions. It is important you know what to do if it happens. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top