08/15 Marvin AMPS~322 +3~313 +6~320 +9~326 PMPS~356

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marvin

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone,

Just wondering if anyone can shed some light on why Marv's levels have been so high lately? We were doing so well for a while there until the insulin got to the 28-30 day mark. Even with a new insulin, we still haven't been able to get back on track. Please help!

Thanks,
Carolyn
 
I think you are holding your doses too long. It looks like you are holding Marvin's doses for 5 days. If you're following the Tight Regulation Protocol, you'll want to evaluate the dose a bit sooner:

Increasing the dose:

  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Unless the nadir is under 200, you hold the dose for 3 days. Since it looks like the nadirs are in the 200s, you would increase by 0.25u (not 0.5u) after 3 days/6 cycles.

It may be that your insulin was going bad. According to the manufacturer, Lantus should be discarded after 28 days. Most of us get longer use from a pen provided it is stored in the refrigerator, hasn't been shaken or frozen, and generally, is handled gently.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top