I’m moving my response to your 7/31 condo questions here since this is the most recent condo I find
Marje. Thanks for the spreadsheet help!
As far as the starting dose, I had read in several places that the starting Lantus dose should take into consideration his current dose of the insulin we're stopping. I don't know what "take into consideration" means, though. I had read that the starting Lantus dose should be less than a previous Vetsulin dose. I had also read how to calculate dose by cat weight. I figured we were on a good track with 1U. Sounds like I figured too low.
We started raising the dose today. We want to do TR, so it looks like a raise every three days is allowed. Our plan is to raise .25 at a time. If anyone has thoughts or suggestions, I'm very open.
Happy to help with the SS.
By “taking into consideration” the dose of the non-L insulin one is switching from, it means, in a nutshell, one wants to consider if that dose was getting him into good numbers? If it was and you have an idea of how low that dose was taking him, you might want to back off the Lantus starting dose a bit from the other insulin dose. If that dose was not doing much for him, then you wouldn’t want to back off the starting dose of the Lantus very much at all as long as you could test (safety first).
We’ve seen some instances where the dose on the previous insulin was doing nothing....numbers were still very high. In that instance, it didn’t make any sense to lower the Lantus starting dose and leave the kitty in high numbers.
Dosing by weight is the place to start when you first start insulin and there is no information as to how a kitty is responding to any insulin.
Please keep in mind that my comments are not offered as criticism but as a teaching opportunity since we have a lot of members who read but don’t post. Also, if you are in the position of helping someone in the future as they switch from a non L insulin to Lantus or Levemir (or one of their generic forms), you can offer good advice.
It’s important to note that when switching between the L insulins, we do it differently than above.
In general, we reduce the starting dose by 30%. However, having said that, if a cat on Lantus, for instance, was hanging out in black and red numbers and we knew that was as low as it was getting, for the switch, I’d consider not dropping the Levemir insulin dose back.
Where to go from here with Grandpa? Typically, following the TR protocol, with nadirs over 300, one would increase the dose by 0.5u after six cycles. However,
in this instance where you have switched to Lantus from another insulin and the dose was dropped back, with his nadirs where they are (other than the one blue number he had), I would consider increasing the dose by 0.25u after just four cycles to try and fast track him a little towards his previous dose on Vetsulin.
It’s your choice but what I wouldn’t do right now, unless you are seeing ketones, is raise him by 0.5u after four cycles. I’d do one or the other of these options if nadirs continue over 300:
—Increase by 0.5u after six consecutive cycles
or
—Increase by 0.25u after four consecutive cycles
And before increasing any dose, it’s important that you know how low the current dose is taking him so spot checks each cycle are important. When he’s this high, that doesn’t mean get up from a sound sleep to test but grab a +2 at night and a before bed test. If he’s headed down quickly, it might be smart to then grab a later test.
And with these high numbers, with the combination of his lower dose and him being off food, I’d be staying on top of the urine ketone testing.
I hope he will start eating better.
