07/29 Blackie AMPS 408 (Still On 5-7 Day Hold, Advice...?)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
I even did 2 tests this morning. The first one was at 415 @ 5:37 a.m. The second one was 408 @ 5:40 a.m.

I don't get this. She was doing well since we started Lantus Sunday, now this. Thougth she was supposed to be going down gradually, not going back up. :cry:
 
Re: 07/29 Blackie AMPS 408

sorry for the bad numbers. maybe ask for some dose advice in your subject line? I hope things improve
 
hmmm. either this is a high before a break or blackie dipped into numbers his body was not used to last night.
if it were me, i'd hold the dose for the moment. i'd want to see how this plays out...
 
awww, try not to get hung up on one number. blackie is very new to lantus. what you're seeing is not unusual.
it'll all come together...
 
Sounds like a plan! Jill always gives good advice and she will watch to see how it "plays out". Don't worry: Blackie will improve his numbers soon.

Ella & Stu
 
Ladies, I'm a patient person. I think I've mentioned in the beginning of using this insulin that I just hope that this isn't another ProZinc where it looks like things are starting to improve, and then not.

She's neg for ketones, too. That's 2 tests that I've taken in the past 2 days for ketones (just 'cuz).

I AM patient... This is day 5 for a first time Lantus user. Off to check her BG's right now.

Jill, I'm going to ask you to keep a watch on her for me, please, if you don't mind. I'll PM you, too.
 
Just keep in mind that if those high numbers are from a bounce... it could take 72 hours (sometimes maybe even longer) to clear that bounce! Sometimes we just don't catch that they went low or sometimes we don't realize how fast they dropped - even if they didn't end up that low... Or sometimes it doesn't seem that low, but as was mentioned earlier - they just aren't used to being that low... all these things can make them bounce... and then it can look like they need a dose increase... but they really don't...

Just think of the bounces as a pendulum... as their little bodies adjust... they even out and the ends won't be as high... or the drops as precipitous...

Hang in there!
 
I Don't Know How Much She Ate, However...

Blackie got into some dried food that someone else had thrown up. I didn't notice that it was there, until I just went looking for her just now. Now, I'll be spending some time testing her, and try to make sure that her levels don't go sky rocketing.

Look for a possible "911" from me here in a short bit. (hopefully, it wont' come to that).
 
Re: I Don't Know How Much She Ate, However...

I just gave her 1/2 can of FF T&G LC food. Hopefully, that'll slow down the progression of her BG's going up to unusual #'s. I'll be testing here shortly.
 
Re: I Don't Know How Much She Ate, However...

oh yummy, a meal of some other cats throw up :mrgreen:
angela you may go up a bit, but it would never give you an emergency so don't be too stressed. it would be a passing thing, not a dose changer. and no like going to low!!!
so test, but don't worry too much if she actually rises.
 
Re: I Don't Know How Much She Ate, However...

Angela,
please repost in your original thread for today, with so many active threads in Lantus land,
it helps to keep all kitties at one thread per day, k?

If Blackie ate dry, there's no stopping the possible rise, so it will be ok, you may have to ride it out till it's out of her system.
 
Blackie got into some dried food that someone else had thrown up. I didn't notice that it was there, until I just went looking for her just now. Now, I'll be spending some time testing her, and try to make sure that her levels don't go sky rocketing.

Look for a possible "911" from me here in a short bit. (hopefully, it wont' come to that).
 
angela, i've merged your threads. we like to keep all info pertaining to each kitty in a single daily thread.

other than the "ewwwwwww" factor, eating dried puke does not constitute a medical emergency. no need for the 911 icon in a situation like that, k?

blackie is coming down nicely. it's a good day to save a strip by holding off on testing til +10 or +11.
it'll also give you an opportunity to do something for yourself. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top