09/02 Miou +10=52 +10.5 =78 +11=71 PMBG=73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elsa

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Good day everyone,

I got up a bit late, and got a +10.5=136... then tested at +11.5 and got a 111
and I thought to myself... uh oh! Miou is dropping!
But when I tested her at AMPS she was back at 136!!!
Isn't this fluctuation a bit out of the ordinary?
I noticed the battery of the glucometer is a bit low, could it be that, and I am getting wrong readings

Anyway after getting the AMPS I fed Miou and as she was eating I gave her her shot of 0.25
(I always shoot while she is eating some food, so I am sure she wont move)

------edit-----
got a +2 of 95
 
Re: 09/02 Miou +10.5=136 +11.5=111 AMPS=136 +2=95 strange PS

Glucometers are allowed a variance of 20%, so the 136 and the 111 are pretty close.
I would get a +3 next.

Nice numbers, Miou cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 09/02 Miou +10.5=136 +11.5=111 AMPS=136 +2=95 strange PS

a bit late for a +3, but got a +4=83
at that time I made a run to the market and got new batteries for the glucometer
Miou's ears look terrible from poking so often... but hopefully she wont have to go through that too long

ok I had not realized that it is so big a variance... in my hazy morning mind it didn't even occur to me to calculate the 20%
Dyana said:
Nice numbers, Miou cat_pet_icon
Miou purrrrrsssss and says thanks flip_cat
 
Re: 09/02 Miou +10.5=136 +11.5=111 AMPS=136 +2=95 +4=83

We put a dab of Neosporin with Pain Relief on the ears sometimes. I usually switch ears about once a week and when I do the switch I put a bit of the cream on the ear that is getting a chance to heal for a week.
 
Re: 09/02 Miou +10.5=136 +11.5=111 AMPS=136 +2=95 +4=83

The other possibility is what we term a "double dip." Sometimes, late in the cycle, you'll see a second drop in numbers.

These are beautiful numbers for your kitty. She really seems to be liking this dose. You're doing a great job. I just hope you're getting enough sleep!
 
Re: 09/02 Miou +10.5=136 +11.5=111 AMPS=136 +2=95 +4=83

Dyana said:
We put a dab of Neosporin with Pain Relief on the ears sometimes. I usually switch ears about once a week and when I do the switch I put a bit of the cream on the ear that is getting a chance to heal for a week.

I will check if there is Neosporin or something equivelant at the pharmacy... nice ear-tactics thanks

Angela and Siene thanks for the good words
Sienne and Gabby said:
I just hope you're getting enough sleep!
unfortunately I am not getting enough sleep... I am building a depot of sleep deprivation
but I think its better to do that now, and get Miou regulated asap,
in 2 weeks I am starting again at the tai chi school and will not be able to have the time or the possibility to stay up so late
 
Re: 09/02 Miou +10.5=136 +11.5=111 AMPS=136 +2=95 +4=83 +5=8

Good job! In a couple of weeks you should have more data to know if you can get a PMPS+2 and go to bed. Or set the alarm for just a + 6 or whatever.

She is doing great on this dose.

Wendy
 
Re: 09/02 Miou +10.5=136 +11.5=111 AMPS=136 +2=95 +5=80 +10=

Tested Miou she has a +10=52
feeding LC and testing in bit again

----edit---
not to panic anyone
she has no hypo symptoms, on the contrary she eats with appetite and atm is grooming
when I pet her she purrrrrs like a little machine

does that mean I should reduce the PM shot?
 
Re: 09/02 Miou AMPS=136 +2=95 +5=80 +10=52 reduction?

ok I just did a +10.5 and she has climbed up to 78. I don't think this much can be due to the LC food.
She might had dropped lower
I wanted to get a +8 or +9 but I dozed off
OMG how am I gonna shoot tonight? nailbite_smile
 
Re: 09/02 Miou AMPS=136 +2=95 +5=80 +10=52 reduction?

Let's see where Miou is at PMPS. A lot can happen in the space of an hour or two. A 52 really isn't in dose reduction territory. However, I think Miou is moving in that direction. You want to give her pancreas as much support as you can for as long as possible so it can heal.
 
Re: 09/02 Miou AMPS=136 +2=95 +5=80 +10=52 reduction?

That was a beautiful cycle today. She might be back up to around 136 by PMPS and have another good cycle tonight.
 
Re: 09/02 Miou AMPS=136 +2=95 +5=80 +10=52 reduction?

+11 was 71, in half an hour we will know how much is the PMPS
 
Re: 09/02 Miou AMPS=136 +2=95 +5=80 +10=52 reduction?

Okay, we'll be here.
Remember, if you decide to stall, don't feed her.
 
Re: 09/02 Miou +10=52 +10.5 =78 +11=71 PMPS=73

Remember stalling is wait and don't shoot and dont feed and test again in 30 minutes to see if she is rising (more than meter error). Because she went to 52 you might see a bounce coming soon too.

At 52 she didnt officially earn a decrease (although she could have dropped lower before you measured her) but you hold the syringe so its up to you if you want to try 0.1 instead.

Wendy
 
Re: 09/02 Miou +10=52 +10.5 =78 +11=71 PMPS=73

PMPS=73... she goes up very slowly
I would stall and not feed but to be honest... just yesterday I started shooting under 150
jumping to under 100 seems way too scary atm...
I am so much afraid I might doze like I did this afternoon, and then something might happen to Miou
I know you guys will be there to help me, but I am not up to this tonight.
Sorry :oops:
 
Re: 09/02 Miou +10=52 +10.5 =78 +11=71 PMPS=73

Then skip the shot. Skipping is actually useful especially if you think you are going to reduce the dose because what it does is drain the depot a bit. That means if you do start a new dose tomorrow you arent going to see as much impact of the old dose handing around.

It might also means tomorrows AMPS is high but dont panic - that will pass as you get back on course.

Maybe Miou is thinking mamabean needs a good sleep tonite ;)

Wendy
 
Re: 09/02 Miou +10=52 +10.5 =78 +11=71 PMPS=73

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Then skip the shot. Skipping is actually useful especially if you think you are going to reduce the dose because what it does is drain the depot a bit. That means if you do start a new dose tomorrow you arent going to see as much impact of the old dose handing around.

It might also means tomorrows AMPS is high but dont panic - that will pass as you get back on course.
I wont panic... I expect it, it happened a few days ago too

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Maybe Miou is thinking mamabean needs a good sleep tonite ;)
Ah my little spoiled princess sometimes thinks of mommy :)

---edit---
about the dose I wont reduce
I will go on with the 0.25 until my little one officially goes under 50
 
Re: 09/02 Miou +10=52 +10.5 =78 +11=71 PMPS=73

Ah my little spoiled princess sometimes thinks of mommy :)
Awe, that kind of matches your signature, that you are Proud mama :cool:
 
Re: 09/02 Miou +10=52 +10.5 =78 +11=71 PMPS=73

If you skipped, the notation is that your PMBG = 73. You might want to change that in your subject line.
 
Re: 09/02 Miou +10=52 +10.5 =78 +11=71 PMPS=73

I think if you were worried about being able to stay awake, skipping was a fine choice. It's always important to consider your ability to stay awake and test if you shoot.

Let's just look quickly at her numbers, though, because it's a great opportunity for a learning lesson for the future when you are rested. She was surfing going into PMPS. She had already had her nadir so you wouldn't have been shooting a dropping number. These are the numbers we like to shoot so next time you are up for it and rested....let's give it a go!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Then skip the shot. Skipping is actually useful especially if you think you are going to reduce the dose because what it does is drain the depot a bit. That means if you do start a new dose tomorrow you arent going to see as much impact of the old dose handing around.

I'm still not seeing a reason to reduce the dose tomorrow so I'm glad to see you say you were holding the dose. However, the above quote also concerns me because there is no need to skip a dose to drain the depot on a cycle like this. If we have kitties that are racing down the dosing scale so fast that the caregiver can't catch their breath in between the 40s and the reductions, it sometimes makes sense to skip a shot and drain the depot. But this is not one of those times. Skipping the shot to keep her safe is one thing....and a very important one. But skipping a shot on a reduction to drain the depot is not always the answer. Depends on the cat, the caregiver, and what's going on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top