? Dosing questions - 08/12 Dexter AMPS 334 +4 324 +9 298 PMPS 291

DexterMeowgan

Member Since 2021
He's a bouncy boy today, will try the suggestion to feed partial AMPS/PMPS food after time has passed.

Would it possibly be a good idea to begin with 1 can before shots, and the additional half can an hour or two in? He gets 3, 3 ounce cans, daily.
 
His lowest point today is now at PMPS, would it be advisable to do 1.75 tonight? He dropped to 98 with 1.75U yesterday.
 
Sorry for the delay in responding!!!

He hasn't earned a reduction, so you want to stay with 1.75 unless he does so tonight. With SLGS, you want him to spend as much time in the 90-149 range as possible. In fact, the longer he spends in greens, the more his pancreas get a chance to heal.

What you want to do is prevent sharp drops/dives by using food. You can't totally avoid bouncing. You can reduce it by (a) preventing those sharp drops (b) getting his body used to lower numbers (by spending more time in them).

I would try a snack at +2 and +4 for starters and then take it from there. See how his body responds and tinker with snack timings accordingly. Do you have a timed autofeeder you can use for snacks?
 
Sorry for the delay in responding!!!

He hasn't earned a reduction, so you want to stay with 1.75 unless he does so tonight. With SLGS, you want him to spend as much time in the 90-149 range as possible. In fact, the longer he spends in greens, the more his pancreas get a chance to heal.

What you want to do is prevent sharp drops/dives by using food. You can't totally avoid bouncing. You can reduce it by (a) preventing those sharp drops (b) getting his body used to lower numbers (by spending more time in them).

I would try a snack at +2 and +4 for starters and then take it from there. See how his body responds and tinker with snack timings accordingly. Do you have a timed autofeeder you can use for snacks?
Unfortunately, no, since he's only on wet food.

We are considering either one can, 3x per day,

or

One can at amps, additional half can at +3, then doing the same at night.

I think 3x a day would be easier
 
I'd go back to 1.75 units tomorrow morning. You want him to see those blues and upper greens.

There are timed feeders that work for wetfood. The PetSafe and CatMate are two of them. Often there is a spot below the rotating tray where you can put a gel pack to keep food cold. Feeding consistently AM and PM are best.

Here is the link to his previous post, which we include for connectivity. 08/11 Dexter AMPS 342 +6.5 238 +10 124 PMPS 98 +6 368
 
Some people also make "cat-sicles" by adding water to canned and freezing in ice cube trays. Most cats won't eat it frozen (although some will!) so after it melts, it's like offering a fresh meal. Some use the frozen food in the auto-feeder.

One can at amps, additional half can at +3, then doing the same at night.
This would be better. Is the issue with feeding multiple meals that someone needs to be around to feed him?
 
Back
Top