08/15 Regs amps 260 +2.5 253 + 6 320

Hi Britta! I usually always grab a +2 because it’s a great indicator of how active the cycle will be.

This link explains it well: The Basics: New to the group? start here!
Just scroll towards the bottom where it says “Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus and glargine biosimilars cycle:”

An average pink/yellow day in the beginning isn’t a bad thing! Better than Red/Black numbers right? Regs just needs alittle more time is all🤗
 
8/9 Regs AMPS 289 +4 393 +6 379 Question about Lantus timing
08/10 Regs first night SLGS PMPS 371 +9 305 AMPS 407
08/14 Regs AMPS 248 +5.5 135 +8 197 +10 221 PMPS 339

Hi Britta, I've linked your previous posts above for continuity--people often will need to look back at Regs' history before offering guidance, so it's convenient to post the previous day's link each day. Moving forward, you'll only need to link the previous day's post in your daily post since I've cobbled them all here for you.

As I mentioned yesterday, the +2/+3 is a good test to grab because Lantus typically onsets (meaning the insulin 'kicks in') at that point. The +2/+3 can often give an indication of whether or not the cycle is going to be active and in which direction it might go (there are no guarantees with this--it's just a little guideline that often helps us). If the +2/+3 shot is lower than 20% of the preshot number, that indicates a possible active cycle of lower numbers. If it's the same, like today the +2 was nearly flat in comparison to the preshot, it can indicate a regular Lantus cycle with some downward momentum. If it's 20% higher than the preshot, then the bg numbers might be higher. Today, even though his +2 was flat compared to the preshot, Regs bounced up at +6, and my guess is that he is bouncing from those lower blue numbers that he experienced yesterday, and that he's not used to experiencing. Bounces can last 4-6 cycles.

With that higher +6, I'm with you that it's going to be "an average day" for Regs. What was your reasoning for opting for SLGS over TR? As long as you are feeding all wet food (no kibble) and testing about as frequently as you currently are, he is eligible for TR, which allows you to take increases more frequently, which might get Regs into better numbers faster.
 
Hi Britta! I usually always grab a +2 because it’s a great indicator of how active the cycle will be.

This link explains it well: The Basics: New to the group? start here!
Just scroll towards the bottom where it says “Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus and glargine biosimilars cycle:”

An average pink/yellow day in the beginning isn’t a bad thing! Better than Red/Black numbers right? Regs just needs alittle more time is all🤗
Hey Sara, Thank you so much for the link. This example curve is super interesting but today is really not an active cycle. But you are right in the beginning we had many red and blacks and no yellows at all. Especially until a month ago he was on Vetsulin, and there he always had so high pres and dropped so much during the days, I was really worried that this could not be good for his CHF. So with this numbers I really shouldn't complain.

EVEN a little more blues would be great but I guess that brings time, tomorrow I plan to do a whole curve to see where we are

PS So sorry I misspelled Khloe in my last post!!
 
8/9 Regs AMPS 289 +4 393 +6 379 Question about Lantus timing
08/10 Regs first night SLGS PMPS 371 +9 305 AMPS 407
08/14 Regs AMPS 248 +5.5 135 +8 197 +10 221 PMPS 339

Hi Britta, I've linked your previous posts above for continuity--people often will need to look back at Regs' history before offering guidance, so it's convenient to post the previous day's link each day. Moving forward, you'll only need to link the previous day's post in your daily post since I've cobbled them all here for you.

As I mentioned yesterday, the +2/+3 is a good test to grab because Lantus typically onsets (meaning the insulin 'kicks in') at that point. The +2/+3 can often give an indication of whether or not the cycle is going to be active and in which direction it might go (there are no guarantees with this--it's just a little guideline that often helps us). If the +2/+3 shot is lower than 20% of the preshot number, that indicates a possible active cycle of lower numbers. If it's the same, like today the +2 was nearly flat in comparison to the preshot, it can indicate a regular Lantus cycle with some downward momentum. If it's 20% higher than the preshot, then the bg numbers might be higher. Today, even though his +2 was flat compared to the preshot, Regs bounced up at +6, and my guess is that he is bouncing from those lower blue numbers that he experienced yesterday, and that he's not used to experiencing. Bounces can last 4-6 cycles.

With that higher +6, I'm with you that it's going to be "an average day" for Regs. What was your reasoning for opting for SLGS over TR? As long as you are feeding all wet food (no kibble) and testing about as frequently as you currently are, he is eligible for TR, which allows you to take increases more frequently, which might get Regs into better numbers faster.
Dear Mary. Thank you so much for posting the older links in this post. I did not even think about that.

I will try to do the +2/3 as often as I can. Regs is getting his insulin around 8am/pm and unfortunately or fortunately, depending,I have to be at work at 9. It's just a 10 min drive so I am mostly able to come home and test his glucose and feed him for lunch, but there is no way I could test him every day after 2 hours.

I will make a 2 hour curve tomorrow to see where we are, even I'm not sure with this different kind of cycles if thats even worth it. I figured out Regs has most time very late nadirs, so sometimes the pre is the lowest point. Your explanation is super helpful what the +2 can indicate, maybe I should think about switching his shot time to 6 am/pm that I can always get that number before leaving. I did not even think he could be in a bounce but the night values and today could absolutely explain it.

In the beginning I really thought about TR but then I got spooked by the low number he had one morning and I'm just concerned he drops too low at night or when I'm at work and can not help. I try to watch the cat cam but most times he is just sleeping out of camera reach and I start worrying he collapsed somewhere :rolleyes: He is just getting FF pate, flaked and chunked, sometimes a bit Sheba pate and as a treat ff gems what should carbwise not be terrible either, I think. I completely cut out dry food because he does not know a limit and continues eating until the bowl is empty. I would love for him to have more blues and maybe a higher green some time, but with his chf I assume I need to be a bit more careful.
 
Hey Sara, Thank you so much for the link. This example curve is super interesting but today is really not an active cycle. But you are right in the beginning we had many red and blacks and no yellows at all. Especially until a month ago he was on Vetsulin, and there he always had so high pres and dropped so much during the days, I was really worried that this could not be good for his CHF. So with this numbers I really shouldn't complain.

EVEN a little more blues would be great but I guess that brings time, tomorrow I plan to do a whole curve to see where we are

PS So sorry I misspelled Khloe in my last post!!
Oh I agree with you that today wasn’t a active cycle, I was more so linking it to show why +2s are important but Mary has explained it very well😁
My Khloe was also on Vetsulin (and Bexacat before that) and had some wild swings on Vetsulin so I understand how you feel.

🤞🏻for more blues soon and Goodluck with the curve tomorrow!

And it’s ok about the misspelling, no biggie ☺️
 
Dear Mary. Thank you so much for posting the older links in this post. I did not even think about that.

I will try to do the +2/3 as often as I can. Regs is getting his insulin around 8am/pm and unfortunately or fortunately, depending,I have to be at work at 9. It's just a 10 min drive so I am mostly able to come home and test his glucose and feed him for lunch, but there is no way I could test him every day after 2 hours.

I will make a 2 hour curve tomorrow to see where we are, even I'm not sure with this different kind of cycles if thats even worth it. I figured out Regs has most time very late nadirs, so sometimes the pre is the lowest point. Your explanation is super helpful what the +2 can indicate, maybe I should think about switching his shot time to 6 am/pm that I can always get that number before leaving. I did not even think he could be in a bounce but the night values and today could absolutely explain it.

In the beginning I really thought about TR but then I got spooked by the low number he had one morning and I'm just concerned he drops too low at night or when I'm at work and can not help. I try to watch the cat cam but most times he is just sleeping out of camera reach and I start worrying he collapsed somewhere :rolleyes: He is just getting FF pate, flaked and chunked, sometimes a bit Sheba pate and as a treat ff gems what should carbwise not be terrible either, I think. I completely cut out dry food because he does not know a limit and continues eating until the bowl is empty. I would love for him to have more blues and maybe a higher green some time, but with his chf I assume I need to be a bit more careful.
One thing to note is that you can't be certain about late nadirs because you aren't testing earlier in the cycle, especially in the PM cycles. He might be experiencing a double nadir, which means there is a lower number later in the cycle, but not as low as the nadir. But you have no way of knowing if his nadir occurs earlier in the cycle unless you grab some earlier tests in the cycle.
 
One thing to note is that you can't be certain about late nadirs because you aren't testing earlier in the cycle, especially in the PM cycles. He might be experiencing a double nadir, which means there is a lower number later in the cycle, but not as low as the nadir. But you have no way of knowing if his nadir occurs earlier in the cycle unless you grab some earlier tests in the cycle.
Very good point I think I understand what you mean. I guess the curve tomorrow should give us a little insight on that but I will also try to take a couple more times in the PM cycle. One day I just want to sleep... 😭
 
Very good point I think I understand what you mean. I guess the curve tomorrow should give us a little insight on that but I will also try to take a couple more times in the PM cycle. One day I just want to sleep... 😭
I get the need to sleep!!! Most all of us do. I test Jude at 7am and 7pm; then I'm able to grab a +2 before I head to work. On the weekends, I often go back to sleep after the a.m. test, if I'm able o_O
 
Back
Top