07/24 Gentle AMPS 113 +5 78 PMPS 112 +6 96

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 07/24 Gentle AMPS 113 +5 78

PAT & DC said:
Thanks, Gentle is doing fine for his age, almost 14 years, and he has cataracts, he's lost about 3 lbs over the last year, but he still grooms and plays, pee and poop are normal. We just went into the vet to get another prescription, which needs a yearly check up, cost $35.
the vet didn't listen to any of our experience with the protocol, and really wasn't listening to what we had to say about his present health, and claimed there is no such thing as remission of diabetes. Unbeknownst to us she ordered a $150 dollar blood work.
So upon check out, it was a bit of a process to undue some things. Finally got out of there with prescription in hand, and a bill of $49. We have purchased two insulin pens from DCIN and they should arrive tues or weds?
funny thing, the insulin we are using is almost 8 months old, and the .50 dose seems to be working?

I'm glad it was a goofy vet and all was good with Gentle. FWIW, I do get a senior blood panel with Gabby once a year. It's the best way to know if there are any age-related health problems brewing (e.g., kidney issues, hyperthyroid).

There is a note in the Lantus use sticky. Jill recently updated the post about the duration of use. Dr. Rand (the originator of the protocol we use) has found that Lantus can be used considerably longer than we once thought. 8 mos. may be pushing it, though. Lantus, if it's getting toasty, will give you inconsistent results.
 
Re: 07/24 Gentle AMPS 113 +5 78

Sienne and Gabby said:
PAT & DC said:
Thanks, Gentle is doing fine for his age, almost 14 years, and he has cataracts, he's lost about 3 lbs over the last year, but he still grooms and plays, pee and poop are normal. We just went into the vet to get another prescription, which needs a yearly check up, cost $35.
the vet didn't listen to any of our experience with the protocol, and really wasn't listening to what we had to say about his present health, and claimed there is no such thing as remission of diabetes. Unbeknownst to us she ordered a $150 dollar blood work.
So upon check out, it was a bit of a process to undue some things. Finally got out of there with prescription in hand, and a bill of $49. We have purchased two insulin pens from DCIN and they should arrive tues or weds?
funny thing, the insulin we are using is almost 8 months old, and the .50 dose seems to be working?

I'm glad it was a goofy vet and all was good with Gentle. FWIW, I do get a senior blood panel with Gabby once a year. It's the best way to know if there are any age-related health problems brewing (e.g., kidney issues, hyperthyroid).

There is a note in the Lantus use sticky. Jill recently updated the post about the duration of use. Dr. Rand (the originator of the protocol we use) has found that Lantus can be used considerably longer than we once thought. 8 mos. may be pushing it, though. Lantus, if it's getting toasty, will give you inconsistent results.

yes, we do know how valuable it is to get the blood screen, to see if any of the organs are complicating treatment. We just didn't have the extra $150, at this time. We will probably go back in a month or two.

thanks :)

Pat
 
Re: 07/24 Gentle AMPS 113 +5 78

Wow, eight months' use; I'm assuming this is the vial! I had five months' use from my vial, and I ordered a new one, as Maggie's numbers seemed a little wonky. Her numbers are still wonky with the new vial, but I had no way of knowing if it was the old insulin. Glad to hear Gentle is doing so well. Nice +5. Have a nice day.
 
Re: 07/24 Gentle AMPS 113 +5 78

Ann & Maggie11 said:
Wow, eight months' use; I'm assuming this is the vial! I had five months' use from my vial, and I ordered a new one, as Maggie's numbers seemed a little wonky. Her numbers are still wonky with the new vial, but I had no way of knowing if it was the old insulin. Glad to hear Gentle is doing so well. Nice +5. Have a nice day.


thanks you too !

p
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top