
She dropped below 50 three timesAfternoon Adrienne, I hope Molly slides down today.
I might be missing something , why did you reduce this morning![]()
I forgot about dropping under 50 on three separate times, I was thinking aboutShe dropped below 50 three times

If they drop below 40 it’s an automatic reduction. But if she drops below 50 three times it’s a reduction. Hopefully she does good this time with the reduction fingers and paws crossedI forgot about dropping under 50 on three separate times, I was thinking about
dropping the under 40 for a long term diabetic . Duh . You are on the ball Adrienne
Reducing the dose:
The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
- If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
- Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
- @Adrienne & Molly
I totally forgot about thatIf they drop below 40 it’s an automatic reduction. But if she drops below 50 three times it’s a reduction. Hopefully she does good this time with the reduction fingers and paws crossed


Thanks DianeI totally forgot about that
I'll keep my fingers crossed also![]()



Automatic reduction if kitty goes below 50 three separate times. But not during the same day. Below 40 is an automatic reduction. Molly has seen 40 a few times. I was a little upset when Molly was considered a long term diabetic. But there is some kitties that still go in remission. Like @Diane Tyler's Mom. There is always hope and I hope one day Molly will. It’s going on three years now!I thought dropping below 50 three times was only for kitties that didn't hold reductions well. Ruby will be a long term diabetic in 2 days.I need to get this straight. We're already only reducing after three times under 50 because I'm chasing steroid induced BG levels. Going under 40 sounds really scary!
![]()
Thanks CarlaI hope Molly comes back down and surfs on the new dose.
@Diane Tyler's Mom is an enormous inspiration to all of us!Automatic reduction if kitty goes below 50 three separate times. But not during the same day. Below 40 is an automatic reduction. Molly has seen 40 a few times. I was a little upset when Molly was considered a long term diabetic. But there is some kitties that still go in remission. Like @Diane Tyler's Mom. There is always hope and I hope one day Molly will. It’s going on three years now!
I hope it will happen for Molly, too. 

