07/27 Abbott AMPS 113 +6.5 @51, +7@46, +9@63, +10@66, +11@81 PMPS @125

I suspect he is lower at +5 than he was at +4. Breaking a bounce so later nadir. Don't feed higher than 10 or 12%
 
Ok, I know it’s late there, I can fly solo.
I am wanting to see something in the 60s or higher in 30 min to know he’s safe correct? Then I would test again +1 after that?
Below 50 is low and you want to bring him over 50. There are cats that comfortably surf the 50s.

You could feed 10% which is just a little over LC and test at +6.
 
Since he is clearing a bounce, he could keep heading lower till later in the cycle. Feeding a little carbs might give you a break from testing every 30 mins.
 
Sorry for the multiple posts. Test 20 mins after food. I can hang around for the next test. When was last snack?
 
He threw up 6.5 testing, a lot. Think the treat went down wrong way. Test at 6.5 @51

After that I fed tsp 16% with LC but he only ate half.

I’m gonna test 20 min after feeding which is on the hour.
 
Ok he’s back in kitchen.
I gave 1/2 tsp honey with low carb, he ate it but seems very hungry so mild symptoms.
20 min after last test coming up in 5min
 
He has not thrown up again so he kept down the honey and LC.

Test was @55.

testing again in 20.

anyone out there??
 
Next test was @62
I’m not seeing any symptoms.
He hasn’t had food for 30 min and I’m hesitant to feed him any because it’s now coming up on +8.

I guess I will test an hour from last test.
If anyone thinks I should be doing something else please let me know.

@Suzanne & Darcy
@Wendy&Neko
 
With that 46 he's earned a reduction. Best to test again in 1 hour now that he's come up since you fed honey earlier; the honey can sometimes bump them up but numbers can bobble around a little, and we want to see him nicely above 50 for a couple more tests after the honey was given. Can you also keep your SS updated? It helps to see where you are at quickly vs. Needing to read through the post.
 
I understand, sorry about the puking, might be a bit of scarf and barf. How much were you giving? Teaspoon or two or a wee bit more?

Let's see where you are at around +8 and go from there. Good job keeping up with the testing, you're doing fine :)
 
I understand, sorry about the puking, might be a bit of scarf and barf. How much were you giving? Teaspoon or two or a wee bit more?

Let's see where you are at around +8 and go from there. Good job keeping up with the testing, you're doing fine :)
+8 was five min ago.
If I’m to test 1hr since last test that would be at +8.75

to answer your question, I think you mean what did I feed when he puked, first time it was a treat, prolly went down the wrong way. Lots of puke mostly liquid. Second time he puked after the 16%
 
Seems you did pretty well, one of my earliest cycles with Mav where he was dropping to limes I gave him more than a half a can of 20%, which got his BG up and sent him to the moon after :rolleyes:

Ok, let's see around +9 then, he's holding a nice steady range of tests above 50 at the moment. No more pukies?
 
Seems you did pretty well, one of my earliest cycles with Mav where he was dropping to limes I gave him more than a half a can of 20%, which got his BG up and sent him to the moon after :rolleyes:
Haha, yeah I think I would have handled it better if it weren’t for the puking and hiding. I had to enclose him in the kitchen so I could keep testing him but almost made it behind the couch which would have been real bad. I think the 1/2 tsp honey was just enough because he prolly puked out the 16%
 
Seems you did pretty well, one of my earliest cycles with Mav where he was dropping to limes I gave him more than a half a can of 20%, which got his BG up and sent him to the moon after :rolleyes:

Ok, let's see around +9 then, he's holding a nice steady range of tests above 50 at the moment. No more pukies?

ok so a full 1.25 hours after honey and LC?
How long does the honey take to wear off?

no more pukies, he was chilling and purring in the kitchen next to me now he is snoozing but not asleep
 
The honey and HC can wear off quickly, which is why follow-up tests are helpful to make sure they stay above 50. It's probably worn off at this point. Usually it's a good idea to get a couple of consecutive tests once they are above 50 and continue to feed a little to keep them surfing. I tended to go back to usual LC food once numbers were above 50, but it also depends a little on where you are in the cycle. If I was getting limes at +2 that's a different story. Here's some good info from the sticky on how to handle low numbers for future reference:

  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
 
The honey and HC can wear off quickly, which is why follow-up tests are helpful to make sure they stay above 50. It's probably worn off at this point. Usually it's a good idea to get a couple of consecutive tests once they are above 50 and continue to feed a little to keep them surfing. I tended to go back to usual LC food once numbers were above 50, but it also depends a little on where you are in the cycle. If I was getting limes at +2 that's a different story. Here's some good info from the sticky on how to handle low numbers for future reference:

  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
Thanks I have read that but forgot that bit.
I just fed a tsp LC. Should I test at 8.75(now) or wait till 9?
 
He sounds happy indeed. That works too. I doubt he’s gone the other direction, since you got a good number of tests and he stayed above 50 after the HC food/honey some time ago, plus the effect of this am insulin dose is waning.
 
He sounds happy indeed. That works too. I doubt he’s gone the other direction, since you got a good number of tests and he stayed above 50 after the HC food/honey some time ago, plus the effect of this am insulin dose is waning.
That makes sense. So dose reduction tonight? I feel like he was doing good on this dose. Maybe I should just “skinny” it down to 2.4?
 
He did have a snack about 20 minutes ago and he’s stayed nicely above 50 for a few hours now. Another snack is fine if you’d like but I don’t think it’s needed to keep BG stable.
 
Thanks for your help.
Think any more testing is necessary until next shot? Should I start a new thread for PMPS?
 
…fed tsp LC although his LC is raw and basically zero carb

Ok, no worries - when you get a minute, make some notes in the remarks of what you fed today, how much and what carbs. For some kitties feeding after nadir can put the brakes on duration, but you are still in the gathering info stage about what works and what doesn't work for Abbott. :)
 
Thanks for your help.
Think any more testing is necessary until next shot? Should I start a new thread for PMPS?
You're welcome. You've had green pre shots in the past, and I suspect you'll get another one tonight, possibly lower than what you've seen before. With cycles like this I might be inclined to see where he is at +11.

Sorry ETA keep this post going, since it has good history, and we like to have one post per day.
 
You're welcome. You've had green pre shots in the past, and I suspect you'll get another one tonight, possibly lower than what you've seen before. With cycles like this I might be inclined to see where he is at +11.

Sorry ETA keep this post going, since it has good history, and we like to have one post per day.
Ok so shoot anything over 50 right?
Decrease of .25u
And +11 to see if he’s on the way up or down?
…I can get a +10 also if you think it would help

sorry for all the questions lol
 
Back
Top