08/27 Binx || AMPS 271, +4 113, +7 53 +7.25 58, +7.75 132

kelsey&binx

Member Since 2026
The remarks section of Binx’s SS today describe what happened. Background is just switched from my vet’s staggered dosing method to SLGS on Monday. First time dealing with low numbers, and I saw on the hypo print out sheet that you might need to reduce the dose or not shoot after a hypo event. My vet is closed on Thursdays, so I wanted to see what I should plan to do tonight for Binx’s dose. He also has a libre on, so I can attach that data if helpful.
 
Back to 1.0 units tonight. 53 on the Contour is still in normal blood sugar range, though getting low. You didn't technically need to give high carb food, though you did what most of us do when first seeing lower numbers. It's possible Binx will bounce. If you are uncertain about tonight, you can always get a +10 or +11 test tonight and post for help.
 
I see that your comments say you gave the shot an hour early today. An early shot can act a bit like an increase. However, with SLGS, you reduce the dose by 0.25 units when they go under 90. Regardless of why he went that low.
 
Back to 1.0 units tonight. 53 on the Contour is still in normal blood sugar range, though getting low. You didn't technically need to give high carb food, though you did what most of us do when first seeing lower numbers. It's possible Binx will bounce. If you are uncertain about tonight, you can always get a +10 or +11 test tonight and post for help.
Ok! I will pull back to 1U tonight. Yeah I think the libre alarm blaring really made me pull out all the stops. And then do I stay at 1U moving forward? I really do think the cause today was him being picky about his food moreso than the dose increase.
 
I see that your comments say you gave the shot an hour early today. An early shot can act a bit like an increase. However, with SLGS, you reduce the dose by 0.25 units when they go under 90. Regardless of why he went that low.
Ok that makes sense! It will be interesting to see where he ends up since 1.0 wasn’t getting him below 200 and 1.25 gave us these low numbers. Thank you for your help!!
 
I've been meaning to ask, are you home testing for ketones? Since he was originally diagnosed with DKA, it's a good idea to keep an eye on the ketones. Any appearance of ketones would change my dosing suggestions.
 
I've been meaning to ask, are you home testing for ketones? Since he was originally diagnosed with DKA, it's a good idea to keep an eye on the ketones. Any appearance of ketones would change my dosing suggestions.
Remission is the dream! Yes, I was testing with ketostix originally. My vet eventually said I didn’t need to anymore since he was more controlled. I would still test here and there when his numbers were high. I think I last tested last week the day or day after I did the fur shot.
 
Remission is the dream! Yes, I was testing with ketostix originally. My vet eventually said I didn’t need to anymore since he was more controlled. I would still test here and there when his numbers were high. I think I last tested last week the day or day after I did the fur shot.
I test on a regular basis every 3 days and if her BG is very high. Just for peace of mind.
Vets don’t seem to think we should stay on top of too many things regularly. But we like to keep close tabs on things around here 🥰
 
Back
Top