07/26 KOBE AMBP = 274, AM+5 = 276 NEED DOSING HELP, PLEASE!

Kobe (Dean and Lesley)

Member Since 2025
Previous Post on Main Forum

Hey, everybody! Kobe had been in remission since Spring of 2025. But he just started Prednisolone about 5 or 6 days ago when he went to the hospital for GI inflammation (probably IBD or SCL). His BG wasn't very elevated while he was at the hospital, but since we have been home he has been floating between 245 and 275 (the last 4 days; please see spreadsheet). The doctor at the hospital just said that we could intervene with his Lantus. We have unopened pens that don't expire until February of 2027. Kobe has a history of DKA/ Ketones. We we have been checking ketones with BG. Ketones have just been trace, 0.2 or 0.3.

I would like to shoot in about 3 hours. I need help picking the starting dose. Thanks everybody!!!

We are going to do SLGS because he's eating Young Again Mature Zero LID because it's hydrolyzed.

Appetite is very good. He is drinking water from his fountain. 👍 👍
 
Last edited:
If you were starting brand new to Lantus and following SLGS, the dose would be 1.0 units. Starting a second time, we do look back on how he was doing then. First time, he had much higher blood sugars to start (over 400), and did get to a breakthrough dose of 1.75 units. Often kitties have to get back to about that breakthrough dose the second time. But not always.

Given that you will be changing to budesonide in a few days, you could try the 1.0 units. Will you be able to monitor closely these first few days and when he makes the switch from pred to budesonide? I'm glad to see you are keeping on testing the ketones. If those go up, then I'd rethink the dose.
 
If you were starting brand new to Lantus and following SLGS, the dose would be 1.0 units. Starting a second time, we do look back on how he was doing then. First time, he had much higher blood sugars to start (over 400), and did get to a breakthrough dose of 1.75 units. Often kitties have to get back to about that breakthrough dose the second time. But not always.

Given that you will be changing to budesonide in a few days, you could try the 1.0 units. Will you be able to monitor closely these first few days and when he makes the switch from pred to budesonide? I'm glad to see you are keeping on testing the ketones. If those go up, then I'd rethink the dose.
I will be able to monitor closely. I am home from school for a few more weeks. My gut was saying 1 unit. There was NO WAY we were doing what the box said. unless it's also what you guys said... lol
 
This was the right thing to do for him. BG is under 250 for the first time in three days. I'm glad we gave the pancreas time to show up and also glad we didn't wait any longer to give it a little boost. I'm going to check mid cycle tonight to see if I can catch how low we go. 👍 Goodnight everyone!
 
A couple housekeeping reminders. Don't forget to put the units of insulin given on the spreadsheet. ;). And once your question has been answered, take down the subject line "?" prefix, unless you still want to hear more answers.

It'll take a while for the depot to build, but I hope he keeps that downward trend.
 
Back
Top