08/08 Dallas AMPS 74, +4 59, +5 59, PMPS 68, +1.5 79, +3 86

68 @ PMPS. He's doing so good!!

I also changed his food today (well, slowly) to Ziwi Peak Lamb. We had allergy testing done recently and just found out that he's been eating food that he is allergic to. He has a sensitive belly, so we have to make the switch slowly, so he's still eating the food he's allergic to:(. I am hoping this will help his chronic ear infections, which is the reason we decided to do the allergy test in the first place.
 
79 @ +1.5

I got a little paranoid about shooting so quick at 68, but it is such a low dose. It's normal for it to rise before it drops again, right? I'll keep checking him.
 
I also changed his food today (well, slowly) to Ziwi Peak Lamb. We had allergy testing done recently and just found out that he's been eating food that he is allergic to. He has a sensitive belly, so we have to make the switch slowly, so he's still eating the food he's allergic to:(. I am hoping this will help his chronic ear infections, which is the reason we decided to do the allergy test in the first place.
Does he have a ear infection or loss of hair in the ears? Did the vet check for ear mites? @tiffmaxee has a ton of experience with food allergies

I got a little paranoid about shooting so quick at 68, but it is such a low dose. It's normal for it to rise before it drops again, right? I'll keep checking him.
The size of the dose does not matter as long as it is a good dose for the cat. For some cats it's safe to shoot 2U at 68 :-) Looks like he is bouncing from that dive this morning.
 
Does he have a ear infection or loss of hair in the ears? Did the vet check for ear mites? @tiffmaxee has a ton of experience with food allergies


The size of the dose does not matter as long as it is a good dose for the cat. For some cats it's safe to shoot 2U at 68 :) Looks like he is bouncing from that dive this morning.
He doesn’t have loss of hair. The vet has looked in his ears many times and she never mentioned ear mites. He’s had the odd ear infections for the last few years, but recently it’s been every 2-3 months. I think ever since he started eating the Turkey Fancy Feast when he was diagnosed with diabetes. Before the diagnosis he was eating a venison and rice food and venison was ok for him. He does have a big chunk of wax stuck in his right ear though, that they can’t get out. They flushed his ears while he was under anesthesia during his two dentistries and it didn’t help.
 
Can a food/food allergy cause a ear infection? @tiffmaxee ?

My experience has been that with all of Whiskey's allergies, they definitely impacted her ears. She was getting 5g of zyrtec twice a day, but I've reduced to 5g once daily and now to one 5g every two days.

Her ears used to be horrific. I'm absolutely sure they got that bad because of the scratching at her ears, she used to almost attack her face, chin and ears with scratching. When we adopted her they looked so bad that the vet suspected an ear mite infection.

We did eventually sort out what turned out to be a fungal and bacterial infection by doing almost 2 weeks of vet cleanings every 2 days, and giving antibiotics. Then I started doing it at home (every 3 days, decreasing over time...now about once every 2 weeks).

I use epiotic ear cleaner which is very mild. After cleaning I put a plain colloidal silver gel (no oils essential added). She also gets a little bit of colloidal silver in her food from time to time.
 
Not saying that food allergies would not affect the ears. Yes, food allergies can cause severe itching and baldness in the ears etc, but that wouldn't qualify as an ear infection, I think? Those would have to be some kind of fungus/bacteria/yeast etc and would need treatment separate from a food change i.e. antibiotics, topical creams etc.
 
I can’t answer this one. I ding think allergies would be treated as infectious though. I’d switch to a different protein and see if that helps.
 
Not saying that food allergies would not affect the ears. Yes, food allergies can cause severe itching and baldness in the ears etc, but that wouldn't qualify as an ear infection, I think? Those would have to be some kind of fungus/bacteria/yeast etc and would need treatment separate from a food change i.e. antibiotics, topical creams etc.
When he gets these infections we put him on ear drops. We stop the ear drops once confirmed that the infection has resolved during the re-check, but then it just keeps coming back.
 
Back
Top