08/23 Booger AMPS 341 +4372

Status
Not open for further replies.

MartinJA527

Member Since 2014
Good conversations yesterday regarding Booger's increase. (See Yesterday's News ) I had gone to bed before I got Julie's message regarding the new doses under 200 and my husband had gone ahead with the increase this morning. Fortunately I am off for a few days and I can monitor more closely. I can hopefully provide more numbers to fill in the gaps. Hoping for a good day today for everyone!
 
Since you are home to monitor I wouldn't worry about it. I hope the numbers come down while you are home to see it, but gently.
 
Thanks for the reassurance. So far hanging out in the pinks still today. I'm considering Julie's thoughts on going ahead and purchasing a new meter. I do keep looking back at the protocol and sometimes I forget which links refer to human meters vs AlphaTrak.. I did find the one that lists the protocol in both human meter and AT numbers.. and now have it printed. I think I've been looking at all those pinks/reds and not the spotty lower numbers too.. I have been getting discouraged at her not coming down and missing that she has been somewhat.. And not being here as often to spot check I haven't been able to see if she's come down at the later times.. I dunno..I hope we get the hang of it soon. Thanks again!
 
I really like my Relion Micro and my back-up Arkray. The strips fir the Arkray ate cheap and can be purchased from ADW on line. I can use the same strips in both meters and they use a small amount of blood.
 
we always encourage people to put in big letters if they are using an AT, but even so, i tend to look at the #s and automatically think in human numbers.

it was fine that you increased. I'd probably have increased tonight if nothing was lower in today's day cycle. I'd just hold this dose now and be watchful. It's not always clear-cut what to do with doses - as you saw, Chris interpreted the protocol and suggested increasing, and i interpreted it as holding a little longer. i suspect the increase would've been inevitable.

It's a little foggy what the guidelines mean about holding the dose when you see nadirs in blue numbers (which would be roughly 135-267 AT) - does it mean ONE blue number? does it mean several blue nadirs? We do the best we can at helping interpret it.

julie
 
I forget that myself.. that there are people using different methods of testing. It's so much information to take in for each kitty but I am forever thankful for everyone's input. I am thankful for each of you and I value what everyone says. She has been fine today.. and high.

That was my initial question.. Should I wait and see if she was to come down to those numbers again before increasing or go ahead with it? I had remembered the bounce can last about 6 cycles and we had just passed that.
 
following the protocol (re-evaluating every 6 cycles and deciding if you should continue to hold or increase) includes allowing for bounces - so you look for what the nadirs are in between the bounces. that can be tricky to see when you're new, so always feel like you can ask. that's why so many of us stay and help others learn.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top