08/16 Milo AMPS 151, +2 101, +3 74, +3.75 70, +4.5 74, +6 61, +7 140, +9 171

Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

Member Since 2020
Good morning! After all the helpful advice, I didn't give Milo his shot yesterday before heading out for a 12-hour round-trip to finally see my parents. MY neighbour fed him and reassured me that he was acting normally mid-cycle. He's none the worse for wear today and he was in the blue this morning. His numbers seem to be coming down at 3.5 units Lantus (I finally get to see some greens!) He was eating well this morning and so I shot, with confidence. I will be around today to be able to test and see how he's doing.

My youngest son came home after two and a half weeks away and was able to see his kitty finally acting normally, snuggling with him. That was best moment in months! I know I have said it a million times but I truly appreciate all the help here. We love our kitty and helping him get well has been (and continues to be!) a journey well-worth the undertaking!
IMG_9179.JPG


https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-117-4-59-4-75-88-home-alone-tomorrow.233607/
 

Attachments

  • IMG_9179.JPG
    IMG_9179.JPG
    42.6 KB · Views: 108
What a great report. that skipped shot didn't even really phase Milo!!! And now you get to see what happens with a missed shot. Love data!!!

What a wonderful report. Happy you were finally able to see your parents and the kiddo sees a different Milo!! Purrrfect!!!:bighug:
Have a great day:)
 
Thanks! We did have a good visit but it was a very long day. My neighbour was reassuring coming and checking in and doing the feeding. I'm so glad you convinced me to go for no shot in the morning or I would have been stressing more about Milo. He's super hungry the last day as well as this morning. Is that connected to BG or just his finicky ways? I've started adding to his SS the kind of raw food so I can see if there's a pattern to when he eats well and when he doesn't. Sometimes salmon or duck is a hit and sometimes not. It depends...
Also, I'm trying to figure out calipers (where and what to buy) in the hopes that we might need to fine tune his dosing but I'll need a lot more help to figure this out. I've done some searches but can't find a sticky, unless I'm just missing it.
 
Milow dropped from 151 AMPS to 101 @ +2. I gave him a little more raw duck to hopefully make the drop less dramatic but there's practically no carbs in the raw food so is this a good move or not? Should I hold off to make sure he'll eat in case he goes too low? I also have a LC, MC (FF) and HC (leftover W/D from the vet) How significant is that drop? Last time he dropped we thought it was connected with not eating his breakfast but this seems to be following that pattern again. I feel slightly more more confident this time but I think I should be on my toes. I'll likely be asking for more help!
 
Also, I'm trying to figure out calipers (where and what to buy) in the hopes that we might need to fine tune his dosing but I'll need a lot more help to figure this out. I've done some searches but can't find a sticky, unless I'm just missing it.
That sticky is allusive. I had it saved as a favorite for a long time...didn't know where it was on the forum. Well, the caliper link is located in the 2nd sticky from the top....New to the forum start here. There's a lot of different links in that sticky. But here's the caliper dosing sticky.
My DH already had calipers so, I didn't have to purchase them. they came from harbor freight though. Here' another link for the calipers I use
Carla got you the info too:p;)
 
Milow dropped from 151 AMPS to 101 @ +2. I feel slightly more more confident this time but I think I should be on my toes. I'll likely be asking for more help!
Im wondering if with the skipped dose you might not see as big of a drop over this cycle as you did last time? Perhaps his insulin reserves are a bit lower now? Anyway it will be interesting to see what that next reading is. Sounds like you are well prepared:) Good luck!
 
Milow dropped from 151 AMPS to 101 @ +2. I gave him a little more raw duck to hopefully make the drop less dramatic but there's practically no carbs in the raw food so is this a good move or not? Should I hold off to make sure he'll eat in case he goes too low? I also have a LC, MC (FF) and HC (leftover W/D from the vet) How significant is that drop? Last time he dropped we thought it was connected with not eating his breakfast but this seems to be following that pattern again. I feel slightly more more confident this time but I think I should be on my toes. I'll likely be asking for more help!
That's not a big drop. I think feeding like you normally do it good. I'd test in a hour at the latest and see where Milo is.
 
Glad you got out to see you parents. Milo seems to have recovered well. Sometimes cats will respond strongly after a skipped shot. That is a decent drop, over 20% from AMPS. I'd test no later than one hour from now.

There aren't Harbour Freights in Canada, so you have to look elsewhere for calipers. I sent my husband to his favourite metal and woodworking tool shops. Not sure if you have Summit Tools or KMS Tools there, but Princess Auto and even Canadian Tire have them, though they are quite pricy at the latter. The Canadian Tire ones are also rather clunky and might not work well. You want to get ones where the inside measuring jaws (the small arms), are as narrow as possible if you are using BD syringes. And try to find a pair where you can lock in the setting. They also can be bought on line. Here is one such example.
 
Glad you got out to see you parents. Milo seems to have recovered well. Sometimes cats will respond strongly after a skipped shot. That is a decent drop, over 20% from AMPS. I'd test no later than one hour from now.

There aren't Harbour Freights in Canada, so you have to look elsewhere for calipers. I sent my husband to his favourite metal and woodworking tool shops. Not sure if you have Summit Tools or KMS Tools there, but Princess Auto and even Canadian Tire have them, though they are quite pricy at the latter. The Canadian Tire ones are also rather clunky and might not work well. You want to get ones where the inside measuring jaws (the small arms), are as narrow as possible if you are using BD syringes. And try to find a pair where you can lock in the setting. They also can be bought on line. Here is one such example.

I am using Sol syringes at the moment from the vet. I was actually just considering these calipers (4"...might be easier than 6"??) from Amazon. https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B01BHHFXB0/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20 but if the others are better, you know best!
 
The calipers you are looking at look fine. I haven't used the Sol syringes, but images I saw looks like they don't have the "lip" that the BD does, so should be easier to measure.

Not all raw foods are zero carbs. I deliberately fed some that was in the 3-5% carbs ranges. So what you feed now depends on %carbs, not whether raw or canned.
 
He's doing great! I'm not great yet at steering with food but I'm trying. I figured he was heading back up at +4.5 so I didn't test until +6 and he dropped to 61. I guess that was the food wearing off?? I've given a bit of MC plus raw duck. Maybe I should have just gone LC since we're at or close to his nadir....? I see 3.4 (World numbers) and I panicked a little then thought it through...
 
I've moved the post from your other thread over here. We ask (due to numbers on this forum) that you just do one post a day. Modify the subject line to keep it up to date and add any new questions you have.

As for tomorrow, do you have an autofeeder? If not, can you freeze some food to leave out and thaw in time? Another option is just feeding MC or higher LC for food. That way he'd be a little higher, but the depot won't be depleted.
 
I've moved the post from your other thread over here. We ask (due to numbers on this forum) that you just do one post a day. Modify the subject line to keep it up to date and add any new questions you have.

As for tomorrow, do you have an autofeeder? If not, can you freeze some food to leave out and thaw in time? Another option is just feeding MC or higher LC for food. That way he'd be a little higher, but the depot won't be depleted.
Sorry, I didn’t realize that even if the threads were different they should all be posted together. I can leave out some MC food and check as soon as I get home. Thank you!
 
Sorry, I didn’t realize that even
No worries - it's just that if you have two threads for the day you'll also get people posting on both which makes it hard to follow what's happening now.

Good luck with the hospital visit tomorrow. I hope you get to go in too.
 
Back
Top