? 07/28 Eddie AMPS ( no shot) 148 (with dextrose) +2 130 +4 +5 155 +8 158 PMPS (NS) +4 306 +6 288

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
Hello Everyone,

What a night! I'm so glad I followed my intuition and brought Eddie to emergency clinic.

As I said, he wasn't eating and all the rest and when I took him in they gave him intravenous fluids, Cerenia and were going to take a urine sample. The urine sample was done around PM +5 and it was clear; no bacteria and, more's the point, no glucose.

I spoke with the vet at PM +9 (see yesterday)

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/07-27-eddie-amps-202-4-259-9-40.279952/

Look at that PM +9 40!!!! and that was a test from a vein, not the ear (peripherals they say aren't as accurate) The vet was shocked! and they immediately administered dextrose and when I just now spoke with them AM +2, they said they had put him in warming as his temperature had dropped. They are testing him every two hours and he's there at least for the day.

I am so glad I took him in!!! Really, this little voice just kept saying, Do it!!

Today he is officially 9 months out of SRT.

Not sure if Blue and I are going to Calgary. Eddie won't be getting insulin today and I don't know where this is heading.
 
Hi Jodey, sorry you had a crazy night, I'm glad the urine sample came back clear
Thank god you took him last night, a mama knows when something isn't right.
Sending positive vibes for Eddie!
Will check back later to see what's going on :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Update from vet: Eddie had dextrose as I said around 07/27 +9 40.

After dextrose another BG PM +11 185 (I don't know the exact timing); then today AMNS (am no shot) 148 +2 130.

His temperature was very low: 34.3 (normal 38-39). Now with warming, 36.6. They want to take him off warming in awhile to ensure his temperature will be stable.

He is eating. He's eaten 3x already today and is quite grumpy, they say.

They will evaluate by around 5:00pm to see if he ought to stay another night in clinic.
 
UPDATE:

Eddie is holding his own. The vet is happy about the BG numbers but a little concerned that although his temperature went back to normal it seems to be lowering again. Although he ate 3 small meals this morning, he was not interested in food later on.

it's been decided that to ensure his stability, that he remain overnight again at the clinic. I'll call in a few hours and see how he's doing.

Also, I think I really may not be able to leave on Sunday if Eddie is not home until tomorrow. If I was to be away for one or two days, maybe but not for four days when it is unclear whether or not he's going to be able or not to have insulin.

Does anyone have any thoughts on his situation? Seen this before?
 
What does the vet think this is? Sounds somewhat like pancreatitis? Him not eating at all probably caused the low numbers. Has the vet tried ondansetron? Pain relief? Or even Miritaz?
 
What does the vet think this is? Sounds somewhat like pancreatitis? Him not eating at all probably caused the low numbers. Has the vet tried ondansetron? Pain relief? Or even Miritaz?
The vet has speculated it might have something to do with the SRT. As for pancreatitis they were focussed more on the issue of not peeing as he had vomited only a couple of times and that was at home in the morning. No more vomiting.

I went and visited him this evening and was happy not only that he took an entire small can of food from me and a few pill pockets with his regular medication but also when they put him down on the floor on a little blanket he peed on the blanket. He let me brush him and tidy him up a bit, ate some food and they took him back in after about an hour. They are going to update me with the BG later tonight.

The thing about his not eating was that he did eat some food and what he didn't eat I syringed into him so he was getting food just not in a way he enjoyed.

More to come.
 
The vet has speculated it might have something to do with the SRT.
I'm curious to hear more about this. Of all the cats here I've seen after SRT, I haven't seen these side effects. Of course, Eddie is a bit different than the rest.

I'm glad he ate for you. Tonight's report sounds promising.
 
I'm curious to hear more about this. Of all the cats here I've seen after SRT, I haven't seen these side effects. Of course, Eddie is a bit different than the rest.

I'm glad he ate for you. Tonight's report sounds promising.

It's now 5:00 am, which in Eddie's world would usually be PM +8. I just called the clinic and the vet is in surgery so spoke with a nurse who said Eddie is eating and peeing. They are concerned about his body temperature as it's in the 37 range and they are keeping him in a room with a heated floor and on blankets. As you can see from the thread, his BG was on the rise and has dipped slightly.

She said he could probably come home and I said but wait, what about insulin or no insulin? She doesn't know and was hoping to get the IM vet (the only one in town) involved but I already know he will not be able to help, so I'm turning to FDMB. What to do? I'm come to my limit.
 
Back
Top