08/15 Cooper AMPS 249 +1 270 PMPS 352 +2 279 +4 229

Gabrielle17

Member Since 2023
It's only Tuesday? Ugh! lol

Cooper has another low pre-shot, yay!

Vet went well yesterday. They said he is looking good and to keep doing what I'm doing. This is a new vet, so when he came in, he said, "Wow...Cooper loved the treat we gave him. He tried to eat the packaging." Yep, that's my boy. :rolleyes:

Unfortunately, he did say it sounded like Cooper has a heart murmur...we decided to see if we can get his diabetes a little more controlled before we really address that.
 
Good to see the lower preshot. I'm glad the vet was impressed.
I don't know if I would wait until his diabetes is better controlled before seeing someone about his heart murmur. I'll tag @Wendy&Neko to ask her advice on that.
 
No reason to wait until his diabetes is better controlled to investigate the heart. In fact, if there is something brewing there, it's much better to deal with it earlier than wait for it to get worse. Says the voice of experience who had a civvie with a murmur, had his first echocardiogram, then I was slow to book his follow up echo, due to Christmas holidays. Two days before his scheduled follow up echo, he had a thromboembolism and had to be PTS. Entirely preventable if he'd been on anti clotting drugs. Not saying all this to scare you, but hearts are tricky and cats can hide heart issues until too late to treat. The second reason for getting an echo done by a cardiologist vet, is that the vet may find it's a benign age related thing, and you don't need to worry about it. That's what happened to Neko, so we just had to get the vet to periodically monitor her heart to make sure it wasn't getting any worse. And I got peace of mind from that knowledge.

One other possibility, has Cooper had recent blood work? Heart issues can be seen with hyperthyroidism, so would be good to have a T4 test if he hasn't recently. The other bloodwork and cheaper option to an echo is a Cardiopet ProBNP test which can tell you some things about the heart. It's also something your vet can do without the specialist.
 
One other possibility, has Cooper had recent blood work? Heart issues can be seen with hyperthyroidism, so would be good to have a T4 test if he hasn't recently.

I believe he had this checked in March before he was diagnosed with diabetes, because we were thinking it might be hyperthyroidism. Do you think this is recent enough or should I possibly get it done again?

The other bloodwork and cheaper option to an echo is a Cardiopet ProBNP test which can tell you some things about the heart.

I appreciate this! I will call them and ask them about this, see what they think. I definitely don't want anything to happen that could have been prevented. I'm so sorry about your babe that had the thromboembolism. I'm glad Neko is doing well. ❤️
 
Back
Top