08/01 Boomer AMPS 293 +3 283 +6 274 PMPS 329 +3 245

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Good morning!
AMPS 293 shooting 1.5u
sigh

Boomer ate all of his overnight fuds but needed help with his +6. I think he wanted me to add more fowl ball to his dish but instead I encouraged him to eat the chicken pate:smuggrin:

Allen ate very well overnight.

I still haven't heard anything from Dr Larry so I will be sending a message this morning.

I can't believe it's August already:(
 
Good morning!
AMPS 293 shooting 1.5u
sigh

Boomer ate all of his overnight fuds but needed help with his +6. I think he wanted me to add more fowl ball to his dish but instead I encouraged him to eat the chicken pate:smuggrin:
You tell Boomer when he works the juice and gets his BG into the 100s, then he can dictate what he eats, but until then, eat the chicken pate! :D
Hope you get a dental set up soon.
 
This is a very frustrating pattern. I've seen it happen and I've had it happen.

Theoretically, if he sees blue, bounces for six cycles, and then doesn't even come back down to blue when he clears, then he needs more insulin. (Please note: I'm referring to Boomer only who is a long term diabetic and has been in remission; this is not intended for any other cat).

Remember that the reason we hold a dose for six cycles is one or two cycles for NDW and then a few cycles to see what the dose is going to do. The TR protocol does say to hold the dose ten cycles if nadirs are under 200 because:
  • The first two days might be high due to NDW.
  • The third day might be when the dose clicks in and you will see lower numbers if the dose is right.
  • The 4th through 6th day might be the bounce days.
  • When the bounce clears, if the numbers don't come down, more juice please.
However, Boomer might not have read the "theory". The new challenge is deciding when you've waited long enough...but not too long...to raise the dose.

I think a few more cycles at a dose after he sees blue are fine so that he has a total of ten cycles or so at a dose if you've seen any blue. But I wouldn't sit on the dose too much longer than that. Gracie was a slow responder and so if she saw blue or green the first six cycles, I'd hold the dose a total of 11 cycles because if she was going to come back down, she'd do it by cycle 11. That's 11 cycles from the time I started the dose.

Boomer might have decided to be a slow responder.

I'm so sorry...I know this is so hard to see the numbers in a kitty that has always been so well regulated and OTJ. Keep pressing forward and if you feel he needs more time at a dose, do it.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
This is a very frustrating pattern. I've seen it happen and I've had it happen.

Theoretically, if he sees blue, bounces for six cycles, and then doesn't even come back down to blue when he clears, then he needs more insulin. (Please note: I'm referring to Boomer only who is a long term diabetic and has been in remission; this is not intended for any other cat).

Remember that the reason we hold a dose for six cycles is one or two cycles for NDW and then a few cycles to see what the dose is going to do. The TR protocol does say to hold the dose ten cycles if nadirs are under 200 because:
  • The first two days might be high due to NDW.
  • The third day might be when the dose clicks in and you will see lower numbers if the dose is right.
  • The 4th through 6th day might be the bounce days.
  • When the bounce clears, if the numbers don't come down, more juice please.
However, Boomer might not have read the "theory". The new challenge is deciding when you've waited long enough...but not too long...to raise the dose.

I think a few more cycles at a dose after he sees blue are fine so that he has a total of ten cycles or so at a dose if you've seen any blue. But I wouldn't sit on the dose too much longer than that. Gracie was a slow responder and so if she saw blue or green the first six cycles, I'd hold the dose a total of 11 cycles because if she was going to come back down, she'd do it by cycle 11. That's 11 cycles from the time I started the dose.

Boomer might have decided to be a slow responder.

I'm so sorry...I know this is so hard to see the numbers in a kitty that has always been so well regulated and OTJ. Keep pressing forward and if you feel he needs more time at a dose, do it.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Marje! I do think that he is caught in a loop of NDW, blue cycle, bouncing and this just keeps repeating itself. This is cycle 5 on 1.5u so I will leave his dose at 1.5 for a few more cycles to see if he will show me some more blue. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Judy, you must be so frustrated with seeing him in pinks and not hearing back from Dr. Larry. Maybe you could call his office tomorrow and ask if it would help him if you reached out to the specialist as you know how busy he is blah blah, etc. I wouldn't be afraid to be the squeaky wheel at this point. I turn into a momma lion when it comes to my babies. :eek:
 
Judy, you must be so frustrated with seeing him in pinks and not hearing back from Dr. Larry. Maybe you could call his office tomorrow and ask if it would help him if you reached out to the specialist as you know how busy he is blah blah, etc. I wouldn't be afraid to be the squeaky wheel at this point. I turn into a momma lion when it comes to my babies. :eek:
Hi Bobbie! I sent Dr Larry a message this morning and heard back late this afternoon; he asked if Boomer's levels are controlled. Then he asked how much insulin he was getting. Nothing further. It is summer and it's quite possible the specialists are away but yes it would be nice to be told that!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top