? 08/04 lisa amps 173 i need your advise +9 228!!

I would get a +1 and a+2 to see what she has in mind this cycle. If the +1 or 2 is lower than the Preshot I would give a teaspoon of low carb to slow any drop. Only a teaspoon as we don’t want to fill her up but if she is going to drop, we can ease her down slowly. How does that sound ?
 
192@6.5 I was planning to go on holidays during which mom would do the minimum 0.25 dose. However Lisa has gone from 1u down yo 0.25u dose, what do you propose me to do? I think it would be good for me to stay a bit longer as Lisa may get in remission and leave then, what do you think? I also noted on the ss that yesterday in the pm cycle after +4.5 Lisa had a puff of two inhalers: flixotide 50 and aerolin. @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Suzanne & Darcy @JaxBenji @Bandit's Mom
 
I was planning to go on holidays during which mom would do the minimum 0.25 dose. However Lisa has gone from 1u down yo 0.25u dose, what do you propose me to do? I think it would be good for me to stay a bit longer as Lisa may get in remission and leave then, what do you think?
When are you planning to go for your holiday? Are the dates flexible?
While there is no guarantee that she will go into remission, she is suddenly looking like a different cat - so if you can change the dates of your trip, it would be a good idea to do so - so as to not lose momentum.
 
Last edited:
When are you planning to go for your holiday? Are the dates flexible?
While there is no guarantee that she will go into remission, she is suddenly looking like a different cat - so if you can change the dates of your trip, it would be a good idea to do so - so as to not lose momentum.
Yes it is flexible. I would normally leave about now, but I am thinking of postponing until August 20th, would that be ok? I was thinking of this a lot because now she has gotten down to the min dose my mom would have given if I left!
 
+9 228!!!I am so sad now!!!why?sure we keep this dose?(0.25)
What is going on?
Is it bouce, due to reduction, or the inhalers she had yesterday?
 
Last edited:
but I am thinking of postponing until August 20th, would that be ok?
It would be difficult to give an exact date. Why not see how she does in the next few days and take a call by the end of the week?

+9 228!!!I am so sad now!!!why?sure we keep this dose?(0.25)
What is going on?
Is it bouce, due to reduction, or the inhalers she had yesterday?
Possibly a combination of a bounce plus the effect of the steroid (?) in the asthma inhaler? Hopefully she will come down soon. Let's wait and see.
 
Yes it is flexible. I would normally leave about now, but I am thinking of postponing until August 20th, would that be ok? I was thinking of this a lot because now she has gotten down to the min dose my mom would have given if I left!
This definitely sounds like a good idea. She’s really going down in her insulin needs rather quickly.
 
Maybe after you went to bed last night she dropped lower and she’s bouncing a bit today? Have you noticed before how the inhalers affect her BG? Like how many hours after it takes to raise her glucose, or how long it lasts? Or does she only use them once in a while?

I’m tagging @Margaret (and Pearl) whose cat has asthma. She may be able to provide some insight into how the inhalers affect glucose.
 
I use the inhalers only once in a while when she coughs, lately that is about once a month during winter she took them every day but I am not sure if this is what took her out of remission
 
Just doing a brief search on the Internet it looks like Flixotide and Aerolin (I couldn't find Aerolyn) are both corticosteroids. Isn't that the same as a regular steroid - only not the kind athletes take? If I am correct it seems they certainly could have raised the BG.
 
Yes they may have steroids but they are supposed to not have a systemic effect, cause they are inhaled. Not sure if they could affect bg anyway though.
 
I don't know, Di. My suggestion would be just to be patient. You can't do anything about the dose now and you wouldn't want to. I think you just have to wait and see. She will come back down. It probably was the inhalers. Try to relax. I think you just have to put on your "patience pants". Maybe someone else will come along and reassure you.
 
I use the inhalers only once in a while when she coughs, lately that is about once a month during winter she took them every day but I am not sure if this is what took her out of remission

The inhalers for asthma will not affect her BG readings - in my experience with Pearl. Inflamed lungs, on the other hand, can affect her BG readings. When a cat has asthma, even if they are not having attacks, their lungs are inflamed. That inflammation with or without attacks can cause a lot of problems. I can tell you that active attacks do raise BG. If you are worried about the inhaler affecting her BG, I would be happy to help you test it out!

SO! If she was coughing overnight, that attack is what has affected her BG. For sure. You can test out whether or not the inhalers are affecting her by starting to administer the Flovent every 12 hours daily, with or without asthma attacks. In this way, you will find out whether she stays even keel or whether her numbers are rising. If you miss a dose, I believe her BG will stay the same. Then, you test her BG right after an attack and in the hours following - I think there will be a big difference. You can see on Pearl's ss where this has happened to her. In this way, you will have tested out the difference between normal inhaler steroid affect and asthma attack affect.

Also, sorry this is so long - do you have Albuterol? Flovent is actually the maintenance medicine for daily use every 12 hours. The Albuterol is what to give in attacks. Just want to make sure you have both meds!
 
Last edited:
Just doing a brief search on the Internet it looks like Flixotide and Aerolin (I couldn't find Aerolyn) are both corticosteroids. Isn't that the same as a regular steroid - only not the kind athletes take? If I am correct it seems they certainly could have raised the BG.
Not the same as an oral steroid. The Flovent/Flixotide and Albuterol are limited to the lungs in effect and are actually the safest steroids to take having FD, in my experience.

The issue is that Lisa had asthma attacks last night. That is what raised the BG, the attacks. It's not really possible to measure what the steroids did without having a comparison to Lisa receiving the steroid in NON attack moments. I have found with Pearl that the inhaler steroids do nothing to her BG, but the asthma attack spike her pretty high. (The oral Prednisolone, on the other hand, is a BIG culprit for the raised BGs with kitties, including Pearl).
 
Last edited:
I don't know, Di. My suggestion would be just to be patient. You can't do anything about the dose now and you wouldn't want to. I think you just have to wait and see. She will come back down. It probably was the inhalers. Try to relax. I think you just have to put on your "patience pants". Maybe someone else will come along and reassure you.
Oh thanks Summer I just wrote it because I was happy bg begun to fall
 
She's coming down gradually. Get a test before bed around +5, if you can, but I don't think you need to stay up for it.

I won't be surprised if she clears the bounce and is lower at AMPS. She has food left for her to eat in the second half of the cycle?
i am awake for +5 untill thne no more food? and test? also yes i left food at night i dont know when she eats it
 
Now in Greece is 2hours after midnight!!is 2am!!very late!!i cant awake anymore ,,,is shw safe?what more to do
 
The inhalers for asthma will not affect her BG readings - in my experience with Pearl. Inflamed lungs, on the other hand, can affect her BG readings. When a cat has asthma, even if they are not having attacks, their lungs are inflamed. That inflammation with or without attacks can cause a lot of problems. I can tell you that active attacks do raise BG. If you are worried about the inhaler affecting her BG, I would be happy to help you test it out!

SO! If she was coughing overnight, that attack is what has affected her BG. For sure. You can test out whether or not the inhalers are affecting her by starting to administer the Flovent every 12 hours daily, with or without asthma attacks. In this way, you will find out whether she stays even keel or whether her numbers are rising. If you miss a dose, I believe her BG will stay the same. Then, you test her BG right after an attack and in the hours following - I think there will be a big difference. You can see on Pearl's ss where this has happened to her. In this way, you will have tested out the difference between normal inhaler steroid affect and asthma attack affect.

Also, sorry this is so long - do you have Albuterol? Flovent is actually the maintenance medicine for daily use every 12 hours. The Albuterol is what to give in attacks. Just want to make sure you have both meds!
Thanks so much for stopping by, Margaret! I knew you would be able to help Dionysia with info on asthma/inhalers in diabetic cats.
 
Back
Top