08/24 George AMPS 375 PMPS 275 *Cabergoline Rx

George’s Mom

Member Since 2022
yesterday

I think it’s time to up his dose. His #s are way high.

Talked to vet today. She is prescribing Cabergoline as follows:

“From what I can see is that the empirical dose being used is 10ug/kg by mouth once daily. I can order this in a liquid at 100ug/ml so his dose would be 0.5ml by mouth once daily.”

Just want to confirm that dose sounds right? George weighs about 10-11lbs so I think they’re prob using 5kg for dosing. 50ug daily would be .5 of 100ug/ml liquid. So seems right to me. But is this what Cabergoline kitty doses look like? Correct?

@Wendy&Neko @FrostD @tiffmaxee

Compounded cabergoline won’t be here for 2 weeks. Boo…

Proteinuria - I talked to vet about this too. She said that his ratio was high. Said something like .3 or .4 was normal. So he was a bit high. I relooked at urinalysis from 8-03 but I can’t make heads or tails of it. It doesn’t show the ratio but if it’s urine protein/creatinine ratio Then his protein was +3 and his creatinine was 2.6 so would’ve been 1.15 if I do my math right. She discussed putting him on Enalapril Maleate.

Planning to move to 4.5 in the morning if my post here is too late for a response tonight. @Wendy&Neko thanks for the articles. She read them all.
 
Urine protein/creatinine ratio is a separate add on test. You would have seen it on the bill as such. It's when Neko's urine protein got to +3 that we started getting the UPCR test done.

10-11 lbs is 4.5-5kg. Dose is 10 mcg/kg of cat, so he'd need 50 mcg a day. The amount of liquid he'd need would depend on the concentration of mcg in mL. It comes in differing concentrations. I've seen it compounded in varying concentrations. A couple posts talking about it:
Cabergoline as a possible treatment for acrocats: discussion and
Cabergoline dosing

I agree with the 4.5 units.
 
Urine protein/creatinine ratio is a separate add on test. You would have seen it on the bill as such. It's when Neko's urine protein got to +3 that we started getting the UPCR test done.
First, I started (didn’t finish) adding lab results to the Labs tab. Second, I reread about this and relooked start labs and there actually is a UPCR test on his 8/3 labs.
upload_2022-8-25_7-11-23.jpeg

Good to see my vet aligning with the smart people on this forum! (@Wendy&Neko ). So I think the Enalapril is supposed to help with that? My understanding is by lowering his blood pressure it will help reduce further kidney damage.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-8-25_7-11-23.jpeg
    upload_2022-8-25_7-11-23.jpeg
    59.7 KB · Views: 98
The only other thing I'd mention is most people here seem to start with the 10ug/kg every other day at first, and if theyre not seeing much they increase it to the daily dose.

(I'm not the best baseline here, it put Mr Kitty in remission and he's maintaining at 5ug/kg once a week)
 
Enalapril is an ACE inhibitor, for high blood pressure but also for proteinuria, a second problem. Neko was on benazapril, a similar drug, for her proteinuria. Her BP was OK.
 
The only other thing I'd mention is most people here seem to start with the 10ug/kg every other day at first, and if theyre not seeing much they increase it to the daily dose.

(I'm not the best baseline here, it put Mr Kitty in remission and he's maintaining at 5ug/kg once a week)
Good to know. Since it can cause some digestive issues, we should prob start slow. Thanks! And wow! Just half the daily dose once a week! Amazing! I hope it works for my poor little guy. This high glucose :spam: is for the birds!
 
Back
Top