09/01 Blaze PMPS 434

Blaze and Paola

Member Since 2020
Last thread for continuity: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/08-28-blaze-pmps-24-4-439.252117/

Hi everyone,
I have a question regarding my Blaze's BG levels.
I am currently giving him 0.50 Units twice a day.
His nadirs are usually acceptable I think, but his AMPS and PMPS are really really high.
I believe that last year, when he went into remission, a huge part was the fact of changing his diet and putting him on LC food. he still needed insulin but not a lot. With the change in food and the insulin, he went into remission in 3 weeks from the original diagnosis.
This time around it is very different.
He is still eating the FF pates and nothing else (some times he has 5 pieces of Dr. Elsey's Chicken Dry Food as a treat and not everyday).
Because his AMPS and PMPS are so high, should I increase his dose to 0.75?
Any suggestions? Should I leave him on 0.50?
Thank you in advance for your input :)
Paola
 
AM and PM pre-shots are almost always the highest of the day.

Based on the nadirs you can afford to increase - your SS says you're following TR, so you can increase as soon as every 3 days. Those high numbers could possibly be due to bouncing by going lower mid-cycle so you may want to add a bit more food at those times to see if you can slow him down and level him off. Do you feed him regularly throughout the day/night?

I'd be thinking about an increase if it were me and I was around to monitor.
 
AM and PM pre-shots are almost always the highest of the day.

Based on the nadirs you can afford to increase - your SS says you're following TR, so you can increase as soon as every 3 days. Those high numbers could possibly be due to bouncing by going lower mid-cycle so you may want to add a bit more food at those times to see if you can slow him down and level him off. Do you feed him regularly throughout the day/night?

I'd be thinking about an increase if it were me and I was around to monitor.

Hi Sue,
thank you for your reply. I have been around these past 2 weeks (since starting the insulin again) because I am a teacher and I am off work. I am resuming work next week on Thursday and according to the insulin schedule, I will only be able to do a +2 in the morning before I leave for work.
I leave food out for Blaze to eat but starting next Thursday I will not be around during the day to monitor. I have hired a vet tech on Rover to come in at around +5/+6 to make sure Blaze eats some MC fancy feast food. She will do that Mon-Fri. I am able to monitor at night...until +5 time, then I go to bed.
Yes, Blaze eats regularly throughout the day. Food is always available to him.
 
Back
Top