08/27 Misty AMPS 310 +315 PMPS 284 +3 255 Dose?

rowena

Member Since 2019
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/07-29-misty-pmps-290-4-236-amps-292-6-293-bouncing.266420/

I’m thinking I need to increase Misty’s dose to 3.25. I contemplated it 2 weeks ago and then she went into the blue. She has t done that again.

something weird is going on with her though. She had a uti with lots of bacteria and had 4 rounds of antibiotics. I hoped it was gone, then she had blood in her urine and passed a clot a week ago. However the urine sample a day later was clear of blood or bacteria.

in any event, I thought I’d get your thoughts on it. I keep thinking she will Bounce down but she hasn’t.

thanks
 
Hi Rowena, you are holding doses too long. With TR, you can increase as often as every 3-4 days. Even with SLGS, you want to evaluate the dose every week and increase if the numbers are not where you want them to be. The rationale for not hanging on to a dose too long is that if numbers aren't where you want them, there's a tendency for glucose toxicity to develop. The term sounds a lot worse than it is. What this means is that your cat's body gets used to being in higher numbers and treats it as the "new normal." This makes it harder to get the numbers back to the real normal.

If you are following TR, you want to increase the dose every 3-4 days till you start seeing greens i.e. nadirs below 100.
 
Hi Rowena, you are holding doses too long. With TR, you can increase as often as every 3-4 days. Even with SLGS, you want to evaluate the dose every week and increase if the numbers are not where you want them to be. The rationale for not hanging on to a dose too long is that if numbers aren't where you want them, there's a tendency for glucose toxicity to develop. The term sounds a lot worse than it is. What this means is that your cat's body gets used to being in higher numbers and treats it as the "new normal." This makes it harder to get the numbers back to the real normal.

If you are following TR, you want to increase the dose every 3-4 days till you start seeing greens i.e. nadirs below 100.

thank you. I’ve got no excuse except I thought once her infection cleared she’d go back to where she was and I kept waiting for that to happen.
I don’t think I can do TR or SLSG. I sometimes have difficulty testing Misty or I’m at work and can’t do a mid cycle one. She seems to pick up on my stress and won’t let me touch her ears at those times or I mistime it and I only get one chance because she’s feisty. At least the weather is warming up now so cold ears should t be such a problem soon. The only way I can warm them is with my warm fingers , but sometimes my hands are like icicles and I forget or do t have time to warm them.
I donot want to make excuses. I’m doing as best as I can. She was diagnosed 3 years ago and we’ve come a long way since then. thanks for your time.
 
Back
Top