08/03 Mouse PMPS 414, +3.25 274, +4.5 214, +6 235

Mouse now weighs 6.3 lbs! Her temp was a tiny bit lower than normal but the vet said it wasn't concerning. The vet believes that Mouse's inappetence is due to her dental issues. He examined Mouse's mouth and saw all the redness by her canine teeth and her tooth sensitivity when he touched by those teeth. Other than Mouse's bad teeth the vet said she looks great, nice and alert and has great body condition.
Is Orbax ok to use for the infection and inflammation of her gums? If not I can get clindimycin. Has anybody used gabapentin for tooth pain, is it possible it might help enough that she wouldn't need the cerenia or mirataz anymore or at least need it less? I was thinking about emailing and asking the vet if we should give her pain meds.
 
Did the vet suggest getting a dental done for the tooth issues?

Is Orbax ok to use for the infection and inflammation of her gums? If not I can get clindimycin. Has anybody used gabapentin for tooth pain, is it possible it might help enough that she wouldn't need the cerenia or mirataz anymore or at least need it less? I was thinking about emailing and asking the vet if we should give her pain meds.
Going to tag a few others for your questions
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
 
I think clindamycin is a better option for dental issues than orbax.
If she has a painful mouth, which she probably does, I think a pain medication is very appropriate. Eating with a painful mouth is very hard and uncomfortable. Personally I don't like gabapentin, But see what others think.
 
I agree with Bron, Clindamycin is the go to for mouth issues. It's also quite a strong antibiotic, so I suggest also giving a probiotic when you start the AB, otherwise she may get tummy upset. But give the antibiotic and probiotic a couple hours apart.

I also agree with Bron on pain meds. I much preferred giving buprenorphine to gapabentin, which didn't do much for Neko when I tried it.
 
I agree with Bron, Clindamycin is the go to for mouth issues. It's also quite a strong antibiotic, so I suggest also giving a probiotic when you start the AB, otherwise she may get tummy upset. But give the antibiotic and probiotic a couple hours apart.

I also agree with Bron on pain meds. I much preferred giving buprenorphine to gapabentin, which didn't do much for Neko when I tried it.
Now my vets office is being a pain in the rear end...I messaged them yesterday asking if clindimycin would be a better choice and they want me to give her the Orbax, the vet wants her to have 1 cc 1x/day... The dosing on the box says the dose for cats is 3.4 mg/lb. of body weight 1x/day and says on box not to exceed that dose. I'm not good at calculating this stuff. Can anybody help me with this... 3.4mg/lb. Mouse weighs 6.3lbs. and there are 30mg/ml... 1ml seems high to me but like I said I'm not good at calculating this stuff.
I asked about pain meds and they prescribed Onsior for cats 3 day treatment for pain.
 
Dose is 3.4 (mg/lb of body weight) * 6.3 lbs or 21 mg. Can you give 2/3 of a CC? Check with the vet and tell the vet why you are asking. Maybe they don't have a current weight for Mouse?

Not a fan of Onsior either, it's an NSAID. It's OK for 3 days, the max time it's supposed to be given, but what do you do after that?
 
Dose is 3.4 (mg/lb of body weight) * 6.3 lbs or 21 mg. Can you give 2/3 of a CC? Check with the vet and tell the vet why you are asking. Maybe they don't have a current weight for Mouse?

Not a fan of Onsior either, it's an NSAID. It's OK for 3 days, the max time it's supposed to be given, but what do you do after that?
Thanks for getting back to me... 21mg is what I came up with too. They just got a current weight on her when we had her there yesterday. I sent a message to the vet asking if we could just get clindimycin instead of the Orbax and the office lady that responded said to just continue with the Orbax. The office lady then called me and when I questioned the dosing on the Orbax all she did was confirm that the vet said to give her 1ml... I sent another message letting them know why I was questioning the dose and requested that the vet give me a call back so I can discuss my concerns with him and haven't heard back and now the clinic is closed. I let them know in the message that I didn't feel comfortable giving Mouse the Orbax until I talk to the vet. This is so frustrating... I hate weekends for this very reason. Now I have no idea when I'll hear back from the vet and still can't start her on any meds. I'm tempted to atleast use the oral rinse she was put on awhile back (before her diabetes dx) for a sore in her mouth. I know it might raise her BG some but I feel like I need to do something to help her poor little sore gums.
I had to order the Onisor from chewy, that's the only pain med that the vets office offered a script for.
 
Can you not give a lower dose of the Orbax? That's the nice thing about liquid meds, easier to vary the dose.
The vet did end up getting back to me regarding my concerns on Orbax dose, somehow I missed his call so I didn't get to discuss the pain meds only being for 3 days. He did say the ideal dose would be .72 cc's, he explained he rounded it up cause most cats spit some out and that it was such a small difference but I can give 3/4 of a cc.if I'd rather not give her one full cc. I'm guessing I should just give the Orbax a go, the pain meds I ordered won't be here til probably Monday so not much I can do with that right now.
 
Back
Top