07/20 Duke AMPS 154 +2 187 +4 180 +6 156 +9 205 PMPS 305

Elizabeth & Duke WV

Member Since 2024
Good evening! Having some trouble interpreting what I’ve been seeing as far as Duke’s numbers since starting Levemir on 7/8 and would be very grateful for input on my spreadsheet! I also did my best attempt at a 12 hr curve today.

upload_2024-7-21_0-19-43.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-7-21_0-19-43.jpeg
    upload_2024-7-21_0-19-43.jpeg
    15.5 KB · Views: 34
Last edited:
Here's the link to your last post here, which we ask people to include so they can check history: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/07-09-duke-amps-243.291989/

First a couple questions. The units is blank on 7/14 PM and 7/15 PM. Did you give insulin then? If not, put "skip" or "0" so we know you skipped instead of just not entering the data. If you did skip, an explanation should be given in the Remarks column. Skipping insulin will impact blood sugar values for several cycles.

I suspect that today was the start of a bounce. See how he started at 154 then went mostly up all day. That is the sign of one of a couple things. One is a bounce, either from going lower than he's used to last night, or that lovely long stretch of blues. The other cause of a cycle going up is something wrong with the shot, either a skip or fur shot/partial dose. He did take a little dip down, so definitely got some insulin this AM.

I'd like to see a bit more data on Duke's spreadsheet. The typical Levemir onset (when insulin starts working) is +4, though there can be some variation. Duke went up from AMPS to +2, so the insulin hadn't taken effect yet. He was about the same at +4 then down at +6. That means his onset is likely around or just after +4. Because of the bounce, it wasn't a good cycle to see when his typical nadir is. Typical Lev nadir can be around +8, though with my girl was usually somewhere between +9 and +12, except when it wasn't. :p

When you can, it'd be good to get some more tests in the +6 to +10 range. Yesterday his +9 was lower than PMPS, but I don't know if that was his nadir, or he was on his way up to that 107. Once you figure out typical nadir (lowest point), you can be more strategic about best times to test.
 
Back
Top