07/29 TASHIE PMPS=433

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 07/29 TASHIE AMPS=97 +12.75=HIGH???? TESTED TWICE!

Can a cat BOUNCE this fast? AMPS was 97 - 45 minutes later she was HIGH - BOTH times I tested TWICE on different meters - got the same? Clueless!
 
Re: 07/29 TASHIE AMPS=97 +12.75=HIGH???? TESTED TWICE!

I don't know what to tell you. I would assume that one of those tests was incorrect. If Tashie is high, then it's time to shoot.

Did you feed at AMPS? If so, are you sure you fed low carb?
 
Re: 07/29 TASHIE AMPS=97 +12.75=HIGH???? TESTED TWICE!

Sienne. I did shoot - 45 minutes late. DID NOT FEED before shot but did afterward but she isn't eating as she threw up twice, once before the first test and one time in between. Now that she is grooming herself more I have that to deal with ;-)

Tashie is ONLY getting LC wet, poached chicken, turkey breast and some steak last night. Everything she is getting is 5% or less. I have her completely weaned off the dry - it's not even put down for them - it's gone.

Maybe I caught a "bounce"?
 
Re: 07/29 TASHIE AMPS=97 +12.75=HIGH???? TESTED TWICE!

The vomiting concerns me; she has to keep food down to match up with the insulin.
 
Re: 07/29 TASHIE AMPS=97 +12.75=HIGH???? TESTED TWICE!

Morning. ~O)
(small sidebar)
I have to ask what brand is the poached chicken? I don't know of any of that on our food lists.
 
Re: 07/29 TASHIE AMPS=97 +12.75=HIGH???? TESTED TWICE!

Hi guys .. no advice from me but I sure hope tashie is done with the throwing up .. poor baby .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 07/29 TASHIE AMPS=97 +12.75=HIGH???? TESTED TWICE!

Poached chicken is MY BRAND - I poached fresh chicken breast for her
 
Re: 07/29 TASHIE AMPS=97 +12.75=HIGH???? TESTED TWICE!

PS: Is the board having issues? I have "subscribed to topic" not getting email notifications of posts and see that I have TWO posts on the board this morning - I did not post twice, simply updated the first one?
 
Re: 07/29 TASHIE AMPS=97 +12.75=HIGH???? TESTED TWICE!

:lol: if you made it, that should be pretty low in carbs....

I was pretty sure I hadn't seen any out there in the stores.... ;-)


there are issues.
some us lose other peoples' avatars and aren't getting email notifications for pm's. I have that.
And I've noticed that sometimes it duplicates other posts.... there was one somewhere that posted it 5 times....
 
Re: 07/29 TASHIE AMPS=97 +12.75=HIGH+2.5=448/+5.5=309

hi you 2

wow.... :?: that was a huge difference in 45 mins!!! is that called the bounce of all bounces? I don't have any idea?

I can just imagine your shock though at that 97 this morning!!! :shock:

how is she doing today?

updates?


~kelly
 
Re: 07/29 TASHIE AMPS=97 +12.75=HIGH+2.5=448/+5.5=309

Well........took her for SubQ fluids and they also gave her "Cerenia" - somehting to help with nausea. Changed the appetite stimulant from Mirtazapine to Cyprohepatdine - gave it to her 2 1/2 hours ago - hasn't eaten. Have a call back into vet's .......they are not happy with me and vise versa! Just called another vet's office "not taking new patients"!!! Gurrr!
 
Re: 07/29 TASHIE AMPS=97 +12.75=HIGH+2.5=448/+5.5=309

Can anyone out there offer an opinion on what may have happened this morning? Did I see a bounce happen in 45 minutes? VERY confused about this. Also, she isn't eating - vet said if she does not eat, do not give insulin? We tried Cyprohrptadine today around 2 PM (EST) and so far no good. That was almost 3 hours ago. Want to go back to the Mirtazapine but have a call into them to see how long I have to wait .........this is agony! Tashie seems really down....so, therfore, so do I ..... blah
 
Re: 07/29 TASHIE AMPS=97 +12.75=HIGH+2.5=448/+5.5=309

What a day for Tashie after she has been doing so well. Have you checked her ketones?

Bounces can happen quickly....but even that is a mother of all bounces to go from 97 to over 500 in 45 minutes.

Do you have any left over steak or anything she ate yesterday that she loved and might eat? How is she acting now....nauseous, hiding? The cypro should have kicked in by now. I can understand why you might not want to continue the mirtz if it is causing her to tremble.

My concern is that you aren't getting any answers out of your vets. I know you are looking for another and I would make that a priority. There's obviously something going on with her if she is not eating without a stimulant. I hope you can find someone you like soon. I don't know the dosing on the cypro (e.g. how often you can give it). You might want to ask Anne and/or Liz (Zener's mom) if they know if it might take a couple doses before it starts to work. It's been a very long time since I've used it.
 
Re: 07/29 TASHIE AMPS=97 +12.75=HIGH+2.5=448/+5.5=309

Hi Marje, thanks for stopping by. Haven't been able to nab any pee for a few days ....... trust me, I've been lurking! I'm wondering if the STEAK may be the issue as she has NEVER eaten ANYTHING like that before - and she ate loads.

Yes, Tash WOULD HAVE TO BE "The mother of all bounces" ....... can you imagine my amazement! Yikes!

My vets are on my S*** list right now ........ working on that!

Will also check out the Cypro dosing with the members you mentioned.........

They said not to give her insulin if she doesn't eat ........ ???? Fur shot?
 
Re: 07/29 TASHIE AMPS=97 +12.75=HIGH+2.5=448/+5.5=309

IMHO, I would not skip a shot because of her history of DKA. You can syringe feed her yes? Also you have a blood ketone meter.... Why not check her?
 
Re: 07/29 TASHIE AMPS=97 +12.75=HIGH+2.5=448/+5.5=309

Bern, is there a chance that the 97 was incorrect, and that was not a bounce at all?
It's too late to know that now, though.


Today Checks tested at LO, and my gut told me that was not right. Retested and got a 437...that was correct
 
Re: 07/29 TASHIE AMPS=97 +12.75=HIGH+2.5=448/+5.5=309

Barb, we checked twice because, trust me, I was :o at 97! And then :o at HIGH so rechecked that again too!
 
Marge, I did NOT skip shot. She started to eat - of course, it was close to the 2 hour food take away but she did eat. I tested and got 433 so I did shoot! Tested for KT and she is fine - phew! And she was eating AFTER shot - will check just how much soon ... Please understand if I am not REPLYING instantly it is because I am not getting emails - I have the window open and just keep refreshing. Sorry!
 
((((Bern))))

What a rough day - I can't even imagine those AM numbers. Appy/feel good vines to Tashie. Stay sane vines for you, along with wishes for a great vet find.

Jane
 
Thanks Jane! yes, it has been a day! I'm beat but want to get a few tests in tonight! It never ends! Thanks for stopping by!
B
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top