This is a very frustrating pattern. I've seen it happen and I've had it happen.
Theoretically, if he sees blue, bounces for six cycles, and then doesn't even come back down to blue when he clears, then he needs more insulin. (Please note: I'm referring to Boomer only who is a long term diabetic and has been in remission; this is not intended for any other cat).
Remember that the reason we hold a dose for six cycles is one or two cycles for NDW and then a few cycles to see what the dose is going to do. The TR protocol does say to hold the dose ten cycles if nadirs are under 200 because:
- The first two days might be high due to NDW.
- The third day might be when the dose clicks in and you will see lower numbers if the dose is right.
- The 4th through 6th day might be the bounce days.
- When the bounce clears, if the numbers don't come down, more juice please.
However, Boomer might not have read the "theory". The new challenge is deciding when you've waited long enough...but not too long...to raise the dose.
I think a few more cycles at a dose after he sees blue are fine so that he has a total of ten cycles or so at a dose if you've seen any blue. But I wouldn't sit on the dose too much longer than that. Gracie was a slow responder and so if she saw blue or green the first six cycles, I'd hold the dose a total of 11 cycles because if she was going to come back down, she'd do it by cycle 11. That's 11 cycles from the time I started the dose.
Boomer might have decided to be a slow responder.
I'm so sorry...I know this is so hard to see the numbers in a kitty that has always been so well regulated and OTJ. Keep pressing forward and if you feel he needs more time at a dose, do it.

