08/28 Blaze PMPS:24.4/439

Blaze and Paola

Member Since 2020
Hello everyone,
I have a question regarding insulin.
My cat is on Lantus.
His PMPS is very high tonight (another bounce I think). It is dinner time but he won't eat anything for some reason. He has been eating like a champ everyday so far but right now, he keeps walking away from his dish. He is not showing symptoms of nausea either.
Can I still give his 0.25U of insulin at the right time even if he has not eaten anything considering his sugar is so high right now?
Thank you for your replies,
Paola

Last thread for continuity: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/08-21-blaze-amps-15-4-227-3-22-6-407.251748/
 
Last edited:
Hi Paola. Yes you can shoot. Lantus won’t kick in for about 2 hours so you have time to get him to eat. He’s pretty high so I don’t think he will go too low. Get a +2. I’m sure you have honey or karo in case he’s really low and won’t eat but I don’t think that will happen. Has he been eating well until tonight?
 
Yes ok, thank you.
My hypo kit is ready to go in case I need it.
He has been eating very well until tonight yes. Great appetite. Just tonight he is being a little "difficult" but I don't see any sign of nausea.
I will definitely do a +2.
I am thinking this is another bounce, what do you think?
It looked like his levels were kinda getting better...
 
If you remember, we had dropped the dose to 0.25U but then we went back to the 0.50U.
A few days later I lowered the dose again to 0.25U on the 25th (because of that +3 reading of 67).
Am I doing this correctly and should I continue with the 0.25U moving forward?
He seems to respond well on that during the day...
 
Now that he is a long term diabetic I would not drop unless he’s well under 60 or drops into the 60’s three times. Initially I had you drop with the 67 because the depot had not built yet. When you first start it takes 7 days to build the depot. Let’s see what happens when the bounce clears. If numbers are high still and the bounce clears I would go back to .50. If you had gotten a +2 the day he dropped to 67 you could have prevented him going under 68. When possible try to get a +2 and if it is lower by very much than the amps or pmps feed then to prevent a drop under 68. It will likely be an active cycle requiring you to feed the curve to try and get him to surf blue and green. Fast drops can cause a bounce as well as going lower than he’s used to being. Make sense?
 
Yes it makes sense, thank you for refreshing my mind about all this.
I will get more +2 readings moving forward.
When school starts (on the 9th) I won't be able to do that anymore...I will have to basically pray to the Gods that he is going to be ok, but I guess that I will worry about that when the time comes. I am not sure if my neighbour will want to come check on him like she did last year. Ash basically tried to scratch her and swatted at her. So she told me she is afraid of him. Ash has become very protective of Blaze, I had never seen him like this before. He actually literally tried to attack a friend of mine (who came to visit) becase she tried to pick Blaze up. Ash saw that and he went phycho.
Praying I can get him more stable by then...
 
Great. Please remove the question mark.

You won’t be able to test but you can set the auto feeder for while you are at work and we will have to guess as to what carbs need to go in and when. We have time for that.

It is funny how these animals get so protective of each other. Well I guess funny isn’t the right choice of words. :bighug:
 
Question mark removed :)
Unfortunately, Blaze does not eat out of the autofeeders anymore and Ash is the same. There was a little "accident" that happened when he was actually eating out of the autofeeder. The bowl moved over as he was eating, and since then he doesn't trust the feeder anymore. I saw it on the home camera. I just leave the food bowls out now
 
I did! And I was extremely disappointed in myself for giving him a fur shot this morning...and today's my bday and I am going out for dinner with bf...so I won't be able to do a proper +2 (it will have to be a +1.5). I will leave food out
 
Back
Top