08.06.22 Chispa, AMPS 392, 333 +3, 335 +7,

Hi Karen, how's the testing going?
Not bad! Your trick is working. I haven't succeeded on every try, but our average is way up.
Do they ever get used to having their ears pricked and not mind anymore? Chispa squeaks every time, and it tears at my heart. I guess we both need to toughen up. Thanks so much for checking in.:bighug:
 
Last edited:
Do they ever get used to having their ears pricked and not mind anymore? Chispa squeaks every time, and it tears at my heart. I guess we both need to toughen up. Thanks so much for checking in.:bighug:

Benny is fine with it, although he was not at first. Sometimes he still gets annoyed that I am touching his ears AGAIN, but overall he doesn't mind the sticks and they don't seem to hurt him. In the morning he presents himself in the official "stick" position so he can get it done and get on to breakfast. :D TR has just gotten us both used to doing a lot of sticks.

You're doing great--pretty soon neither one of you will blink an eye.
 
Benny is fine with it, although he was not at first. Sometimes he still gets annoyed that I am touching his ears AGAIN, but overall he doesn't mind the sticks and they don't seem to hurt him. In the morning he presents himself in the official "stick" position so he can get it done and get on to breakfast. :D TR has just gotten us both used to doing a lot of sticks.

You're doing great--pretty soon neither one of you will blink an eye.

@Karen and Chispa Faraday is very similar - we have a stool I use to sit on, and while I used to have to hold him in my lap to test him (so he wouldn’t run!), now I can just perch next to him and he tolerates it. Because he’s already on the stool waiting! I’ve even caught him purring when I’m warming up his ears between my fingers before the poke! These kitties are very adaptable.
 
@Karen and Chispa Faraday is very similar - we have a stool I use to sit on, and while I used to have to hold him in my lap to test him (so he wouldn’t run!), now I can just perch next to him and he tolerates it. Because he’s already on the stool waiting! I’ve even caught him purring when I’m warming up his ears between my fingers before the poke! These kitties are very adaptable.
That is really amazing. I guess they just love the attention more than they dislike the pokes! And the treats, of course ... I'm going through dehydrated chicken like you wouldn't believe. But it's totally worth it to keep her happy, and she's never once tried to run away.
 
That is really amazing. I guess they just love the attention more than they dislike the pokes! And the treats, of course ... I'm going through dehydrated chicken like you wouldn't believe. But it's totally worth it to keep her happy, and she's never once tried to run away.

Faraday got bored of the freeze dried chicken after a while and he’s loving freeze dried minnows. They’re marketed for dogs, so they come in pretty big packs, and I feel like we get a lot more value for money than we did with chicken! Might be worth trying if you want to spice things up!
 
Back
Top