08/28 Jerry AMPS 156 +2 122 +4 87 +5 81 +6 74 +8 108 PMPS 128 +3 119 +5 126

Jerry dutchboy

Member Since 2019
previously

Have not posted for a couple of days as Jerry has been in pretty flat blues despite an increase in dose on 08/24. Looks like I'm going to be increasing his dose again.

Have a wonderful day everyone and hope all of the kitties stay safe.:):bighug:
 
He might have had a green late last night! and maybe he's getting ready for another one ...:D
Hope you have a very good day, Deirdre !
I think you are probably right Lyane which is part of the reason I'm not rushing any increase just yet. Sometimes if I threaten an increase he does better ha ha. We'll see.:D
 
Hi Deirdre, I was looking at Jerry's SS just now. He stopped having reds and blacks the day he stopped eating dry food, is that correct? Or is it a combination of events? Thank you!
 
Hi Deirdre, I was looking at Jerry's SS just now. He stopped having reds and blacks the day he stopped eating dry food, is that correct? Or is it a combination of events? Thank you!
No, he's testiment to how dry food affects BG. I was wary about removing it as it was specifically for his constipation and vet didn't think miralax would be as effective but I knew I'd have to do something so I decided to give it a try and look what happened. It's just remarkable. If folks don't believe dry food is bad for cats they just have to look at Jerry's ss.:bighug:

@Penelope and Mačka, I should clarify that the dry food Jerry was on was high carb...and not one of the low carb dry food out there.
 
Last edited:
@Penelope and Mačka, I should clarify that the dry food Jerry was on was high carb...and not one of the low carb dry food out there.
Thanks. That's pretty impressive. Macka was on high carb dry food (renal) before his diagnosis, but it did not seem to change one thing unfortunately :/
I don't know what to do with Macka's food now. He's on LC, Fancy Feast, Raw (5% I believe), freeze dried treats and bone broth. Do I need to give him 0% carbs food? Apart from fish, is there anything else that can be given? Not sure it's good for his kidneys.
 
Thanks. That's pretty impressive. Macka was on high carb dry food (renal) before his diagnosis, but it did not seem to change one thing unfortunately :/
I don't know what to do with Macka's food now. He's on LC, Fancy Feast, Raw (5% I believe), freeze dried treats and bone broth. Do I need to give him 0% carbs food? Apart from fish, is there anything else that can be given? Not sure it's good for his kidneys.
If he has kidney issues you need to keep the phosphorus as low as possible. FF pates and Friskies are quite high. Have you looked at Dr. Pierson's food list, its a wealth of information and worth looking at. Jerry is very carb sensitive, anything over 3% and I can see it in his numbers. I have 5 and 6% friskies on hand should I need to steer his BG and of course FF Gravies in the hypo kit. It may be an idea to try a lower carb % and see if it helps.

I think that he's so use to higher numbers that when he drops down to lower high numbers his system goes bounce, bounce. Over time the bounces will shorten and he won't bounce so hard. I'm not an expert by any means, maybe someone with more knowledge will come along and give you some insight.
 
Jerry's SS is looking GREAT!:D
images
 
Back
Top