? 08/22 Baxter | amps 55, +.15 57 first week of cabergoline.. dosing?

Cabergoline typically takes a while to build, about a week at once a day dosing, whereas you are giving every other day. Some cats take months to show a change. Side note, could you put cabergoline EOD and the start date in your signature? We like to have quick access to information that can impact dosing. Some people even put a blank line in their SS and label it "start cabergoline" or something like that.

However, when cabergoline does start working, it can be a wild ride down the dosing ladder. For that reason, I suggest reducing whenever you see an under 70, just to give yourself a little bit of margin. Like with Neko after SRT, I occasionally did back to back reductions, or larger reductions than TR says. Some people find they have to skip or give a half dose to drain the depot. Fortunately, Baxter doesn't have a huge depot like some acros.

You may find cabergoline works for a while, takes a break, then starts working again. It is always easier to be conservative for dosing, much easier to increase if you reduce too much than fight any lows. Take good notes of what how much, when and what extra carbs you give, so you can learn Baxter's reaction to carbs. This will help you in future. For any lurkers, this suggestion is for Baxter only as he is a special case of an acrocat taking cabergoline.
 
Cabergoline typically takes a while to build, about a week at once a day dosing, whereas you are giving every other day. Some cats take months to show a change. Side note, could you put cabergoline EOD and the start date in your signature? We like to have quick access to information that can impact dosing. Some people even put a blank line in their SS and label it "start cabergoline" or something like that.

However, when cabergoline does start working, it can be a wild ride down the dosing ladder. For that reason, I suggest reducing whenever you see an under 70, just to give yourself a little bit of margin. Like with Neko after SRT, I occasionally did back to back reductions, or larger reductions than TR says. Some people find they have to skip or give a half dose to drain the depot. Fortunately, Baxter doesn't have a huge depot like some acros.

You may find cabergoline works for a while, takes a break, then starts working again. It is always easier to be conservative for dosing, much easier to increase if you reduce too much than fight any lows. Take good notes of what how much, when and what extra carbs you give, so you can learn Baxter's reaction to carbs. This will help you in future. For any lurkers, this suggestion is for Baxter only as he is a special case of an acrocat taking cabergoline.
Yeah, I thought that was the case with cabergoline- that it doesn't start working for atleast a few weeks. He just dropped below 50 and I gave him half can off the gravy lovers again. Looks like I'm gonna have to stock up on that. Worried because it's not good for his kidneys but the ckd carb foods I think contain longer chain/complex carbs, then after honey he spikes later and throws up.
 
Has he been diagnosed with CKD? Once Neko had her CKD diagnosis, I moved to the Weruva products. Grandma's Chicken Soup is 20+% carbs and the Cats in the Kitchen pouches in the high teens so a good option for Neko most of the time. And they were low phosphorus.

Just for extreme examples, take a look at Mr. Kitty's spreadsheet starting July 1st when he started cabergoline. He was getting cabergoline every day, but was done with it (and insulin) after 11 days. Marvin, another example, was the first kitty here to start cabergoline. Here is his spreadsheet, starting cab on June 22, 2017. He was doing cab every day, and we were just figuring out from him what cabergoline could do and what strategies we should use for dosing. He started responding fairly quickly. He was done with insulin before 4 weeks was up. Both those examples show extreme reactions, but I show them just so you know what could possibly happen and that you need to be vigilant with monitoring. I can also find spreadsheets where it took 2-3 months to start seeing a difference. Every acro cat responds differently.
 
Has he been diagnosed with CKD? Once Neko had her CKD diagnosis, I moved to the Weruva products. Grandma's Chicken Soup is 20+% carbs and the Cats in the Kitchen pouches in the high teens so a good option for Neko most of the time. And they were low phosphorus.

Just for extreme examples, take a look at Mr. Kitty's spreadsheet starting July 1st when he started cabergoline. He was getting cabergoline every day, but was done with it (and insulin) after 11 days. Marvin, another example, was the first kitty here to start cabergoline. Here is his spreadsheet, starting cab on June 22, 2017. He was doing cab every day, and we were just figuring out from him what cabergoline could do and what strategies we should use for dosing. He started responding fairly quickly. He was done with insulin before 4 weeks was up. Both those examples show extreme reactions, but I show them just so you know what could possibly happen and that you need to be vigilant with monitoring. I can also find spreadsheets where it took 2-3 months to start seeing a difference. Every acro cat responds differently.
You know, Baxter's phosphorous values never came back high on his bloodwork, but the vet said I need to feed atleast moderately low protien. I can't remember what stage that is recommended but my vet just said "moderate" ckd for a while and recently she said 2-3. His labwork pretty consistently shows high creatinine and bun.

Did the weruva grandmas chicken soup get Neko's bg up? I'm not sure if Baxter responds a whole lot to carbs but I think it might also depend on the "type" of carbs... we did the lotus turkey pate before and that just upset his tummy and hardly made a dent in his bg until hours later.
 
Vet diagnosed ckd a little over a year ago. His values have been relatively stable since then after switching off of fancy feast pate to the fussie cat market fresh turkey and guineafowl (had been under two other names that were discontinued)
 
Could you add CKD to the signature line as well. The Grandma's Chicken Soup was too many carbs for Neko, she didn't need as much, which is why I moved to the Cats in the Kitchen pouches.
 
Has he been diagnosed with CKD? Once Neko had her CKD diagnosis, I moved to the Weruva products. Grandma's Chicken Soup is 20+% carbs and the Cats in the Kitchen pouches in the high teens so a good option for Neko most of the time. And they were low phosphorus.

Just for extreme examples, take a look at Mr. Kitty's spreadsheet starting July 1st when he started cabergoline. He was getting cabergoline every day, but was done with it (and insulin) after 11 days. Marvin, another example, was the first kitty here to start cabergoline. Here is his spreadsheet, starting cab on June 22, 2017. He was doing cab every day, and we were just figuring out from him what cabergoline could do and what strategies we should use for dosing. He started responding fairly quickly. He was done with insulin before 4 weeks was up. Both those examples show extreme reactions, but I show them just so you know what could possibly happen and that you need to be vigilant with monitoring. I can also find spreadsheets where it took 2-3 months to start seeing a difference. Every acro cat responds differently.


Do you think I should go ahead and reduce his dose more now since his bg was so low after 5.25u?
 
I see you reduced by 0.75 unit tonight. Since today was the 1st dose at 5.25 units, that was probably the 5.75 unit depot producing the limes today. I might have reduced the dose, but not by a full 0.75 units.
 
Back
Top