07/26 - Jaxon - AMBG 47 +1 65 +4 110 PMPS 65 +1 74 +2 58 + 3 61 +4 67 +5 68 +6 65

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Allison K, Jul 26, 2021.

  1. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    I woke a little late so it is already nearly 30 mins late giving his shot and I got this number.
     
  2. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
  3. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    No, as I said I woke late .... I do not usually give food before he gets his shot (usually food within like 5 mins of the shot)
     
  4. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    As for his later shot ... why would his later shot have to change time? When I have had to stall I haven't changed his evening shot in the past
     
  5. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Sorry for the separate posts, literally just got up 5-10 or so minutes ago
     
  6. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    And if you stall and shoot an hour late (that is after another 20 mins or so), are you okay to shoot 30 mins late tonight?

    (a) You can stall and test 20 mins from the last test - without feeding to see if his numbers come up over 50. This would be mean you shoot 20-30 mins later tonight
    (b) Or you skip the AM shot and shoot at your usual time tonight.
     
  7. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    (b) might be easiest with his number this low ....
     
  8. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    A half hour delay does not disrupt the timing of the next shot. I understand you are nearly 30 mins late already and stalling would delay the AM shot more (almost an hour from your usual shot time). You would therefore need to shoot 30 mins late tonight.

    No need to apologize! :)
     
  9. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    OK. Please feed his normal LC food and test in half an hour?

    You can shoot 0.75U at your usual time tonight.
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  10. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Ok
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  11. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Was not sure how to record this as far as the +1 etc goes so just went with +1 for his log goes but it was about half hour after I put his food down
     
  12. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Since you skipped, you needn't test as much. Maybe one more mid-cycle test should do before PMPS.
    Enjoy your day off from testing! Good day to catch up on sleep or do something outside the house! :)
     
  13. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Sleep sounds good. Will likely do a test somewhere around 11am (about 4 hours after his usual shot time just cause gotta get up to medicate the dog at that time) and around 1pm (where his +6 would be usually)
     
  14. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    You could put it down as 65 @ +0.5. But it's fine. Don't worry about it. It's your day off from feline diabetes! :D
     
  15. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Sounds good.
     
  16. JaxBenji

    JaxBenji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2020
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  17. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Well when I posted it, it was going to be a PS (did not decide on the skip till we discussed it) .. but I was still not 100% awake to think to change it. Done now
     
  18. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    You can stop testing till PMPS.
     
  19. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    What a dramatic change! :D
     
  20. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Am I alright to shoot (yes I know it is over 50) since his sugar has been really good all day without insulin in 24hrs
     
  21. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    How about stalling for a half hour?
     
  22. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Why? Just want to understand. He has had no insulin since last night and was quite low this morning (plus I woke up late)
     
  23. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s ok to shoot but I am wondering if he’s been sliding down all day or on the way up. If you prefer you can shoot and get a +1 and +2.
     
  24. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Umn I posted the numbers in the subject line for his testing today.
     
  25. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Just for the record :) I was going to test then anyways because of the skipped dose this AM
     
  26. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I know. He’s lower now than he was at +4.
     
  27. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    So your recommendation would be to stall half an hour for his shot and retest .... then what?
     
  28. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    To see if he’s going up on his own or at least not still going down. He’s been all normal for a few days. If you are okay being up late just in case shoot now.
     
  29. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    I was not looking for why, but what the next step would be after I re-test him at the half hour mark .... sorry I was not clear in my question
     
  30. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    If around the same just shoot. If going up you know definitely safe to shoot. If much lower I would probably give a reduced dose. If it’s even 20 minutes after your test please test again so we can see.
     
  31. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    He is already on a reduction .... are you meaning reduce FURTHER to 0.5 units?
     
  32. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Is now at 63. Shoot 0.75 or reduce to 0.5?
     
  33. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s the same. Shoot .75. Flat.
     
  34. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    0.75 unit shot given and food given
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  35. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The 1.0 is still influencing this cycle. If the +1 doesn’t show a food bump I would feed some 10%.
     
  36. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    To be clear:
    LC 0-10%
    MC 10-20%
    HC 20%+ correct?

    If no HC I have previously been told to use MC + honey
     
  37. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    LC UNDER 10%
    MC 10-15%
    HC 20%+
    It depends how carb sensitive your cat is.
     
  38. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    What about between 15 and 20%?? What is that? Cause at least one variety of the Gravy Lovers I have according to the charts is like 16%
     
  39. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    For most cats 15% -20% is hc but it depends on the cat. If Max was under 40 he needed 20%+. I think it also depends on how high carb your lc is. It’s all approximate I think because we rely on the manufacturers Ingredient lists and each batch is a bit different since they make it in bulk. That’s my take anyway.
     
  40. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    I got the following for his regular meals:
    Friskies Pâté Salmon Dinner 3%
    Friskies Pâté Chef's Dinner Not on list, calculator says 3%
    Friskies Pâté Seafood Supreme Not in list, calculator says 2.5%
    Friskies Pâté Turkey & Giblets Dinner 5%

    For his Hypo kit I have 3 flavors of Gravy Lovers from FF:
    Ocean Whitefish & Tuna 16%
    Chicken Feast 15%
    Salmon Feast 15%
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2021
    Reason for edit: Updated info
  41. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I am back for the +2.
     
  42. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Give @ mix if 15% and your lc.
     
  43. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Fed about 1 tsp (a little over maybe)
     
  44. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Test again in 5 minutes.
     
  45. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    S far he’s nice and flat. :D
     
  46. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Ok I did not see this post over 20 mins ago and did not retest in 5 minutes sorry. Should I feed him more LC & MC mix?
     
  47. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Sorry. Just came back. He’s staying flat but he tends to drop at +4-5 so I would feed a little mc/lc mix when you see this.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  48. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Ok. Done
     
  49. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    It's a good thing you skipped this morning. He's doing really well even after a skipped shot.
    Seems to have flipped some switch. When that happens they can go down in dosing pretty quickly.
     
  50. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    tested +5 (83) and retested (67) ... so that should be the food bump from +4
     
  51. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. Try an hour without food to see if he stays up.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  52. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Thought 83 from 61 was a bit too much of a jump for food so I retested .... 67 sounded better
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  53. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Maybe but meter variance is 20% so one test could have been high and the other low. Let’s see how he does without food.
     
  54. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Stayed about the same ..... without any further food
     
  55. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Was the last meal 2 hours back?
     
  56. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Full meal? that would have been 5 hours ago (around 7:45pm EST) .... snack (1 tsp approx, maybe 1.5tsp) mix of LC and MC back around 11pm
     
  57. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    He would usually get a 1/4 can of the Friskies before I head to bed in an hour or so (closer to 2hrs because of the delay in his PM shot)
     
  58. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I think you can feed as usual and go to bed when you usually do.
     
  59. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Ok ... should I test at +6 or leave it for the night?
     
  60. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    You can get a test at +6 if you are up but don't need to stay up for it.
     
  61. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    I was not planning to feed him till then so will be up (and it is like little over 15mins :) )
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  62. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Tested and (about to be) fed 1/4 can of LC. Good night
     
    Bandit's Mom and Katsallday like this.
  63. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Great cycle! Good night! :)
     

Share This Page