08/05 Dexter AMPS 301 +10 137 PMPS 133 +2 194 +7 326

Yes, he's a cream tabby genetically I learned today!

He's a buff tabby, according to his vet, but he's actually turning black now after being shaved for a libre lol.

I am definitely preparing for a bounce, he's done this a few times so far but I'm just happy to see he's reacting to the insulin even if it's late in the cycle.
 
Previous Day

This is great process to see, I think! Hopefully he'll continue lowering averages. I did initially want to question the dose but this is bringing him down well with his healing still ongoing.

Paws crossed this continues.
He’s clearing a bounce today and that’s why his BG came down. He’s had four nadirs under 150 on this dose and, under SLGS, the current dose would be held another 6 days unless he drops below 90.

Any reason you aren’t doing TR? That’s the best way to get him back into remission.
 
We're not familiar with TR, mostly, and the effort to keep them in a minimal window.

We both work and can't stay up late often to try a new way. If we don't see any progress in reductions soon we'll likely be looking at new options.
 
Updated, really good PMPS number to see! Spike expected as we discussed earlier.

An idea I had was should we look into lower or zero-carb options for his food at this point as well? Or does a few % difference not help as much as we'd think?

Our other cat was diagnosed with early CKD and we have a lot of Weruva Paw Lickin' Chicken we could try which is listed as 0% carb vs Fancy Feast Beef Pate at least 3% carb. We switched the CKD cat to lower protein %, as it was over the 35% recommended to 29%.
 
We're not familiar with TR, mostly, and the effort to keep them in a minimal window.

We both work and can't stay up late often to try a new way. If we don't see any progress in reductions soon we'll likely be looking at new options.
For what it's worth, both my partner and I work full-time (3-4 days in the office) and we do TR. I think it would have been harder in the beginning when we were collecting data and learning about Moonie's patterns, but it's much easier now that we know how she responds and we're not doing more than 4-5 tests.

Right now, I do Moonie's shot at 6am, and my partner does her +1.5 or +2 at 730am or 8am depending on his schedule. We then do her evening shot at 6pm, +2 at 8pm, and sometimes we do +3 or +4 at 9pm/10pm before we go to sleep.
 
For what it's worth, both my partner and I work full-time (3-4 days in the office) and we do TR. I think it would have been harder in the beginning when we were collecting data and learning about Moonie's patterns, but it's much easier now that we know how she responds and we're not doing more than 4-5 tests.

Right now, I do Moonie's shot at 6am, and my partner does her +1.5 or +2 at 730am or 8am depending on his schedule. We then do her evening shot at 6pm, +2 at 8pm, and sometimes we do +3 or +4 at 9pm/10pm before we go to sleep.
We are already essentially testing this much, hope it's working well for Moonie!

I think reduction protocol isn't until they're under 50 or less which is the part we're not comfortable with.

We've been recommended this before so I'll look into it again.
 
Updated, really good PMPS number to see! Spike expected as we discussed earlier.

An idea I had was should we look into lower or zero-carb options for his food at this point as well? Or does a few % difference not help as much as we'd think?

Our other cat was diagnosed with early CKD and we have a lot of Weruva Paw Lickin' Chicken we could try which is listed as 0% carb vs Fancy Feast Beef Pate at least 3% carb. We switched the CKD cat to lower protein %, as it was over the 35% recommended to 29%.
We have found that some cats, especially the ones who drop early like Moonie (her SS is worth a look), higher LC fed consistently really can help. I think Connie uses 7.5% but you can use up to 10%. For cats that drop, this can help flatten them at a little higher BG so you can give a bit more insulin. If you don’t feel you have to deal with those fast early drops between +1 and +2, you are fine with a 3-5% but I wouldn’t recommend 0% carbs.
 
Back
Top