09/04 Cooper PMPS 168 +1 163 +2 129 +3 87 +4 68 +4.5 66 +5 73 +5.75 98

Gabrielle17

Member Since 2023
Good morning, all!

The blood work goes to Michigan State University. It's the only place in North America that does the tests. Hopefully your vet has an account there. The vet can send blood to Idexx who will send it to MSU, but that will cost a lot more. We've even had people who have dealt with MSU directly, after getting the vet to do the blood draw.

Thank you, Wendy! I will have to call my vet tomorrow to see about this. I am kind of worried they won't have an account there since they are a small practice, but maybe that won't matter. Fingers crossed!

Yesterday's thread:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...442-2-346-4-278-5-25-286.281150/#post-3100867
 
Hello!

Cooper has suddenly thrown me for a loop and has a blue pre-shot number! Stalling giving the shot for now because I have never had him be below 200 for pre-shot. Can I get some guidance? :)
 
Can you stay up tonight to monitor? 168 is a very shootable number. On this forum, for people following TR, we say that for under 150 you do not feed, and post for help. Above 150, SHOOOOOT! And get a +1 and +2 to get a heads up what the cycle will look like. Neko's first blue preshots, she bounced right away. :rolleyes: Since Cooper is flat since +10, he's likely not going to drop more.
 
Can you stay up tonight to monitor? 168 is a very shootable number. On this forum, for people following TR, we say that for under 150 you do not feed, and post for help. Above 150, SHOOOOOT! And get a +1 and +2 to get a heads up what the cycle will look like. Neko's first blue preshots, she bounced right away. :rolleyes: Since Cooper is flat since +10, he's likely not going to drop more.

I have notes that say I can shoot above 150, but I got scared LOL!

Okay, yes, I will go ahead and the monitor! Of course he picks the night when I have work in the morning, that bugger. :rolleyes: I'm happy to see a blue though!
 
Now that I got that part out of the way, Lantus (and Levemir) both produce much flatter cycles when you start out lower. I loved lower preshots, I had a much better idea what the cycle would look like.

And by the way, since you got a +10 and a PMPS, you know he's flat and not dropping. Stalling (without feeding) is what we do when we don't know what direction kitty's numbers are going.

Good luck. I'll check in on the +1 and +2 results.
 
Stalling (without feeding) is what we do when we don't know what direction kitty's numbers are going.

Okay, got it, that makes sense! Lol sorry, I totally panicked. Just last night his pre-shot was 400+ so I was not expecting this at all! Thank you for your help!
 
When was the last time he ate? You might want to try a couple tsps of food now. Regular LC.
 
@Wendy&Neko +3 is 87. Why is this happening? He's never before gotten anything remotely close to green. Do I need to feed some high carb food?

Edit to add: he is acting normal currently, in case this is pertinent.
87 is a very safe healthy healing green number. Feed a tsp or two of LC and test again in an hour

Congrats on the :D.:):bighug:
 
+3 is 87. Why is this happening? He's never before gotten anything remotely close to green.
You've finally gotten to a dose that's seeing a break through.

What time is your normal "before bed" time? Depending where he is at +4, and how late this is for you, you may decide to abort the cycle with HC later. However, note that if he goes flat or comes up on just LC, then you know it's safe to go to bed. With HC, you'd have to make sure he's up and staying up.

What Angela says on food. If you are feeding anything differently (times/amounts/carbs) than usual, put a note on the Remarks. That'll be handy reference for the next time you see nice numbers.
 
Yup, time to put on the brakes. Test again 1/2 hour after he eats, to make sure it worked. He's still safe, but you do want to get to bed at some point tonight.

Cats and their timing. :cat:
 
Cats and their timing. :cat:

Haha seriously! I am ecstatic that, at last, we've had a break through! Just as long as he doesn't go overboard. :p

I fed some HC food. He is living for these snacks and while I'm all worried, he's walking around purring lol!
 
+5 is 73, so finally going up!

So does this earn him a reduction for the morning, I suppose? Would I go to 5.5U?

Unfortunately I have to be in the office tomorrow, so that means I will only be able to get AMPS and +1. :(
 
I am up, just starting on dinner. (west coast). With TR, reductions are earned by going under 50 on a human meter. Your signature says Relion. So 6 units is the magic number. There's some chance he'll bounce his way through tomorrow.

Can you get a +5.5? If still going up significantly, and he's had nothing but LC since +4, you are good to go to bed. You want two rising tests, without influence of HC. HC does take a couple hours to wear off, so his numbers could go down at +6. Let's see what the next test says.
 
You want two rising tests, without influence of HC. HC does take a couple hours to wear off, so his numbers could go down at +6. Let's see what the next test says.

Okay, I'll go test him now. He did get the HC at +4. Sorry, I thought you said to go ahead with it, but maybe I jumped the gun lol.
 
Oh yes, I did say HC at +4 to try to stop or slow the drop. But you also have to aware that it could mean it wears off and the numbers drop again. The good thing is that he kept on going up after that.
 
Ah, okay, gotcha! He is at 98 now at about +5.75. Should set an alarm for a bit later to be sure he doesn't drop again? Like +6.5 since I checked just now?
 
Last edited:
Great job, Gabrielle! Nice :D
You had great support last night to help you through it.
I hope you got some sleep!
 
Back
Top