08/29 Molly AMPS 265

Adrienne & Molly (GA)

Member Since 2019
Yesterday
All 3 of us slept in this morning! Today I’m going to take Miss. Molly out to the trailer with me. Get it organized for this coming weekend. DH has lots of yard work to do
Have a great day everyone kitties stay safe
 
She dropped below 50 three times
I forgot about dropping under 50 on three separate times, I was thinking about
dropping the under 40 for a long term diabetic . Duh . You are on the ball Adrienne :cat:
Reducing the dose:

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
  • @Adrienne & Molly
 
Last edited:
I forgot about dropping under 50 on three separate times, I was thinking about
dropping the under 40 for a long term diabetic . Duh . You are on the ball Adrienne :cat:
Reducing the dose:

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
  • @Adrienne & Molly
If they drop below 40 it’s an automatic reduction. But if she drops below 50 three times it’s a reduction. Hopefully she does good this time with the reduction fingers and paws crossed
 
I thought dropping below 50 three times was only for kitties that didn't hold reductions well. Ruby will be a long term diabetic in 2 days. :( I need to get this straight. We're already only reducing after three times under 50 because I'm chasing steroid induced BG levels. Going under 40 sounds really scary! :nailbiting:
 
I thought dropping below 50 three times was only for kitties that didn't hold reductions well. Ruby will be a long term diabetic in 2 days. :( I need to get this straight. We're already only reducing after three times under 50 because I'm chasing steroid induced BG levels. Going under 40 sounds really scary! :nailbiting:
Automatic reduction if kitty goes below 50 three separate times. But not during the same day. Below 40 is an automatic reduction. Molly has seen 40 a few times. I was a little upset when Molly was considered a long term diabetic. But there is some kitties that still go in remission. Like @Diane Tyler's Mom. There is always hope and I hope one day Molly will. It’s going on three years now!
 
Automatic reduction if kitty goes below 50 three separate times. But not during the same day. Below 40 is an automatic reduction. Molly has seen 40 a few times. I was a little upset when Molly was considered a long term diabetic. But there is some kitties that still go in remission. Like @Diane Tyler's Mom. There is always hope and I hope one day Molly will. It’s going on three years now!
@Diane Tyler's Mom is an enormous inspiration to all of us! :cat: I hope it will happen for Molly, too. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top