08/07 Baby G AMPS 443 PMPS 219; recheck 15 minutes later 266 +2 248 +4 278 +6 275

babyg

Very Active Member
Previous
Kidney disease thread
Anal gland rupture thread

I upped her to 4.25 units Monday evening. Vet is now recommending 5 units. I feel that is a big jump, especially if I am going to try now (again) to convert her from dry to wet food, plus her anal gland rupture is finishing up healing, too. I'm so worried I will either decrease the dry food too slowly (which wouldn't be ideal for her kidneys) or decrease it too quickly (which could make her glucose crash).
Her values have been pretty high lately because of all the stuff going on with the anal gland, plus her being allowed to eat so much dry and basically overeat since I was trying to get her out of an anorexic episode.
 
The most we suggest increasing is by .50 if nadirs are over 300 and no sooner than every 6 cycles. You are correct that reducing and eliminating dry food will most likely lower the bg possibility dramatically but we don’t know. Her dry food is really high carb. Also it looks like you can’t get even a second test in during the day. If my cat I would not go up to 5 units. I might consider .25 increase.
@Wendy&Neko @Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Yes, unfortunately the only time I can get a second test in during the daytime is on my days off because I usually have to leave for work right after shot time.
 
I agree with @tiffmaxee. I would not increase more than 0.25 unit when you are not able to get more testing during the cycles in. If you increase to 5 units you are increasing the dose by0.75 units. We do not do that in any of our dosing methods.
I would be trying to reduce the high carb dry.
 
Last time I tried converting her from dry to wet, I reduced her dry food by 3 grams per week (I weigh it out). So for example, if she were getting 33 grams twice per day, the next week she would get 30 grams twice per day, etc. It seemed to work out okay at the time until we reached the point where she was getting just 14 grams twice per day and then she started turning her nose up at the wet food. And now we are back where we started. :arghh: I am not sure if I should continue again at that same pace? I definitely agree about continuing to change her insulin dose in quarter units.
 
Are you offering a variety of canned food?
I think you could try increasing the amount of the reduction of the dry a bit more than 3 grams.
 
Yes, I am rotating the brands and flavors at each meal, using Friskies and Fancy Feast. I have been doing some reading tonight about CKD and sounds like Weruva is a good choice for both CKD and diabetes. I don't think we've ever tried that brand before so I may see if I can pick some up tomorrow after work and give it a whirl.
 
Back
Top