08/14 George AMPS 313; PMPS 72 (libre) 105 (relion) ; +2 106 relion; +3.5 115 Relion

If you are following TR, you reduce the dose if they go below 50. I don't see where he's done that. That would make his dose still 7.0 units. He will bounce today, 0.5 units R would be OK.
 
If you are following TR, you reduce the dose if they go below 50. I don't see where he's done that. That would make his dose still 7.0 units. He will bounce today, 0.5 units R would be OK.
When he was low yesterday for several hours, we were feeding him constantly. It was his low carb food but he ate probably a whole 5.5 oz can over the couple of lowest hours. Worried about him going hypo. I’m going to give him 6.5 for now. He’s L depot deficient anyway from skipping last night.

That’s part of my 6.5 logic too is that he got to the 50s (52 ReliOn) with not having a full depot (we had skipped 08/12 AMPS). But @Wendy&Neko hes been sick too and his BG numbers have been acting weird for a few days - married to diarrhea and vomiting and Zofran.
 
Try 6.5 units and see what happens. Hopefully he'll feel better soon.

And update your subject line as you have your answer.
 
Try 6.5 units and see what happens. Hopefully he'll feel better soon.

And update your subject line as you have your answer.
Done! :) Thank you! I wish I were as brave (or maybe the word is experienced) as you. Because I am sure you’re right on the 7L. I have green dose fear which I know is stupid.

Good to hear from you btw. Idk if you saw in one of my posts, but hoping to have the MSU Acro /IAA results by end of next week.
 
Over time you will get to love the greens. Right now going back to 6.5 is an experiment, for you. Once you have more experience with seeing normal numbers, and have a better idea how he responds to carbs, it will become easier.

I did read back, to catch up from when I was away.
 
Over time you will get to love the greens. Right now going back to 6.5 is an experiment, for you. Once you have more experience with seeing normal numbers, and have a better idea how he responds to carbs, it will become easier.

I did read back, to catch up from when I was away.
Welcome back. @tiffmaxee said you were on vacation. I hope you had a great time and got some much needed R&R.
 
Well dang. George’s BG is not cooperating. He is 71 on Libre and 105 on ReliOn for his PMPS. So… Not wanting to stay up all night watching him for hypo… the libre original does not have a hypo alarm like the libre 2. And I would bet it would go off anyway because he will get too low. So… what to do?!? @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom
 
Sorry I meant 30 minutes after your pmbg. Test when you see this. Think about how late you can stay up if your shoot a full dose. Even a token might lead to an active cycle for the first half. As Wendy said with TR you shoot 50+.
 
I would go by the Relion reading, Libre's have shown to be less reliable in lower numbers.

How is George's appetite today?
 
Sorry I meant 30 minutes after your pmbg. Test when you see this. Think about how late you can stay up if your shoot a full dose. Even a token might lead to an active cycle for the first half. As Wendy said with TR you shoot 50+.
PMPS 105 with ReliOn. I did not shoot. @+2 (right now), the Relion BG is 106.

I would go by the Relion reading, Libre's have shown to be less reliable in lower numbers.

How is George's appetite today?
He has eaten great today! His nausea, vomiting, diarrhea seems to have stopped. I do think it was the food. Because as sooon as we moved to the Take a Chance BFF pate, he has been fine.

So I am still at a loss on what to do. I am not comfortable shooting now when he’s already so low at least according to what I am used to. Ulgh!
 
Looks like you are now 2 hours after regular PMPS time? If so, you can make up the schedule 1/2 hour once per day, or 15 minutes per shot. If really high earlier, like an hour earlier, post for help to see if you can shoot earlier.

You have a few options. (1) shoot the full dose, get a +1 and a +2 to start. Often acros will nadir late, around preshot time. He might go up or just flat for the cycle. (2) shoot a reduced dose. If you do that, still get a +1 and a +2. The depot will still influence the first part of the cycle. Note that shooting late acts a bit like a reduction, so he's already getting a reduced dose if you shoot anything. (3) skip again. If you do skip, and you are up around +6, you can give him a dose of R around +6 to reduce the damage. What do you feel like doing?
 
Relion 110; AlphaTrak 151; Libre 102

What if I give him 3 L or maybe 5L? That way I can get some rest without worrying he’s going to go hypo. But also, that way he gets some replenishment of insulin reserves. Leaning on going this direction. Otherwise, yes, I could set an alarm for +6 (4am) and give him some R.

I just feel like something has changed with him. Could be the sickness, the food, or one other thing we stopped giving him Kidney Restore. Somewhere I read that it had a phosphorus binder (vitamin B3 or
niacinamide) that can increase blood sugar. So we stopped it.
 
Last edited:
Think of it as an experiment, you could try a smaller dose. Half dose is more likely to let you get some sleep, but you could still gather some data on what he might do in lower numbers with some insulin. I see Kidney Restore contains sweet potato powder aka carbs!
 
Think of it as an experiment, you could try a smaller dose. Half dose is more likely to let you get some sleep, but you could still gather some data on what he might do in lower numbers with some insulin. I see Kidney Restore contains sweet potato powder aka carbs!
Oh my goodness! I didn’t notice the potato carbs! Ahhh!!! That’s a double negative with the B3!!! Well his blues coincide to the day of when we stopped giving Kidney Restore. I added supplements to the far right in my SS.

At +3.5, he is currently at libre 91, relion 115, AlphaTrak 151.
 
@Wendy&Neko Dh and I agree to give him 3L. With this new info about Kidney Restore, we may need to rethink our dosage. He’s missed 2/6 Lantus shots over past 6 cycles (not counting tonight) and he’s still fairly low. So maybe we see what 3 does for him and go from there. I am so grateful for your help! @tiffmaxee too! Thank you both!
 
I'd write "stopped Kidney Restore" in the Remarks section of the spreadsheet on the day you stopped it. I see he did get to greens on the 7th, while he was still on Kidney Restore. It's also possible that you've broken through some glucose toxicity. I don't think that 3 units will be his new dose, but it'll help deplete the depot some more and a good choice for tonight.
 
I'd write "stopped Kidney Restore" in the Remarks section of the spreadsheet on the day you stopped it. I see he did get to greens on the 7th, while he was still on Kidney Restore. It's also possible that you've broken through some glucose toxicity. I don't think that 3 units will be his new dose, but it'll help deplete the depot some more and a good choice for tonight.
Okay. Will do. We will see what tomorrow brings!
 
Back
Top