08/07 Blue AMPS 277 +2.5 306

I don't see any harm with TR for Blue (reading the rest of yesterday and SS notes). I don't see him being that sensitive, I think you just saw a combo of things that we know can significantly drop BG (diet, relieved constipation, antibiotics). Look at my SS from beginning of 2020 - that was diet change alone.

I don't know that I'd have gone back to 2U. The inconsistent dosing is muddying the picture ;) see what the others think @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko
 
Would you please tell us why you dint think TR is good fir Blue? He doesn’t need to eat a lot at preshot. Lantus doesn’t kick in until at least +2 fir most cats so as long as he eats something you can leave out food for hi, to finish.

Why did you reduce to 2 units? Since you did how about sticking to it for 6 cycles and see how it goes. With SLGS you reduce if under 90 and he wasn’t there.
 
Would you please tell us why you dint think TR is good fir Blue? He doesn’t need to eat a lot at preshot. Lantus doesn’t kick in until at least +2 fir most cats so as long as he eats something you can leave out food for hi, to finish.

Why did you reduce to 2 units? Since you did how about sticking to it for 6 cycles and see how it goes. With SLGS you reduce if under 90 and he wasn’t there.

I'm just thinking out loud. Eddie is kind of a warrior cat and Blue is a very mellow, very sensitive guy who, no matter what, never holds a grudge. He is just very gentle and although he's a BIG cat, has the tiniest ears that he now folds back when he knows what I'm about to do. When he was on insulin before (about 1.5 years ago) he was never on TR but on SLGS and I wasn't testing him so often. Eddie is more steady; he will utter low growls with testing and with injections and Blue just seems, well, really sensitive and less resistant. Anyway, as I said, I was just thinking out loud.

I didn't reduce to 2u. Before he went into the hospital he was on 3u. While in the hospital, his BG levelled out and he was given 1.5 units, then 2, then zero. When he came home I tested him and at AMPS and he was at 158. I posted here asking if I should shoot or do a token shot and since I didn't have an answer by the time I had to go out, I gave a token dose of 0.5 based on a phone call to the vet at the hospital. Who also advised me to go back to 1u later because they had wanted him on 3units. So, I was trying to keep to the middle way yesterday if that makes sense and to bring him back to a dose he can keep to without it being too low or too high.

I know this seems haphazard but I had to make choices and didn't want to swing too far in either direction.
 
All makes sense.

When Max became diabetic I thought I would just do what people I know with cats had done. No testing because Max was extremely sensitive which caused pancreatitis episodes just from a vet visit! He turned out to not mind it at all. It also eliminated vet visits for curves!
 
All makes sense.

When Max became diabetic I thought I would just do what people I know with cats had done. No testing because Max was extremely sensitive which caused pancreatitis episodes just from a vet visit! He turned out to not mind it at all. It also eliminated vet visits for curves!
Oh, I don’t mean I never did or do curves on him. I did curves frequently and he was ok with that. It’s the queuing up before meals/shots snd afterwards with TRand he’s getting head shy. This is not to say I’m abandoning TR-just thinking out loud in sympathy with Blue as he’s been through so much these past few weeks.
 
Oh I see what you mean. Ah, give it time. Mr Kitty hates the ear pricks now, but obviously when I was doing all that testing he didn't mind! Just keep up with the treats and making it positive. Like Elise said, no harm in SLGS for now.
 
Oh I see what you mean. Ah, give it time. Mr Kitty hates the ear pricks now, but obviously when I was doing all that testing he didn't mind! Just keep up with the treats and making it positive. Like Elise said, no harm in SLGS for now.
Yeah, I'm going to give it a few days on SLGS and then do a curve. This week for him has been so chaotic that any reading will be off.
 
No PMPS test? I realize the depot is jacked up with all the changes you’ve had, but I really encourage you to re-think the decision to take a break on testing.
 
Back
Top