08/15 Spooky AMPS 278 PMPS 155 Dose Help Again Please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

koala kim

Member Since 2012
After another eventful testing episode, I am again asking for help.

The vet had decided on Monday to up his dose to 1.5u twice a day. Based on advice here, he has only received that dose once.

This morning, I gave him 1u. Based on this evening's number, should I give him .5u instead of 1u? Or, since it it below 200, no shot again tonight?

I again apologize for the lack of good data on his SS, but testing Spooky is like trying to catch a pig in mud. :roll: Twice a day is truly all we can do. And- I think poor Spook's ears have had it. :sad:

Thank you in advance!
 
Here is a link to yesterday's condo. We do this so you can trace back to see what's been going on with Spooky.

It will be difficult to give dosing advice without more testing data. Can you try again in 30 min?
Liz
 
Anne & Zener said:
Here is a link to yesterday's condo. We do this so you can trace back to see what's been going on with Spooky.

It will be difficult to give dosing advice without more testing data. Can you try again in 30 min?
Liz
Thanks Liz. I did not realize I should not have continued the conversation on yesterday's. ohmygod_smile

Unfortunately, no. My husband has already left. It took us half an hour and two tries to get this last test.

Is there some other place we can try testing perhaps besides his ears or paws? We haven't tried the paws yet because we're not sure how he'll react. He's ready to kill us now over the testings on the ears we think. :shock:
 
It's standard to open one condo each day and include a link to the previous day's condo so advice givers can easily go back and see what's been going on with the kitty. So you are exactly correct with this condo.

I don't know about other places to test. I think the ears are the best.

I can't give you any dosing advice. If you delay the shot any, the morning should should be 12 hours later. If it were me and I couldn't test, I would skip the shot. That is the safest thing for Spooky. Perhaps someone else will have other thoughts.
Liz
 
Thank you Liz & Rhiannon.

Spooky is in his 'chair', next to me, sleeping. <3
I'll skip the shot again tonight.
 
I read Spooky's profile and noticed something about a dental issue and the vet wants to wait until Spooky is stable to treat it? Many cats here have had dental issues and that causes the BGs to be higher. Once the cat has a dental and has bad teeth pulled and good teeth cleaned, the numbers come down. Actually, the numbers won't get better until the dental issues are resolved. Just something to think about.

That's great that you've switched to wet food. And everybody switched fairly easily? It took us almost a year before both out kitties would eat wet food with gusto. :roll:

In the long run, it will be an advantage to have different schedules for you and DH, in terms of being able to test. Right now, not so much. :roll: Hang in there, it will get better as you learn more.
Liz
 
Sorry. Your other condo got bumped up and there were posts from today. I didn't see this condo.

The 155 is safe to shoot IF you are able to test at night. You really need to get at least one test during the both the AM and PM cycle. Many cats experience lower numbers at night so getting a test during the evening is very important. Further, if you don't test, you're missing half of your data.

It also looks like you are adjusting your dose based on the pre-shot test numbers. With Lantus, dosing is based on the nadir -- the lowest point of the cycle. This is why getting spot checks is important. In addition, by changing your dose and not allowing the dose to settle, you're going to get wonky numbers.

I don't think you're ready to shoot numbers that are below 100. As long as you will test during the evening cycle, you should be able to shoot numbers that are in the lower to mid-blues.

(Also, you can widen the remarks column on your SS. That way, the cells with your test data won't be so long. If you run your cursor over the row with the letters of the alphabet, you'll see a symbol that looks sort of like l-> and you can drag the right margin of a column to widen it.)
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Sorry. Your other condo got bumped up and there were posts from today. I didn't see this condo.

The 155 is safe to shoot IF you are able to test at night. You really need to get at least one test during the both the AM and PM cycle. Many cats experience lower numbers at night so getting a test during the evening is very important. Further, if you don't test, you're missing half of your data.

It also looks like you are adjusting your dose based on the pre-shot test numbers. With Lantus, dosing is based on the nadir -- the lowest point of the cycle. This is why getting spot checks is important. In addition, by changing your dose and not allowing the dose to settle, you're going to get wonky numbers.

I don't think you're ready to shoot numbers that are below 100. As long as you will test during the evening cycle, you should be able to shoot numbers that are in the lower to mid-blues.

(Also, you can widen the remarks column on your SS. That way, the cells with your test data won't be so long. If you run your cursor over the row with the letters of the alphabet, you'll see a symbol that looks sort of like l-> and you can drag the right margin of a column to widen it.)
Thanks Sienne.

If I shoot now, the shot will be 1 1/2 hours late. Should I just skip then?

I do understand the importance of having spot checks in between. But there is no way on this green earth Spooky will let us test him by ourselves. We have tried a few times, and two people are needed to handle him. He gets the kitty burrito treatment. Even then, he will growl and hiss. For his curve Sunday, he snapped at us. :sad:

I appreciate all the help. I do understand it's not the most accurate, based on what little data I have. But right now- it's truly all we can get from Spooky.
 
Anne & Zener said:
I read Spooky's profile and noticed something about a dental issue and the vet wants to wait until Spooky is stable to treat it? Many cats here have had dental issues and that causes the BGs to be higher. Once the cat has a dental and has bad teeth pulled and good teeth cleaned, the numbers come down. Actually, the numbers won't get better until the dental issues are resolved. Just something to think about.

That's great that you've switched to wet food. And everybody switched fairly easily? It took us almost a year before both out kitties would eat wet food with gusto. :roll:

In the long run, it will be an advantage to have different schedules for you and DH, in terms of being able to test. Right now, not so much. :roll: Hang in there, it will get better as you learn more.
Liz
Thanks Liz. I will call the vet and ask when his dental can be scheduled. :smile:

Thank goodness yes- they switched fairly easily. I left the big communal dry bowl out but did not refill it. Once it was empty, I picked it up and put it away. Spooky mourned the loss for one day, and BearBear for two. Voodoo was ecstatic that her humans finally picked up on the fact she was meant to eat wet. :lol:

Thanks for the encouragement. I thought we had a decent routine going, but last week, Spooky blew that theory out of the water. :sad:
 
Thank you Liz for posting that!

We had both watched it last month, and I *thought* I had it down pat. Now, after watching it again, I think I may be going in too far on his ear when I test. It looks like Buddy's human is lancing on the very edge, is that correct?

Poor Spook! No wonder he doesn't want his test! :sad:
 
Yes!! You want to test as close to the edge of the ear as you can. There are fewer nerve endings along the edge of the ear.

Just a thought re. testing. If you were to burrito Spooky and then position him between you and the arm of a sofa or chair so he was wedged in, do you think that would then be possible for one person to test him?
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Yes!! You want to test as close to the edge of the ear as you can. There are fewer nerve endings along the edge of the ear.

Just a thought re. testing. If you were to burrito Spooky and then position him between you and the arm of a sofa or chair so he was wedged in, do you think that would then be possible for one person to test him?
I think this is where I have messed up. Big time. Poor baby! No wonder he didn't want to be tested. :sad:

Spooky has always been kind of claustrophobic. He has never been a cuddle kitty, and if he feels too closed in, will freak. Which I'm sure the burrito doesn't help any with that. However, we tried the casual approach; no burrito, while he was stretched out in his 'chair', and that did not go well. At all. :shock:

However, once I can get him comfortable with the testing, which may go better once I try testing the edge, then I can try your suggestion. Perhaps at a time when we're not ready to test, just to see how he reacts.
 
The other thing to try is putting him on a higher surface -- the kitchen counter or the vanity in the bathroom. Sometimes, having your cat on a higher surface is more "formal" and it makes the process easier.

I also can understand why a cat doesn't want to be restrained.
 
Kim, you are doing a great job. You will figure things out and it will get easier. Just keep plugging away. Everyone said that to us when we first came here and I found it hard to believe. But it will. Ni ni.
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top