09/03 Nola AMPS 162 +1.75 126 +2.25 146 +2.75 90 +4 65 +4.25 61 +4.75 56 +5 60 +5.25 52 +6 52

Jo & Nola

Member
Looking at Nola's past week, Sep 2nd was her 8th day with 1 IU per cycle. According to what Ive read of TR and her BG readings, I should reduce her dose 0.25 each cycle right?

Nadirs=
  • 8/27 am 101, pm 138
  • 8/28 am 155, pm 124
  • 8/29 am 173, pm 68
  • 8/30 am 317, pm 65
  • 8/31 am 87, pm 71
  • 9/1 am 85, pm 60s (from meter’s graph)
  • 9/2 am 66, pm 68
Thanks in advance!!

@tiffmaxee
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Staci & Ivy
@Wendy&Neko

Best,
Jo
 
Last edited:
Reductions, when following TR, are earned by a newly diagnosed cat (less than 1 year since diagnosis) if they go under 50 or spend a week in solid green with nadirs in the 50-80 range. She has done neither of those. For a cat that doesn't hold reductions well - regardless of when the diagnosis was, can earn a reduction if they go between 40 and 49 three times on three separate days.

Her numbers are improving a lot on this dose though, you are seeing progress. If you are able to do so, it would be interesting to do some tests with a hand held BG meter on some of the lower Libre numbers, to see how low she's really going. Some people report the Libre showing quite a bit different numbers in the lower number range.
 
Last edited:
She just had a 52 which is probably below 50 with a regular meter. Unfortunately Im literally waiting for my payroll to be available in my bank account to make any further purchases and I cant have a regular meter with me right now (any day now).

I feel soooo uneasy when shes at the 50s - low 60s, its driving me insane. Should I feed her some hc food?
 
With one 52 on the Freestyle Libre can we consider that a below 50? and reduce her dose? Can I do that in her PM cycle?
I'm honestly loosing it right now, after finding out about the inaccuracy of the Freestyle libre. Its sooo hard for Nola to do regular glucose checks and not being able to trust her continuous glucose meter? We use the frrestyle libre, not the libre 2 nor 3, dont know if that makes a difference or not. Should I feed her HC food now that she's at 52 again?
 
It's late in the cycle and she seems to be pretty flat. I would stay with regular LC food.
With TR, you earn a reduction with a drop below 50. I thought the Libre reads far below human meters - especially in the normal range?
 
It's late in the cycle and she seems to be pretty flat. I would stay with regular LC food.
With TR, you earn a reduction with a drop below 50. I thought the Libre reads far below human meters - especially in the normal range?
I was told today that the Libre reads quite a bit higher numbers in the lower number range. So if thats true.. the 2 times she's been at 52 this cycle could technically be considered 2 drops below 50? Thats why I dont know if I should give her HC food to increase her BG or not and keep trusting the Libre device?


OMG Bandit and Nola look related!
 
I was told today that the Libre reads quite a bit higher numbers in the lower number range. So if thats true.. the 2 times she's been at 52 this cycle could technically be considered 2 drops below 50? Thats why I dont know if I should give her HC food to increase her BG or not and keep trusting the Libre device?
I'm not very sure about the Libre. I think the earlier versions read much lower than a normal meter. I'm going to tag @Staci & Ivy for info on the Libre.

Normally we ask caregivers to verify Libre lows with a meter, but since you can't do that at the moment, I would just go by the Libre numbers.
As far as feeding HC, you don't need to do that if it's late in the cycle and if numbers are staying flat (not dropping fast). Cats can surf the 50s beautifully with just LC.
 
I'm not very sure about the Libre. I think the earlier versions read much lower than a normal meter. I'm going to tag @Staci & Ivy for info on the Libre.

Normally we ask caregivers to verify Libre lows with a meter, but since you can't do that at the moment, I would just go by the Libre numbers.
As far as feeding HC, you don't need to do that if it's late in the cycle and if numbers are staying flat (not dropping fast). Cats can surf the 50s beautifully with just LC.

Okokok Ill chill a bit, Thanks so much!! I was definitely panicking with those 52s possibly being below 50s. Do you suggest I keep the full 1 IU dose for her next PM cycle?
 
She just dropped to 47! I gave her a bit of friskies wet food and Ill mesaure her in 15 minutes again. I guess this means shes having a reduction
 
I'm not very sure about the Libre. I think the earlier versions read much lower than a normal meter. I'm going to tag @Staci & Ivy for info on the Libre.

Normally we ask caregivers to verify Libre lows with a meter, but since you can't do that at the moment, I would just go by the Libre numbers.
As far as feeding HC, you don't need to do that if it's late in the cycle and if numbers are staying flat (not dropping fast). Cats can surf the 50s beautifully with just LC.
Hi Jo,
I never used the Freestyle original Libre. I began with a Libre 2 and moved to a Libre 3. I test Ivy if she drops to maybe 50, 40 or Lo (under 40 it just says Lo). What I have found is that she will be anywhere from 60-over 100 on a handheld meter (I have a Contour Next and Relion and both are similar readings).

Other people here I have read that the lower numbers can be similar, sometimes closer but not very close, it seems to vary. I don't know why there are differences from me and other members and their readings vs mine. I can only go by what I see on my meters and know how my cat tends to read. I have been using a Libre for about 1.5 years now.

Have you joined the Facebook group Freestyle Libre for Dogs and Cats? If not, you should. There is lots of valuable info and other people you can ask questions to get more information.

If I can help more, just let me know :)
 
Hi Jo,
I never used the Freestyle original Libre. I began with a Libre 2 and moved to a Libre 3. I test Ivy if she drops to maybe 50, 40 or Lo (under 40 it just says Lo). What I have found is that she will be anywhere from 60-over 100 on a handheld meter (I have a Contour Next and Relion and both are similar readings).

Other people here I have read that the lower numbers can be similar, sometimes closer but not very close, it seems to vary. I don't know why there are differences from me and other members and their readings vs mine. I can only go by what I see on my meters and know how my cat tends to read. I have been using a Libre for about 1.5 years now.

Have you joined the Facebook group Freestyle Libre for Dogs and Cats? If not, you should. There is lots of valuable info and other people you can ask questions to get more information.

If I can help more, just let me know :)
I didn't know about the fb group! I just asked to join, thanks for the info.
I saw this article that kind of explains why there is a difference between continuous glucose monitors and regular ones. It probably makes more sense to you since you are much more knowledgable.
 
I didn't know about the fb group! I just asked to join, thanks for the info.
I saw this article that kind of explains why there is a difference between continuous glucose monitors and regular ones. It probably makes more sense to you since you are much more knowledgable.
Good I am glad you joined. Read through their pages and you can ask questions. Yes there's a difference between the interstitial fluid and blood glucose, so it's not exactly the same.
I use the Libre as a good tool to tell me where Ivy is at all times. And if she goes low, I will poke her to see exactly what her BG is and if she needs higher carbs.
It's definitely not a perfect system, but it works for us since Ivy isn't a cat I can poke all the time. She would claw me to death :banghead:
I hope you can get a handheld meter soon so you have both for when you need it.
Wishing you lots of good luck :bighug::bighug:
 
Absolutely! I also love being able to see her BG at all times without being clawed to death :p, Ill buy the regular monitor soon. Thanks for everything!
 
Ill buy the regular monitor soon.
I haven't read through your previous threads, but I'm assuming that you know that most of us use human meters since they are just as good as pet meters and the strips are much cheaper. In the US, the Relion Premier Classic from WalMart is only $9 and the strips are $17.88 for 100.
 
I haven't read through your previous threads, but I'm assuming that you know that most of us use human meters since they are just as good as pet meters and the strips are much cheaper. In the US, the Relion Premier Classic from WalMart is only $9 and the strips are $17.88 for 100.

Thank you!! I'll check in the pharmacies here in Dominican Republic, and they're at least $50 USD. I can also order from US amazon so if the price is better on Amazon, Ill do it that way. Ill check if I can order from walmart.com with a foreign card, it would be such a good deal! Thank youu for the info
 
Back
Top