? 08/11 Dexter AMPS 342 +6.5 238 +10 124 PMPS 98 +6 368

PMPS continuing downward trend, very close to 90 threshold.

Reduced to 1.5 due to this as he wasn't extremely active today, just for safety tonight.

Do you agree with this?
 
Sorry no one responded earlier. It's good you gave him some insulin. Even with a reduced dose or a skipped shot, the previous depot will continue to affect the first part of the cycle.

Looks like he was clearing a bounce today. Bounce clearing cycles can have later nadirs. In fact, some cats nadir at the end of the cycle when clearing bounces. These CGs get used to shooting lower preshots with time. Dexter seems to be such a cat! He displayed a similar pattern in the AM cycles of 8/3 and 8/5. As well multiple times in July.

Congrats on shooting your first green! :-)

Please get a test at +1 and +2? Feed a little after each test.
 
Sorry no one responded earlier. It's good you gave him some insulin. Even with a reduced dose or a skipped shot, the previous depot will continue to affect the first part of the cycle.

Looks like he was clearing a bounce today. Bounce clearing cycles can have later nadirs. In fact, some cats nadir at the end of the cycle when clearing bounces. These CGs get used to shooting lower preshots with time. Dexter seems to be such a cat! He displayed a similar pattern in the AM cycles of 8/3 and 8/5. As well multiple times in July.

Congrats on shooting your first green! :-)

Please get a test at +1 and +2? Feed a little after each test.
You're still around? Wow! You helped me last time too. Thank you! Will get a +2 in a half hour.
 
You're still around? Wow! You helped me last time too. Thank you!
Hey, I thought the name Dexter Meowgan sounded awfully familiar, but I was thrown by the Dx date of 3/24/2026 in the SS. Missed the info in the Signature. My bad. Sorry to hear that he's back on insulin, but we've had cats go into remission multiple times, so paws crossed! :-)

I haven't read your previous posts, but is TR an option? For cats trying for remission again, a more aggressive dosing method would help.
 
Yes! He's been around a while and he's been in remission twice.

His recent dental work seems to have been a major step in the right direction in regards to his response to insulin.

Unfortunately, though, TRs protocol not reducing until 50s or lower is not an option with my partner, she's very uncomfortable with this. She's okay with 90 though.
 
Unfortunately, though, TRs protocol not reducing until 50s or lower is not an option with my partner, she's very uncomfortable with this. She's okay with 90 though.
Another option is to try a lower reduction point that you're comfortable with. Say 70 or 80, so he gets to spend time in higher greens and give his pancreas a chance to heal. That would be "custom dosing" which you could try at some point if you find that SLGS isn't working for him (given that you have enough experience with FD to try custom dosing).
 
I think that's a good option, I'll mention it to Kristina to see how she feels about it.

+6 is a huge spike to 368, ouch
 
He gets fed twice daily, with the amps and pmps readings near 8 am and pm.
You want to add some snacks in the first part of the cycle. Feed a part of the PS meal at +2 and +4. Food helps "flatten the curve" which helps reduce bouncing (by reducing the steep drops). Does he get a snack after a test and you find that he's much lower?

Using Food to Manipulate the Curve
 
He will get a snack if he's approaching hypo areas, but not typically just with a large drop. He did bounce today.

I remember doing this in 2021, at your suggestion I believe, and we ended up feeding him 3x per day. It didn't seem that'd work this time but we can try a modified one.
 
Back
Top