08/04 Hercules AMPS 38

nope! I panicked!:oops: Thought I should have done so after I fed him....
I gave him his usual meal of 40g of 6% plust a dollop of honey, so it is possible that he had gone up that much.... but I hear what you are saying....

I have not heard the term 'dollop' in ages :joyful:
I need to learn the 'dollop' for karo ahhahahaha
Panic causes me to dip finger down and have it thick and dripping as I get it into Mouzer's mouth and on his gums.
I had to take a warm wash cloth to get it off from his chin and neck hahaha
I bet our cats think we are hilarious :D
 
Oh my....that's a startling thing to encounter first thing in the morning isn't it!

So, next time...take a breath...test again, just to make sure it's not a wonky strip (that happens more than we care to admit)...and then see if you can get him to eat some high carb good - try not to panic.

If you have honey on hand - put a drop or two - YES, only a DROP OR TWO on your finger or the back of his paw....

I understand that we panic and think our cats are going to fall down and have a seizure any second, but observe his behavior for any wobbly walking or inability to get to his feet - at that point you may want to consider forcing more glucose than a few drops...but this is a rare thing...and have your pet ER on speed dial in that case - however - in most cases the BG is just low and you can deal with it...

We all read about the event of these situations where kitty has gone way too low and 99% of the time it's someone who's gone home and listened to their vets bad advice, given way too much insulin and isn't testing that this happens...

You're doing much better than that - you've got your tools and you're prepared (with HC, MC and glucose) should that be needed...

And now you're ready for the next time...and btw, he earned a reduction this morning...tonight he gets .25 as his new dose.
 
OMG that was unexpected :blackeye: the AMPS and the cycle after as well :facepalm:

Hercules reaaally loves your attention :rolleyes: won’t let you rest not even for a moment :)
 
Wow, that sure was an "eye opener" to get first thing in the morning. Kind of a roller coast for kitty the last couple of days. Good luck and I hope Herc gets a little more consistent for you.
 
Do you think this is his plan for me to go into early retirement?

Given that I have to pick him off my lap every time I move the whole day long, it will be a shock for both of us when I go back to work the whole day away.
We have the same problem here... but who knows, maybe this new world will be a bit more opened to home office concept after covid is over as well :)
 
Back
Top