08/27 Jax-AMPS 165/+1 214/+2 232/+6 264/+8 279/+10 315/PMPS 288

JaxBenji

Member Since 2020
Yesterday

Hi! So we had our FIRST blue this morning. I realize ideally I would have held off on feeding but Jax chows down his breakfast (and I need a distraction to test...). In any case, I read the guidelines of skipping or reducing a dose and wasn't sure what to do.

I would rather give a reduced dose - do I go back to 1.5 just for this morning? or lower? We just started 1.75 yesterday (2 cycles in, this morning would have been 3).

Thanks in advance for any help.
 
Are you able to test again in an hour or so? I see 165 in your PMPS spot in your spreadsheet...is that correct, or is that your AM reading?
 
Are you able to test again in an hour or so? I see 165 in your PMPS spot in your spreadsheet...is that correct, or is to your AM reading?
Hi-Thanks for checking! Yes, I can test in an hour. And sorry - I was tired this morning and wasn't expecting a lower number :) I moved 165 to the correct AMPS spot (and I did two strips and the other was 167).
 
If you are able to monitor today, and have plenty of supplies and HC food, you should shoot the 1.75 units and get a +1 and +2. I have to go to work. I can't stay with you. Keep your subject line updated. I'll try to check in later.
 
If you are able to monitor today, and have plenty of supplies and HC food, you should shoot the 1.75 units and get a +1 and +2. I have to go to work. I can't stay with you. Keep your subject line updated. I'll try to check in later.

Okay - I can do that. I just rechecked the emergency list and I have Karo and super high carb food (Hills W/D) and I still have some Blue Wilderness Mature Cat (~10%). I have Karo syrup and syringe for feeding. I do not have a bulb syringe. I should be good? I'll give his normal dose in a few minutes.

Thank you both!
 
Plenty of test strips, too? If so you should be good to shoot. Check BG again in an hour and keep your spreadsheet and post title updated. You’ve got this!

PS: I’ve not had to personally use syrup, but it seems like some folks swipe it on kitty’s gums with a finger.
 
Nice job with the testing! Congratulations on your first blue! That's a nice comfortable number to shoot and you've gotten great support from other members :) Keep testing and enjoy the ride...looks like Jax has finally found out what's going on here and hopefully you'll see some nice numbers today :)
 
Okay, thank you everyone! I gave his 1.75 shot (~50 minutes later than usual) - so I'll test in about an hour.

@Erin and Moe Yes, I have plenty of strips! I should have mentioned that.

That blue lower number certainly woke me up lol.
 
So be sure to make a note in your SS that you'll be shooting later tonight to compensate for this late start...you'll want to back up in 15 minute increments until you're back to your regular time. I added a time column to my SS so I could keep track of times when we have to change our regular time...

Sounds like you're ready for the big day! Let's hope Jax is with the program too (nice blues or even a green today Jax)...no bouncing! :)
 
So be sure to make a note in your SS that you'll be shooting later tonight to compensate for this late start...you'll want to back up in 15 minute increments until you're back to your regular time. I added a time column to my SS so I could keep track of times when we have to change our regular time...

Sounds like you're ready for the big day! Let's hope Jax is with the program too (nice blues or even a green today Jax)...no bouncing! :)

Thank you for mentioning that! I was just updating my alarms for the new dosing time! And thank you for encouraging us - fingers crossed for a good day!
 
Yes, give his ears a break for a while. If you are concerned you can test at +4 to be sure he’s holding steady, but it looks like he’s in good shape..

Great job shooting your first blue, Susanne! :cool:
 
Yes, give his ears a break for a while. If you are concerned you can test at +4 to be sure he’s holding steady, but it looks like he’s in good shape..

Great job shooting your first blue, Susanne! :cool:
Okay - thank you :) and thanks for your support and being so patient with me! I'll check on him this morning but I'll plan to test at +6 for now.
 
+6 264

Jax seems to be doing just fine through the first half of the day - hurray! I was thinking of testing at +8 and +10 and then PMPS. I will keep things updated. Thank you so much for helping and nudging me along!
 
Good job! Even though we know that blues and greens are the goal, when you see that first blue after so many pinks and yellows and reds, it’s really scary shooting that lower number. Well done. :cool:
 
Good job! Even though we know that blues and greens are the goal, when you see that first blue after so many pinks and yellows and reds, it’s really scary shooting that lower number. Well done. :cool:
You are so right! I was just telling my husband I have train MY MIND too :) so grateful for the support :bighug:
 
Back
Top