08/23 Saoirse AMPS 9.3/167: How to Get Back on Schedule?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Critter Mom

Member Since 2014
HI all,

Saoirse and I are new to the Lantus TR group. Saoirse was previously being treated with Caninsulin but she switched to Lantus on 19 August.

I overslept this morning (exhaustion). Consequently Saoirse's morning Lantus dose was 2 hours behind schedule. I need to get her back to her regular dosage times. With a depot insulin I don't know what is a safe "step back" timewise. I would be grateful for advice on this.

Saoirse's numbers today (ALPHATRAK):

Third Cycle on 0.75 IU Lantus (increased from 0.5 IU)

AMPS - 9.3 (167)
AM+5 - 6.9 (124)
AM+9.5 - 8.2 (148)
 
With Lantus, typically you don't want to adjust more than 15 minutes per cycle or 30 minutes per day.

I have seen where some people have woken up late or unable to give at normal shot time and then they skipped that dose, dealt with higher numbers and went back to "normal" shooting schedule the following cycle.

So you could get back 45 minutes with today's PM cycle and then tomorrow's cycles.....not sure what your work schedule is like, but would that work for you?

I know some people have said something about an 18 hour schedule for a few days, which can mean shooting at weird times, but it gets em back on track. I am sure one of the more experienced members will be along to advise better than I have soon....but thought I would give you the little information I did have :)
 
Hi Molly,

Thanks for the reply. I am disabled so I am home all day, but I have issues with sleep due to my PTSD (as evidenced by this morning's frell-up :oops: ).

I'm a bit confused about the timings you mention. To clarify, would it be OK to give tonight's dose at AMS +11.25 instead of AMS +12? Or should it be AMS +0.5??? confused_cat
 
If you are wanting to go back DOWN to an earlier time, you would shoot at +11.75 at each cycle until you are back down to the shot time you want.....so if you want to go back two hours, you should be able to get back to that schedule by the Weds AM cycle if I did my math correctly....
 
Depending upon his numbers, you can shoot at +11.5 tonight and +12 tomorrow morning, and +11.5 tomorrow night and +12 the next morning and +11.5 the next night (so 30 minutes per 24 hours period), or you can shoot at 11.75 each cycle, until you are back on schedule.

Would that work for you?

If per chance, he goes really high in the morning (like over 300), then you could possibly shoot up to an hour early, but you would need to be up to monitor him as an early shot can act like a dose increase (that's why I said in "the morning").
 
Hi Dyana & Molly,

Thanks for the very welcome advice on the correct and safe way for me to get Saoirse's insulin times back to her normal schedule.

I gave tonight's dose slightly earlier than it was due. I think the small shift on each cycle might be better for her and it might be easier for me to keep track of. I'm trying to keep my girl as steady as possible. If I was to do the 30-minute advance, I'd prefer to do that on a daytime cycle so that I would be able to monitor her.

Hopefully once we're back to our normal schedule I won't muck up again. :oops:

Thank you both for your help. :smile:
 
It's fine to make your time adjustments whenever it's convenient for you. Like Molly mentioned, with numbers like Saorise's, making an adjustment of 15 min. at each shot time or 30 min. once a day is not likely to have a big effect on her numbers.
 
Thanks for the reassurance, Sienne. Saoirse had a couple of hypo near misses with Caninsulin so with the new insulin I'm very conscious of the overlap between doses. Also, because Saoirse has only been on it for a few days I don't have any data to refer to yet.

BTW, I noticed that one of your fur babies is called Gizmo. That was Saoirse's mum's name, too (although she tended to be called 'Gizzy'). :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top