? 08/07 - KOBE - AMPS 240, AM+6 189, AM+10 142

Kobe (Dean and Lesley)

Member Since 2025
When you all tapered off Prednisolone did you use an every other day schedule? Like 2.5 mg every other day for 7 doses? (14 days)

OR did you gradually taper down a daily dose? Using a schedule something like this:
1000008600.jpg

The new vet hooked us up with liquid Prednisolone for the taper. I did a little math... and we have 17.5 mg total Prednisolone for a two-week taper.

Any thoughts on which would be better? Thanks!
 
Last edited:
Depends on the vet how you taper pred. With my kitty we gradually reduced the daily dose. Then we got to a point where her body said no more reductions, give me more. I've also seen people do EOD dosing but probably on tiny doses.
 
Depends on the vet how you taper pred. With my kitty we gradually reduced the daily dose. Then we got to a point where her body said no more reductions, give me more. I've also seen people do EOD dosing but probably on tiny doses.
This helped a lot, thank you. I just emailed the vet asking if we could taper the dose down to 1.0 mg before we started doing the alternating days. I thought maybe the alternating days thing started because vets didn't trust us to cut pills in half, but it is actually supposed to "wake up" the adrenal glands so they remember that they are in charge of producing cortisol. Can't imagine doing that to Mr. Pancreas. He would not put up with it!!!
 
Back
Top