? 07 Jan 2022 - Whiskey: PM +3 3.7/67 +4 4.2/76 +5 5.3/167 AMPS 11.9/214 Dosing advice please

stannarp

Member Since 2021
Hi all, advice needed please.

Yesterday after her PM shot at +3 Whisk was 3.7/67 which seemed low for her, so I gave her a spoon of gravy food. When I tested again at +4 she was 4.2/76, so I gave her a bit of Acana kibble (our other cats food). She was coming up, but I didn't want to risk anything as it was quite late and our emergency vet is a 30 min drive away. At +5 she was up to 5.3/95, and at +8 she was at 9.3/167.

I've given her the 0.25 insulin at 8.6/194 previously without her dropping so low, which is why I didn't hesitate to shoot last night.

This morning her AMPS is 11.9/214 (probably accounting for kibble and HC gravy last night).

I'm hesitant to shoot 0.25 though, as she is not usually as low as she was last night.

I'm thinking of shooting 0.1, or something between 0.25 and 0.1, but I'm not sure she's earned a dose reduction.

Any advice please?
 
With the AT a reduction is earned ifnshe dropped under 68. Are you using the human meter now? If so she didn’t drop under 50 and has come up. I’d stick with .25. It’s not good to use kibble to bring her up. It’s best to give wet hc or add honey or karo to her regular food. Kibble sticks with them past the time it’s needed.
 
Thanks. I'll stick with the 0.25 and do my curve today (planned to anyway).

Yes, I've changed meters, but still human meter. Contour Plus.

Question, your accronym AT?

Will do gravy food / honey (no Karo syrup in South Africa) if she drops low. Sorry, kibble last night because the nearest emergency vet is 30 mins of terrifying driving away (a hectic number of trucks use that road at night).
 
Sorry. I was thinking were using an AT pet meter. I also thought TR the TR method was being g followed. With SLGS you would reduce if under 90. So reduce in the morning to 0.10.
 
Sorry. I was thinking were using an AT pet meter. I also thought TR the TR method was being g followed. With SLGS you would reduce if under 90. So reduce in the morning to 0.10.

Oh hell, already shot 0.25 as it was 50 mins past due time.

I'll be monitoring closely today anyway.

Will post on this thread if I am getting worried and update the subject line.

Tonight she's going down to 0.10 though.
 
Keep in mind with TR which has the best chance of remission the reduction point is under 50. Her numbers are way too high for a successful remission. All numbers need to be 50-100. You could also lower your reduction number a little depending on your comfort zone.
 
Keep in mind with TR which has the best chance of remission the reduction point is under 50. Her numbers are way too high for a successful remission. All numbers need to be 50-100. You could also lower your reduction number a little depending on your comfort zone.
Thanks, I'm looking at her numbers this weekend, also thinking about moving her to TR, but need to get more info together in my head about it first.
 
She’s looking so close to remission that I hope you do switch. Other than reductions under 50 and sometimes needing to test more that’s probably all you need to do.

With TR if you reduce and numbers go up you can go back to the last good dose right away. With SLGS you need to wait 7 days. Staying too long in a dose that’s not working can lead to them needing more and more insulin as it allows for glucose toxicity.
 
Patricia --

I realize this will be annoying for you but it is easier for the majority of people here if you post your numbers in mg/dL format (US format) and not mmol/L. The majority of the members are from the US. It also takes up a lot of space on your subject line if you post in both formats. Several of us scan subject lines to ensure no one is in trouble so keeping it as simple as possible is helpful. I hope you understand.
 
Patricia --

I realize this will be annoying for you but it is easier for the majority of people here if you post your numbers in mg/dL format (US format) and not mmol/L. The majority of the members are from the US. It also takes up a lot of space on your subject line if you post in both formats. Several of us scan subject lines to ensure no one is in trouble so keeping it as simple as possible is helpful. I hope you understand.
OK, no problem
 
Back
Top