07/28 Roo: AMPS=368, +2=216, +4=134, +6=151, +8=124, +10=174 // PMPS=206

Armish & Roo

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

Back up in the pink for this AM - I'm gonna do another curve today to see what's up with his numbers. Like yesterday during the day he dropped 100 points at +2 but at night he increased at +2 despite eating the same amount/type of food. Guess we'll see what happens! Also nervous because we have to skip Tuesday AM's shot since he can't eat until after his echocardiogram is done so I can't shoot. UGH.

Hope everyone has a good Sunday, take advantage of the weekend! :bighug:
 
+2 is 216, wow what a drop! I'm hoping that holding the dose will eventually bring is PS numbers down so he's not sliding so wildly. Kicking my self for not getting a +1, looking like onset is maybe a little earlier than +2?
 
you never know how much the depot is contributing, that's likely what causes the variance you're seeing -- it's not like the in-and-out insulins where you see the reaction from the shot just an hour or two afterwards .. and without any carryover to speak of from previous dose

you might be right about the early onset for Roo -- I tried checking early for Catcat but the food spike made it difficult to determine, sometimes he still has food influence 3 hours after a snack or meal -- one day I'm going to feed him ONLY home stewed chicken, supposedly zero carb though quite a bit of fat, to see if there's much difference between that and LC canned food -- but only for that short period because his body needs SOME carb to function properly
 
LOL -- in some ways it's like our septic system -- you dump a bunch in, it settles in, little by little it processes, turns into usable liquid, and gets picked up by the blood stream (auxiliary pump) and utilized (spreads through the drain field and gradually sinks to the aquifer)

from what I understand, it is at a different pH than the subdermal space, so after the shot it turns into microcrystals, then very gradually redissolves .. each injection adds more microcrystals, but it's up to the cat's metabolism, how much, how many, get picked up in the blood and work at the cellular level to supply glucose to the cells
 
Huh I guess that makes sense. Now I gotta figure out how its applying to Roo. He's still dropped down to 123 at +5 even with food at +4 :eek:
 
heading for the lagoon -- yay Roo !

looking at his spreadsheet, I'd say he's clearing a bounce, and you are seeing the true effects of the last couple or three doses -- you're probably also seeing what's been happening in the middle of the days recently, when you couldn't check

I'm hearing that it can take quite awhile before our cats' metabolisms get used to lower BG all the time, particularly if it drops as quickly as you found this morning

I was reassured the other day that the PS values are often the very last to reduce -- as soon as those stabilize at lower levels, the bouncing will slow down or (cross fingers) even stop ---

we're on similar paths, but you guys are on such a low dose now, very hopeful
 
That makes a lot of sense. Don't think we'll hit the lagoon today but hopefully he'll start stabalizing soon. Fingers crossed the shot I have to skip on Tuesday won't mess everything up too much.
 
not nearly as much as if you were on an in-and-out insulin, there will be some carryover from the depot being a bit smaller, but looks like that doesn't take long to return to "normal' or as much as we ever get
 
Back
Top