08/05 Hercules AMPS280, +4 90, PMPS 419. Frustrated....

Hercule's mum

Member Since 2020
Evening alll....

I know...I know... it has only been 3 cycles, but the increase in dose is not producing the results I hoped....

I gave him loads of HC this AM (~50g of 30% carbs), but was unsuccesful stopping his dive. Now he is back bouncing to the moon. Can his bounce be because of all the HC? He seems to be bouncing higher lately. Should i stop trying to stop his dives, and assume the only thing will stop his bounces is either time or more insulin?

Hope everyone else had a more positive Caturday!:cat:


previously:https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/06-05-hercules-amps-356-4-149-increase-dose.247047/
 
Blimey, Hercules is entering competition with Oliver and Oberon as 'bouncer of the week'.

I would say my Caturday is equally frustrating in a different opposite-from-bouncing kind of a way...misery loves company! :cat:
 
The PMPS is probably inflated due to the very high carb but there's no way to know that for certain. It's always a dilemma with respect to how high the carbs are that you need to keep numbers up in a moderate way. The next time this happens, maybe it would help to not be quite as aggressive with the HC -- give a MC and test more often or use a HC but not 30% and test more often.

When I would need to steer Gabby's numbers, I would test every 20 min. It gave me a pretty decent level of control over how much to steer her numbers.
 
Hi Sienne, I hear you, but I need some guidance on how to determine how high carbs i need to stop the diving and when the effect is likelt to be seen.

For example, we started the day with 9%, that did not help. At+2 I gave him 15%, and an hour later he dropped another 100 points. I assume that means 15% is also not enough? But maybe I should be looking for the effect later than 1 Hour? Even after giving him 20g of 30% he dropped another 30 points.... We usually say that 2 hours after food is enough to meassure BG as non-influenced by food, so I am bit confused....
 
Hi Sienne, I hear you, but I need some guidance on how to determine how high carbs i need to stop the diving and when the effect is likelt to be seen.

For example, we started the day with 9%, that did not help. At+2 I gave him 15%, and an hour later he dropped another 100 points. I assume that means 15% is also not enough? But maybe I should be looking for the effect later than 1 Hour? Even after giving him 20g of 30% he dropped another 30 points.... We usually say that 2 hours after food is enough to meassure BG as non-influenced by food, so I am bit confused....
I think there is not guidance that someone can give, the only way to learn how Hercs is reacting is by trial and error, register everything on the SS and next time when you see a similar pattern compare to what you already did, if it worked repeat if it didn’t- correct.
 
Back
Top